Awards and achievements

British Academy / AHRC Research Leave Awards have been held by Nicholas Round (1999), Philip Deacon (2000), David Wood (2001), Paul Jordan (2002), Louise Johnson (2004), Anny Brooksbank Jones (2005).

  • Philip Swanson won a Carnegie Trust Research Award in 2002, a Leverhulme Visiting Fellowship 2001-2, he was named Man of the Year 2005 by the American Bibliographical Institute Board of International Research and nominated for the Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize (MLA) in 1996.
  • Paul Jordan secured the only award made in 1998 from the British Academy 44th Congress of Latin Americanists Fund.
  • David Wood won British Academy funding for a visit to Lima as one of three leading British Peruvian scholars.
  • Tony Trippett was the only non-Spanish recipient of an Instituto de Estudios Altoaragoneses research grant in 1998.
  • Philip Deacon secured funding for travel visits and conference attendance from the following institutions: Universidad de Extremadura; Universidad Complutense, Madrid; Real Sociedad Bascongada de Amigos del País, and the Sociedad Estatal de Conmemoraciones Culturales.

Other recent grants in support of conference organisation, conference attendance, publication and postgraduate research have come from:

  • The British Academy

  • The Cañada Blanch foundation

  • The Carnegie Trust

  • The Cervantes Institute

  • The Leverhulme Trust

  • The Spanish Embassy.

The Department's close involvement with the Anglo-Catalan society has led to its becoming the editorial and distribution centre for the Anglo-Catalan Society Occasional Publications Series.