Why is the ELTC offering free English classes?

The ELTC runs part-time and full-time teacher training courses (Cambridge CELTA) throughout the year. The trainees on these courses are preparing to become English language teachers. We need volunteers to join these classes so that our trainee teachers can practise their teaching.

The Free English classes is NOT a course. If you wish to join these classes, you will do so as a volunteer not a student. Certificates are not provided. The classes are a great way of learning English language in a relaxed environment and volunteers in the past have enjoyed and benefited from these classes.

Important Information The Free English classes are currently closed for new applications. We will re-open when spaces become available. Please regularly check this website for updates.

Who can join these free English classes?

Free English Classes

To join our free English classes you must:

  • Be over 18 years old.
  • Have an English level between pre-intermediate (IELTS 3.0 - 5.0) and upper-intermediate (IELTS 5.0 - 6.5).
  • Live in the UK and be able to attend face-to-face classes at the ELTC.
  • Be able to attend at least 80% of the classes

Who are these free English classes not suitable for?

Unfortunately, our free English classes are NOT suitable for people who:

  • Are under 18 years old.
  • Have a beginner level of English (IELTS 3.0 or lower).
  • Have an advanced level of English (IELTS 6.5 or over).
  • Do not live in the UK.
  • Cannot attend regularly.

When do these free English classes take place?

Our next free English classes will take place on the following dates:

October 2016
Wednesday 5th October Wednesday 12th October Wednesday 19th October
Wednesday 26th October
November 2016
Wednesday 2nd November Thursday 3rd November Wednesday 9th November
Thursday 10th November Wednesday 16th November Thursday 17th November
Wednesday 23rd November Thursday 24th November Wednesday 30th November
Thursday 1st December Wednesday 7th December Thursday 8th December
Wednesday 14th December Thursday 15th December
December 2016
Thursday 1st December Wednesday 7th December Thursday 8th December
Wednesday 14th December Thursday 15th December

Most classes will take place between 5pm and 7pm. Occasionally, there will be some classes taking place in the morning. You will be sent an email confirming the dates and times of your classes - please make sure you check your emails carefully.

Where do these free English classes take place?

All the free English classes take place at:

The English Language Teaching Centre (ELTC)
University of Sheffield
78 Hoyle Street
Sheffield
S3 7LG

Our classrooms are on D floor. For directions to our centre, please click here.

How can I join these free English classes?

Applications for the Free English classes are currently closed. Please regularly check this webpage for updates.