Current Research Students (By Supervisor)

 

Supervisor's Surname: B , C , D , F , G , H , K , L , M , N , P , S , TV , W , Z

 

Supervisor

Supervision

Student

Thesis

B

Baycroft, Timothy
t.baycroft@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Eloise Roberts (Germanic Studies)
lda07er@sheffield.ac.uk
Myth-making and National Identity: Heine's Satires in the Context of Public Disclosure on Myths of Nation in 1840s Germany.
Emily Shackley (English Literature)
emily.shackley@sheffield.ac.uk
Trauma and Identity in the Fin-de-Siècle.
Bernard Wilkin
hip11baw@sheffield.ac.uk
Allied Propaganda in Occupied France and Belgium during the First World War.
Secondary Annabelle Grenville-Mathers
AFGrenville-Mathers1@sheffield.ac.uk
Representations of Presidential Power during the Reconstruction Era.
Charlie Thompson
CAJThompson1@sheffield.ac.uk
'Imperialism in Power’: Centralization and its Discontents in America c.1848-1860.
Bingham, Adrian
adrian.bingham@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Aaron Ackerley
AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Economic Discourse during Depression: A Study of Newspapers in Inter-War Britain.
Lucy Bell
lbell1@sheffield.ac.uk
From Cooperation to Confrontation: Trade Unionism, British Politics and the Media, 1945-1979.
Leo Bird
LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk
The British Comedy Industry, 1945-60.
Lucy Brown
lucy.brown@sheffield.ac.uk
Men and Women in Love: Marriage, Sexuality, and Emotional Intimacy in Britain c.1955-1975.
Thomas Dowling
hip10tmd@sheffield.ac.uk
In Spite of History? New Leftism in Britain 1956 - 1979.
David Holland
DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk
Colonised Workers and the Pre-Windrush Settlement of Imperial Britain, 1918-1948.
Sarah Kenny
SKenny1@sheffield.ac.uk
Youth Culture and Social Change: A Study of Manchester and Sheffield, 1962-1990.
Steven McKevitt
SMAMcKevitt1@sheffield.ac.uk
What Happened to the Future? The Inculcation of Persuasion and Its Impact on British Society 1969-1997.
Ross Paulger
RKPaulger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Anglo-American Quality Newspapers and Sexual Revolution.
Secondary Hilary Hall (Fraser)
HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk
In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.
Third Supervisor Cydney Sturgess (Germanic Studies)
gea08cjs@sheffield.ac.uk
The New Woman, Media Culture and Lesbian Networks: the Emergence of Lesbian Identities in Germany and the Netherlands between 1918 and 1939.
Braddick, Michael
m.braddick@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Alexander Hitchman
AHitchman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Popular Appeal and Political Mobilisation: A Study of Legal Pamphlets and the Law in the Early 1640s.
Secondary James Mawdesley
jrmawdesley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Clerical Politics in Lancashire and Cheshire during the Reign of Charles I (1625-1649).

C

Cleall, Esme
e.r.cleall@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary David Holland
DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk
Colonised Workers and the Pre-Windrush Settlement of Imperial Britain, 1918-1948.
Cooper, Richard
(ScHARR) richard.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Ryosuke Yokue
ryokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.

D

Demetriou, Tania
(York)
Secondary Jose Cree
JCree2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Invention of Addiction in Early Modern England.
Dobson, Miriam
m.dobson@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Hannah Parker
HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk
Emancipated from Above: Voices of Russian Women in the Early Soviet Era.
Alun Thomas (Russian and Slavonic Studies)
AThomas2@sheffield.ac.uk
Kazakh Nomads and the New Soviet State, 1920-1930.
Secondary Matthew Kerry
hia05mdk@sheffield.ac.uk
Radical Political Identities in Asturias, 1931-6.
David Lyon
hiq07dl@sheffield.ac.uk
Bitter Justice: The Penitentiary of El Puerto De Santa Maria and it's Basque Dimension 1936-1949.
James Yeoman
jmyeoman1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Lived Experience of Spanish Anarchism: Violence, Education and Organisation in the Anarchist Periodical Press, 1890-1915.
Duce, Alison
(Sheffield Industrial Museums Trust)
Secondary Laura Bracey
hip12lrb@sheffield.ac.uk
Women Workers in Sheffield’s Metal Trades, c.1742-1867.

F

Finney, Mark
m.t.finney@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Rongxi (Rosa) Wu
RWu6@sheffield.ac.uk
Paul on Women.
Fletcher, Catherine
Catherine.Fletcher@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Nicola Walker
NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrializing Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

G

Gleeson, Dermot
(Medicine)
Secondary Ryosuke Yokoe
RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.
Gottlieb, Julie
julie.gottlieb@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary David Page
hip10dgp@sheffield.ac.uk
The Rise and Demise of the New Britain Movement, 1931–1935.
Secondary Lucy Brown
lucy.brown@sheffield.ac.uk
Men and Women in Love: Marriage, Sexuality, and Emotional Intimacy in Britain c.1955-1975.
Thomas Dowling
hip10tmd@sheffield.ac.uk
In Spite of History? New Leftism in Britain 1956 - 1979.
Sarah Kenny
SKenny1@sheffield.ac.uk
Youth Culture and Social Change: A Study of Manchester and Sheffield, 1962-1990.
Steven McKevitt
SMAMcKevitt1@sheffield.ac.uk
What Happened to the Future? The Inculcation of Persuasion and Its Impact on British Society 1969-1997.
Ross Paulger
RKPaulger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Anglo-American Quality Newspapers and Sexual Revolution.
Greengrass, Mark
m.greengrass@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Mark Critchlow
m.critchlow@sheffield.ac.uk
League Memories: Recollections of Catholic Political Engagement in late Sixteenth-Century Paris.
Griffiths, Clare
clare.griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Phil Back
PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Origins of Scotland's Country Parks.
Secondary Aaron Ackerley
AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Economic Discourse during Depression: A Study of Newspapers in Inter-War Britain.
Lucy Bell
lbell1@sheffield.ac.uk
From Cooperation to Confrontation: Trade Unionism, British Politics and the Media, 1945-1979.
Leo Bird
LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk
The British Comedy Industry, 1945-60.
Laura Bracey
hip12lrb@sheffield.ac.uk
Women Workers in Sheffield’s Metal Trades, c.1742-1867.
Andrew Chesworth
hip08ac@sheffield.ac.uk
The Amelioration and Recovery of Britain’s Far East POWs.
Jon Webster (Information Studies)
lip12jmw@sheffield.ac.uk
The History, Development and Cultural Impact of Libraries in the North Riding of Yorkshire 1775-1914.
Bernard Wilkin
hip11baw@sheffield.ac.uk
Allied Propaganda in Occupied France and Belgium during the First World War.

H

Harvey, Karen
k.harvey@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Laura Alston
ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk
‘Negative’ Emotions and Emotional Communities in Eighteenth Century and Regency Women's Private Writing and Culture 1700-1830.
Laura Bracey
hip12lrb@sheffield.ac.uk
Women Workers in the Light and Heavy Metal Trades in Sheffield, c.1742-1867.
Nigel Cavanagh
hip12nac@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities: A Case Study of Elsecar Circa 1750-1850.
Kate Gibson
KLGibson1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Experience of and Attitudes towards Extra-marital Sex and Illegitimacy in the long Eighteenth Century, 1660-1830.
Nicola Walker
NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrializing Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.
Heath, Andrew
a.d.heath@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Annabelle Grenville-Mathers
AFGrenville-Mathers1@sheffield.ac.uk
Representations of Presidential Power during the Reconstruction Era.
Hilary Hall (Fraser)
HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk
In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.
Chris Olewicz
hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk
Constructing Leviathan: Studies on the Left and the Rise of Corporate Liberalism 1959-1979.
Charlie Thompson
CAJThompson1@sheffield.ac.uk
'Imperialism in Power’: Centralization and its Discontents in America c.1848-1860.
Secondary Thom Keep
thomas.keep@sheffield.ac.uk
Harcourt A. Morgan’s Common Mooring Concept: Forgotten Thoughts on Environmental Sustainability.
Hillner, Julia
j.hillner@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Simon Hosie
jpb08sh@sheffield.ac.uk
The Purpose of Bureaucratic Inventories in Late Antiquity.
Harold Mawdsley
HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Exile in the Western Successor-states (Fifth to Sixth Centuries).
Hannah Probert
HLProbert1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fatherhood between Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages.

K

Knepper, Paul
(Law School)
P.Knepper@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Helen Churcher
hia08hec@sheffield.ac.uk
Understandings of Habitual Criminality and the Trajectory of Criminal Stereotyping in England from 1770 to 1870.

L

Larmer, Miles
m.larmer@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Katie Crone-Barber
hip10klc@sheffield.ac.uk
The Construction of Meta-Narratives: Perspectives on Pan-Africanism and Nationalism in Ghana, 1957 - 1966.
Leng, Tom
t.leng@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Taylor Alexander
ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Criminality of Tobacco in Seventeenth-century England.
Alexander Hitchman
AHitchman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Popular Appeal and Political Mobilisation: A Study of Legal Pamphlets and the Law in the Early 1640s.
Loseby, Simon
s.t.loseby@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Harry Mawdsley
HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Exile in the Western Successor-states (Fifth to Sixth Centuries).
Secondary James Chetwood
JAChetwood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Tom, Dick and Leofric: The Transformation of English Personal Naming, 850–1350.

M

McCallum, David
(French)
d.mccallam@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Anna Jenkin
hip12acj@sheffield.ac.uk
Perceptions of the Murderess in Eighteenth-century London and Paris, 1674-1789.
McCluskey, Phil
p.mccluskey@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Samantha Garwood (Archaeology)
segarwood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Christian and Muslim Interactions in the Post-Medieval Adriatic: An Examination of Economic and Cultural Exchange through the Analysis of Glass Cargo from Shipwreck Assemblages.
Middleton, Simon
s.middleton@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Kristine Tomlinson
hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk
The Reverend Isaiah Parker MD: Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1812.
Secondary Laura Alston
ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk
‘Negative’ Emotions and Emotional Communities in Eighteenth Century and Regency Women's Private Writing and Culture 1700-1830.
Milton, Anthony
a.milton@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary James Mawdesley
jrmawdesley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Clerical Politics in Lancashire and Cheshire during the Reign of Charles I (1625-1649).
Moore, Bob
r.moore@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Andrew Chesworth
hip08ac@sheffield.ac.uk
The Amelioration and Recovery of Britain’s Far East POWs.
Secondary Chris Olewicz
hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk
Constructing Leviathan: Studies on the Left and the Rise of Corporate Liberalism 1959-1979.
Katie Crone-Barber
hip10klc@sheffield.ac.uk
The Construction of Meta-Narratives: Perspectives on Pan-Africanism and Nationalism in Ghana, 1957 - 1966.
Moses, Julia
j.moses@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Brendan Murphy
hip11bjm@sheffield.ac.uk
Killing in the German Army: Organizing and Surviving Combat in the Great War.

N

Nic Dháibhéid, Caoimhe
c.nicd@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Phil Back
PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Origins of Scotland's Country Parks.

P

Pennock, Caroline Dodds
c.pennock@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Harriet Smart
HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk
‘A State Theatre of Power’ The role of human sacrifice in the establishment of Mexica hegemony in the Valley of Mexico, 1430 – 1519. - going to email again with an update. 
Power, Amanda
a.power@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Ben Lacey
hip09bal@sheffield.ac.uk
Constructing Communities: Identification and Self-understanding in the Twelfth-Century North of England. 
Daniel Murphy
DTMurphy1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Time of Great Necessity: Images of Crisis and Reform in the Twelfth Century.
Robyn Parker
robyn.parker@sheffield.ac.uk
Creating the Hermit-Preachers: Narrative, Textual Construction, and Community in Twelfth- and Thirteenth-Century Northern France.
Secondary Elizabeth Goodwin
hia08eg@sheffield.ac.uk
Communal Experiences of Reform for Women Religious in Sixteenth-Century England.

S

Scroop, Daniel
d.scroop@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Thom Keep
thomas.keep@sheffield.ac.uk
Harcourt A. Morgan’s Common Mooring Concept: Forgotten Thoughts on Environmental Sustainability.
Shoemaker, Robert
r.shoemaker@sheffied.ac.uk
Primary Helen Churcher
hia08hec@sheffield.ac.uk
Understandings of Habitual Criminality and the Trajectory of Criminal Stereotyping in England from 1770 to 1870.
Anna Jenkin
hip12acj@sheffield.ac.uk
Perceptions of the Murderess in Eighteenth-century London and Paris, 1674-1789.
Secondary Nigel Cavanagh
hip12nac@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities: A Case Study of Elsecar Circa 1750-1850.
Kate Davison
kate.davison@sheffield.ac.uk
A Social History of Humour in Early Eighteenth Century England.
Kate Gibson
KLGibson1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Experience of and Attitudes towards Extra-marital Sex and Illegitimacy in the long Eighteenth Century, 1660-1830.
Kristine Tomlinson
hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk
The Reverend Isaiah Parker MD: Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1812.
Staub, Martial
m.staub@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Elizabeth Goodwin
hia08eg@sheffield.ac.uk
Communal Experiences of Reform for Women Religious in Sixteenth-Century England.
Matt Hannaford (Geography)
ggp11mjh@sheffield.ac.uk
Consequences of Past and Future Climate Change for State Formation and Security in Southern Africa.
Secondary Mark Critchlow
m.critchlow@sheffield.ac.uk
League Memories: Recollections of Catholic Political Engagement in late Sixteenth-Century Paris.
Ben Lacey
hip09bal@sheffield.ac.uk
Constructing Communities: Identification and Self-understanding in the Twelfth-Century North of England.
Daniel Murphy
DTMurphy1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Time of Great Necessity: Images of Crisis and Reform in the Twelfth Century.
Robyn Parker
robyn.parker@sheffield.ac.uk 
Creating the Hermit-Preachers: Narrative, Textual Construction, and Community in Twelfth- and Thirteenth-Century Northern France.
Hannah Probert
HLProbert1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fatherhood between Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages.

T

Tanner, John
(Barnsley Museums)
Secondary Nigel Cavanagh
hip12nac@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Elsecar.
Nicola Walker
NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrializing Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

V

Vernon, Teresa
(British Library)
Secondary Bernard Wilkin
hip11baw@sheffield.ac.uk
Allied Propaganda in Occupied France and Belgium during the First World War.
Vincent, Mary
m.t.vincent@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Ruth Littlewood (Hispanic Studies)
RLittlewood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Memoirs of Women Prisoners in Franco's Spain.
Matthew Kerry
hia05mdk@sheffield.ac.uk
Radical Political Identities in Asturias, 1931-6.
David Lyon
hiq07dl@sheffield.ac.uk
Bitter Justice: The Penitentiary of El Puerto De Santa Maria and it's Basque Dimension 1936-1949.
Stephanie Wright
SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk
Disabled and Neurotic Nationalist Veterans and Perceptions of Masculinity in Franco's Spain, 1936-75.
James Yeoman
jmyeoman1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Lived Experience of Spanish Anarchism: Violence, Education and Organisation in the Anarchist Periodical Press, 1890-1915.
Secondary Alexander Buck (Hispanic Studies)
ABuck1@sheffield.ac.uk
Immigration in Argentina in the Late Nineteenth and early Twentieth Centuries.
David Page
hip10dgp@sheffield.ac.uk
The Rise and Demise of the New Britain Movement, 1931–1935.
Hannah Parker
HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk
Emancipated from Above: Voices of Russian Women in the Early Soviet Era.
Ryosuke Yokoe
RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.

W

West, Charles
c.m.west@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary James Chetwood
JAChetwood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Tom, Dick and Leofric: The Transformation of English Personal Naming, 850–1350.
Secondary Simon Hosie
jpb08sh@sheffield.ac.uk
The Purpose of Bureaucratic Inventories in Late Antiquity.
Alyxandra Mattison (Archaeology)
a.mattison@sheffield.ac.uk
The Political and Religious Context of Judicial Punishment in Early Medieval England, AD 800-1200.
Withington, Phil
P.Withington@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Taylor Alexander
ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Criminality of Tobacco in Seventeenth-century England.
Jose Cree
JCree2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Invention of Addiction in Early Modern England.
Kate Davison
kate.davison@sheffield.ac.uk
A Social History of Humour in Early Eighteenth Century England.
Ryosuke Yokoe
RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.
Secondary Harriet Smart
HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk
‘A State Theatre of Power’ The role of human sacrifice in the establishment of Mexica hegemony in the Valley of Mexico, 1430 – 1519. - going to email again with an update.

Z

Ziemann, Benjamin
b.ziemann@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Brendan Murphy
hip11bjm@sheffield.ac.uk
Killing in the German Army: Organizing and Surviving Combat in the Great War.
Secondary Stephanie Wright
SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk
Disabled and Neurotic Nationalist Veterans and Perceptions of Masculinity in Franco's Spain, 1936-75.