The University of Sheffield
Department of Archaeology

Contact us

General enquiries

Email: archaeology@shef.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 114 222 2900

Postal address

Department of Archaeology
University of Sheffield
Northgate House
West Street
Sheffield
S1 4ET
United Kingdom

Map of UK

 Undergraduate

Initial enquiries:

Natalie Barks Student Support Officer  +44 (0) 114 22 22912 archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

UG Admission process:

Mrs Jo Mirfield Senior Undergraduate Support Officer +44 (0) 114 22 22932 archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Dr Jane Rempel Undergraduate Admissions Tutor  +44 (0) 114 22 22938 j.rempel@sheffield.ac.uk

Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching

Professor Paul Halstead Head of Undergraduate School +44 (0) 114 22 22905 p.halstead@sheffield.ac.uk

Postgraduate

Initial enquiries:

Liam Hogg Student Liaison Assistant  +44 (0) 114 22 22900 archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

PG admission process:

Ms Kathryn Goldsack Senior Graduate Support Officer +44 (0) 114 22 25104 archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Student Programme (MPhil/PhD) admission process:

Natalie Barks Student Support Officer +44 (0) 114 22 22912 archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

Research programmes (M.Phil., PhD)

Prof Maureen Carroll (Semester one and Semester two)

Prof Dawn Hadley (Semester two)

Research Programmes Admissions Tutor

+44 (0) 114 222 2959

+44 (0) 114 222 2920

p.m.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

d.m.hadley@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Academic advice on taught programmes
Dr Peter Day Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes +44 (0) 114 222 2917 p.m.day@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Taught programmes enquiries: individual courses

MA Aegean Archaeology

MA Archaeology of the Classical Mediterranean

Dr Sue Sherratt +44 (0) 114 222 0183 s.sherratt@sheffield.ac.uk
MA Archaeology
MA Medieval Archaeology
Professor Maureen Carroll +44 (0) 114 222 2959 p.m.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk
MA Classical & Ancient World Dr Jane Rempel +44 (0) 114 222 2938 j.rempel@shef.ac.uk
MA Cultural Heritage Management

Professor Paul Halstead (Semester one)

Professor John Bennet (Semester two)

+44 (0) 114 222 2905

+44 (0) 114 222 5103

p.halstead@shef.ac.uk

d.j.bennet@sheffield.ac.uk

MSc Experimental Archaeology
MSc Archaeological Materials
MA Material Culture Studies
Dr Roger Doonan +44 (0) 114 222 2939 r.doonan@sheffield.ac.uk
MSc Environmental Archaeology and Palaeoeconomy
MA Landscape Archaeology

Prof Paul Halstead (Semester one)

Prof John Bennet (Semester two)

+44 (0) 114 222 2905

+44 (0) 114 222 5103

p.halstead@sheffield.ac.uk

d.j.bennet@sheffield.ac.uk

MSc Osteoarchaeology Dr Umberto Albarella +44 (0) 114 222 2943 u.albarella@shef.ac.uk
MSc Human Osteology and Funerary Archaeology Dr Pia Nystrom +44 (0) 114 222 2902 p.nystrom@sheffield.ac.uk
MSc Palaeoanthropology Dr Kevin Kuykendall +44 (0) 114 222 2937 k.l.kuykendall@sheffield.ac.uk