LGBT+ Committee Members

The LGBT+ Staff Network: Who we are...

We are a friendly group of staff volunteers from across the University community, working together for the benefit of all staff. Here are some of the members of our steering group.


Dr Matt Mears - Chair of the LGBT+ Staff Network

In 2013 Matt took over as chair of the University of Sheffield LGBT+ Staff Network and has worked hard to transform the Network from a small group of staff who met semi-regularly for a coffee to a more established part of the equality and diversity structure within the University.

Matt is a University Teacher in Physics at The University of Sheffield, with a broad teaching remit that spans across different departments and faculties.


James Gregory - Vice Chair of the LGBT+ Staff Network

James is a senior software developer at epiGenesys, a University of Sheffield company. James is proud to be involved in the Open@TUoS scheme as a visible LGBT+ ally to staff and students around the campus.