Why is the ELTC offering free English classes?

The ELTC runs part-time and full-time teacher training courses (Cambridge CELTA) throughout the year. The trainees on these courses are preparing to become English language teachers. We need volunteers to join these classes so that our trainee teachers can practise their teaching.

The Free English classes is NOT a course. If you wish to join these classes, you will do so as a volunteer not a student. Certificates are not provided. The classes are a great way of learning English language in a relaxed environment and volunteers in the past have enjoyed and benefited from these classes.

Important Information The Free English classes are now open for new applications. Please apply using the link at the bottom of this page.

Who can join these free English classes?

Free English Classes

To join our free English classes you must:

  • Be over 18 years old.
  • Have an English level between pre-intermediate (IELTS 3.0 - 5.0) and upper-intermediate (IELTS 5.0 - 6.5).
  • Live in the UK and be able to attend face-to-face classes at the ELTC.
  • Be able to attend at least 80% of the classes

Who are these free English classes not suitable for?

Unfortunately, our free English classes are NOT suitable for people who:

  • Are under 18 years old.
  • Have a beginner level of English (IELTS 3.0 or lower).
  • Have an advanced level of English (IELTS 6.5 or over).
  • Do not live in the UK.
  • Cannot attend regularly.

When do these free English classes take place?

Our next free English classes will take place on the following dates:

January 2017
Wednesday 11th January Thursday 12th January Wednesday 18th January
Thursday 19th January Wednesday 25th January Thursday 26th January
February 2017
Wednesday 1st February Thursday 2nd February Wednesday 8th February
Thursday 9th February Wednesday 15th February Thursday 16th February
Wednesday 22nd February Thursday 23rd February
March 2017
Wednesday 1st March Thursday 2nd March Wednesday 8th March
Thursday 9th March Wednesday 15th March Wednesday 22nd March
Wednesday 29th March
April 2017

Wednesday 5th April

Wednesday 26th April

May 2017

Wednesday 3rd May

Wednesday 10th May

Wednesday 17th May

Wednesday 24th May Wednesday 31st May

Classes will take place between 5pm and 7pm. Occasionally, there will be some classes taking place in the morning. You will be sent an email confirming the dates and times of your classes - please make sure you check your emails carefully.

Where do these free English classes take place?

All the free English classes take place at:

The English Language Teaching Centre (ELTC)
University of Sheffield
78 Hoyle Street
Sheffield
S3 7LG

Our classrooms are on D floor. For directions to our centre, please click here.

How can I join these free English classes?

To apply, please click here. After you have applied, we will email you to let you know if a place becomes available.