Contacts for postgraduate research students

Postgraduate research student progression, examination and award

Description Name Email Phone
The Research Degree Support Team provides guidance and support with all aspects of University regulations and policies concerning doctoral students, such as making changes to your student status and thesis submission and examination.
Team 1: Engineering, MDH & Science Amanda Davis pgrsci@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21412
Laura Stanley pgrmdh@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21426
Michael Cordwell pgreng@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24012
Team 2: A&H, Social Sciences Davy Heymann pgrsocsci@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21427
Helen Papaioannou pgrarts@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 26087
Thesis management and reception Helena Fearnley pgr-enquiries@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21425

Doctoral Development Programme

Description Name Email Phone
Support for students on all aspects of the Doctoral Development Programme (DDP).

Fozia Yasmin

Kim Balding

ddpenquiries@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 22 21403

0114 22 27611

Scholarships

Description Name Email Phone
Guidance and support on University and Research Council-funded scholarships for both current and potential students.

Kirsty Tolmay

Fozia Yasmin

Kim Balding

pgr-scholarships@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 22 21417

0114 22 21403

0114 22 27611

Think Ahead

Think Ahead is a framework for the continuous professional development of researchers at the University of Sheffield, supporting individual career ambitions in and beyond academia.

Role Description Name Email Phone
Researcher Development Managers Based within faculties, they drive a wide range of learning and development activities that contribute to the 'Think Ahead' framework of development. Sarah Bell Sarah.J.Bell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20171
Eunice Lawton E.Lawton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22164
Dr Lucy Lee L.Lee@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 28728

Esther Allen

Emma Suret

Esther.Allen@sheffield.ac.uk

e.suret@sheffield.ac.uk

Careers Consultant Rachael ensures that researchers have access to the support they need to make a successful transition to the next stage of their career. She provides individual careers consultations, runs workshops, and engages with employers to support researchers in their career journey.
Rachael Roberts Rachael.Roberts@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20914
Support Officers Helen coordinates evaluation activity, administers development events, utilises technology to market development activity and ensures connectivity across the team. Helen Cowen H.Cowen@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27438

Research integrity and ethics

Advice and guidance to researchers on good research and innovation practices and research ethics, including applying for ethics approval, the online Ethics Application System, and healthcare research governance.

Role Description Name Email Phone
Ethics and Integrity Officer Lindsay is the first point of contact for enquiries relating to good research practice, including what constitutes unacceptable practice. Lindsay Unwin L.V.Unwin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21443
Ethics and Integrity Assistant Anita is the first point of contact for enquiries relating to research ethics, ethics approval, and healthcare research governance. Anita Kenny A.J.Kenny@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21400

Other Professional Services

A number of other professional service departments provide services and support for PGR students: