Spend £50,000 (excl VAT) and Over

University financial regulations require a full tender exercise to be performed for all purchases of goods and services that are likely to exceed £50K (excluding VAT), either in a single purchase order or aggregated over a 4 year period.

It is not permissible to split your purchases into smaller amounts to avoid this. You must contact the appropriate Procurement/Category Manager to discuss your requirements as soon as you know that your purchases are likely to be of this value of spend.

To assist with the understanding of the stages of the tender process and who is involved at each stage, please take a look at the OJEU (Open and Restricted) tender process chart in the Downloads section. This is the standard operating procedure for the Procurement team, but may be adjusted slightly to suit your tender requirements (ie. if your tender does not reach the value to be advertised to the EU).

Grant funded equipment tenders Manager Ext. Email
Science, Medicine and Engineering                

David Middle 

James Noble

21560

21529

dave.middle@sheffield.ac.uk

james.noble@sheffield.ac.uk

      Category specific tenders              Manager Ext.    Email 
IT / AV / Telecoms and Travel Mark Hardy         24979  m.hardy@sheffield.ac.uk
Business Services Lee Marsden 24206 l.w.marsden@sheffield.ac.uk
Medical and Scientific Jamie Shaw 21516 jamie.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk
Estates and Facilities Management

James Rainbow

Samantha Walker

24204

22173

james.rainbow@sheffield.ac.uk

samantha.walker@sheffield.ac.uk

Engineering and Office Supplies Yi Wu 22171 yi.wu@sheffield.ac.uk

*Please see the full Contact Us page for staff hours of work.

 If you are contacting the Procurement/Category Manager, they will need to know as a minimum:-

  • Approximate value of proposed spend
  • Where the funding is coming from eg. type of Research Grant or core budget
  • Your timescales
  • The nature and size of the likely market for your purchase
  • Any risks or dependencies