Hispanic Studies Staff

Each member of staff's name, in the following list, links through to their staff profile.

For a full listing of staff research interests, please visit our research section:

Staff research interests list

Academic and Teaching Staff

Name e-mail  Position Held
Dr. Julia Banwell j.banwell@sheffield.ac.uk  Lecturer in Hispanic Studies; Admissions tutor
Nashy Bonelli n.bonelli@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
Sonia Buckland sonia.buckland@sheffield.ac.uk Portuguese Language Teacher
Dr Rhian Davies rhian.davies@sheffield.ac.uk Senior Lecturer
Dr Louise Johnson p.l.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk Reader; Assessment officer; Director of Catalan Studies. 
Diana Mesa Torres d.mesa-torres@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
Dr Paul O'Neill paul.oneill@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer in Hispanic Linguistics; Year Abroad Tutor; L3 Language Coordinator; website manager, Outreach officer.
María José Puig m.j.puig@sheffield.ac.uk Senior Spanish Language Teacher
Dr Hayley Rabanal h.rabanal@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer in Hispanic Studies; Level 1 coordinator, Graduate Tutor.
Dr Carmen Ramos Villar c.ramosvillar@sheffield.ac.uk Senior Lecturer; Head of Portuguese & Head of Hispanic Section
Dr Lauren Rea l.rea@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer; AHRC Leadership Fellow 2016-19
Nin Sauleda Brossa n.sauledabrossa@sheffield.ac.uk Catalan Instructor
Dr Paddy Scott p.scott@sheffield.ac.uk Portuguese Language Teacher
Professor Philip Swanson p.swanson@sheffield.ac.uk Hughes Professor of Spanish. Director of Research and Innovation for the School of Languages and Cultures.
Professor David Wood david.wood@sheffield.ac.uk Professor of Latin American Studies.
Dr Peter Watt p.watt@sheffield.ac.uk Lecturer; Year Abroad Tutor.
Back to the top

Associated Staff

Dr R.K. Britton Honorary Senior Research Fellow
Dr J. P. England j.p.england@sheffield.ac.uk

Retired Senior Lecturer

Dr Tony Trippett a.m.trippett@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Toni Ibarz a.ibarz@sheffield.ac.uk Division of Adult and Continuing Education
Professor Geoffrey Ribbans Honorary Professor
Emeritus Professor Nicholas Round n.g.round@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Robin Warner i.r.warner@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Emeritus Professor Alan Yates Emeritus Professor of Catalan Studies
Dr Paul Jordan p.r.jordan@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Philip Deacon p.deacon@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Rhiannon McGlade rhiannonmcglade@gmail.com Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Pascale Baker pascale.baker@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Anna Vives a.vives@sheffield.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow
Back to the top

Part-time Staff

Stacey Dunlea stacey.dunlea@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
David Powell d.c.powell@sheffield.ac.uk Spanish Language Teacher
Back to the top

Postgraduate Research Students

Name Email Thesis Title
Ángela Lavilla Cañedo spp12al@sheffield.ac.uk 'Exploring Menstruation in Contemporary Hispanic Literature and Visual Culture'
Talia Garza Garza spp12tg@sheffield.ac.uk 'The Mexican Drug War: organized criminal groups inside the Mexican state institutions'
Ruth Littlewood rlittlewood1@sheffield.ac.uk 'Life Writing by Female Political Prisoners During the Spanish Civil War and Early Franquismo'
Andrew Frank Bradley afbradley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Deborah Madden d.madden@sheffield.ac.uk Writing Republics: Women’s Writing in Early Twentieth-Century Spain and Portugal
Sivamathy Selvakumaran spa08ss@sheffield.ac.uk 'Representations of Disability in Hispanic Cultural Discourse'
Valentina Caruso vcaruso2@sheffield.ac.uk 'Revisiting and rethinking the novel of The Land: Mining and Latin American Fiction'
Pete Watson pjwatson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rupert Knox rsknox1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Contacts for the School Academic and Management Services (AMS) and Student Programme Support Services (SPSS) Teams can be found by using the following link: SLC staff