The University of Sheffield
Department of Hispanic Studies

Hispanic Studies Staff

Each member of staff's name, in the following list, links through to their staff profile.

For a full listing of staff research interests, please visit our research section:

Staff research interests list

Academic and Teaching Staff

Name e-mail  Position Held
Dr. Pascale Baker pascale.baker@sheffield.ac.uk University Teacher
Dr. Julia Banwell j.banwell@sheffield.ac.uk  Lecturer in Hispanic Studies; Admissions tutor
Nashy Bonelli n.bonelli@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
Inma Cristina-Roura I.Cristina-Roura@sheffield.ac.uk Catalan Language Teacher
Sonia Buckland sonia.buckland@sheffield.ac.uk Portuguese Language Teacher
Dr Rhian Davies rhian.davies@sheffield.ac.uk Senior Lecturer; Head of Department.
Dr Louise Johnson p.l.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk Reader; Graduate Tutor; Director of Catalan Studies. 
Dr. Geraldine Lawless g.lawless@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer; Director of learning and teaching.
Dr Federico López Terra f.lopezterra@sheffield.ac.uk University Teacher
Diana Mesa Torres diana.mesa-torres@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
Dr Paul O'Neill paul.oneill@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer in Hispanic Linguistics; Year Abroad Tutor; L3 Language Coordinator; website manager. On sabbatical semester 2, 2013-2014.
María José Puig m.j.puig@sheffield.ac.uk Senior Spanish Language Teacher
Dr Hayley Rabanal h.rabanal@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer in Hispanic Studies; Level 1 coordinator, Assessment Officer. On sabbatical semester 2, 2013-2014.
Dr. Carmen Ramos-Villar c.ramosvillar@sheffield.ac.uk Senior Lecturer; Head of Portuguese; on maternity leave academic year 2013-2014.
Dr. Lauren Rea l.rea@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer. On maternity leave in the academic year 2013-2014
Dr Paddy Scott p.scott@sheffield.ac.uk Portuguese Language Teacher
Dr. Minerva Sierra-Trull M.Sirera-Trull@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher.
Professor Philip Swanson p.swanson@sheffield.ac.uk Hughes Professor of Spanish. 
Professor David Wood david.wood@sheffield.ac.uk Professor of Latin American Studies.
Dr. Peter Watt p.watt@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer; Year Abroad Tutor; Graduate Tutor.
Back to the top

Associated Staff

Dr R.K. Britton Honorary Senior Research Fellow
Dr. J. P. England j.p.england@sheffield.ac.uk

Retired Senior Lecturer

Dr Tony Trippett a.m.trippett@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Toni a.ibarz@sheffield.ac.uk Division of Adult and Continuing Education
Professor Geoffrey Ribbans Honorary Professor
Emeritus Professor Nicholas Round n.g.round@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Robin Warner i.r.warner@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Emeritus Professor Alan Yates Emeritus Professor of Catalan Studies
Dr Paul Jordan p.r.jordan@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Philip Deacon p.deacon@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Back to the top

Part-time Staff

Stacey Dunlea stacey.dunlea@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
David Lloyd djlloyd1@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
David Powell spp07dcp@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
Back to the top

Postgraduate Research Students

Name Email Thesis Title
Ángela Lavilla Cañedo spp12al@sheffield.ac.uk 'Exploring Menstruation in Contemporary Hispanic Literature and Visual Culture'
Talia Garza Garza spp12tg@sheffield.ac.uk 'The Mexican Drug War: organized criminal groups inside the Mexican state institutions'
Ruth Littlewood rlittlewood1@sheffield.ac.uk 'Life Writing by Female Political Prisoners During the Spanish Civil War and Early Franquismo'
David Lloyd djlloyd1@sheffield.ac.uk 'How languages lexicalise motion, with reference to the examples of Spanish and Catalan'
David Powell spp07dcp@sheffield.ac.uk 'The Political Evolution of Mario Vargas Llosa'
Sivamathy Selvakumaran spa08ss@sheffield.ac.uk 'Representations of Disability in Hispanic Cultural Discourse'
Back to the top

Contacts for the School Academic and Management Services (AMS) and Student Programme Support Services (SPSS) Teams can be found by using the following link: SLC staff