Why is the ELTC offering free English classes?

The ELTC runs part-time and full-time teacher training courses (Cambridge CELTA) throughout the year. The trainees on these courses are preparing to become English language teachers. We need volunteers to join these classes so that our trainee teachers can practise their teaching.

The Free English classes is NOT a course. If you wish to join these classes, you will do so as a volunteer not a student. Certificates are not provided. The classes are a great way of learning English language in a relaxed environment and volunteers in the past have enjoyed and benefited from these classes.

Important Information We're now accepting applications for classes. Please fill in the application form below.

Who can join these free English classes?

Free English Classes

To join our free English classes you must:

  • Be over 18 years old.
  • Have an English level between pre-intermediate (IELTS 3.0 - 5.0) and upper-intermediate (IELTS 5.0 - 6.5).
  • Live in the UK and be able to attend face-to-face classes at the ELTC.
  • Be able to attend at least 80% of the classes

Who are these free English classes not suitable for?

Unfortunately, our free English classes are NOT suitable for people who:

  • Are under 18 years old.
  • Have a beginner level of English (IELTS 3.0 or lower).
  • Have an advanced level of English (IELTS 6.5 or over).
  • Do not live in the UK.
  • Cannot attend regularly.

When do these free English classes take place?

Our next free English classes will take place on the following dates:

June 2016
Tuesday 28th June Wednesday 29th June Thursday 30th June
July 2016
Friday 1st July Monday 4th July Tuesday 5th July
Wednesday 6th July Thursday 7th July Monday 11th July
Tuesday 12th July Wednesday 13th July Thursday 14th July
Monday 18th July Tuesday 19th July Wednesday 20th July
Thursday 21st July Monday 25th July Tuesday 26th July
Wednesday 27th July Thursday 28th July Friday 29th July
August 2016
Monday 1st August Tuesday 2nd August Wednesday 3rd August
Thursday 4th August Friday 5th August Tuesday 9th August
Wednesday 10th August Thursday 11th August Friday 12th August
Monday 15th August Tuesday 16th August Wednesday 17th August
Thursday 18th August Monday 22nd August Tuesday 23rd August
Wednesday 24th August Thursday 25th August Monday 29th August
Tuesday 30th August Wednesday 31st August
September 2016
Thursday 1st September

Most classes will take place between 2pm and 4pm. Occasionally, there will be some classes taking place in the morning. You will be sent an email confirming the dates and times of your classes - please make sure you check your emails carefully.

Where do these free English classes take place?

All the free English classes take place at:

The English Language Teaching Centre (ELTC)
University of Sheffield
78 Hoyle Street
Sheffield
S3 7LG

Our classrooms are on D floor. For directions to our centre, please click here.

How can I join these free English classes?

Our next Free English classes will take place over the summer. Please complete our application form.