Academic staff

Information on who our academic and research staff are and how to contact them.

Academic staff

Name Job title Email Telephone
Prof. Andy Dickerson Director of the Sheffield Methods Institute a.p.dickerson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 3321
Dr Andrew Bell Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Social Sciences andrew.j.d.bell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 6065
Dr Elisabeth Garratt Lecturer in Quantitative Methods elisabeth.garratt@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8385
Dr Todd Hartman Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Social Sciences t.k.hartman@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 7122
Dr Lucy Jackson Lecturer in Qualitative Methods lucy.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8380
Dr Will Mason Lecturer in Applied Social Sciences w.j.mason@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8368
Dr Kitty Nichols University Teacher k.nichols@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8398
Dr Aneta Piekut

Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Social Sciences

a.piekut@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 6288
Prof Gwilym Pryce Professor of Urban Economics and Social Statistics g.pryce@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 7121
Dr Mark Taylor Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Social Sciences and AHRC Leadership Fellow m.r.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8380
Dr Laura Towers University Teacher l.towers@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8398

Research staff 

Name Job Title Email Telephone
Dr Dan Olner Research Associate d.olner@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8398
Dr Gwilym Owen Research Associate Gwilym.Owen@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8398
Dr Griffith Rees Research Associate griffith.rees@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8398
Dr Meng Le Zhang Research Associate meng_le.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 8398
Text that says Why Numbers Matter

Why Numbers Matter

SMI's series on why it's important to get numbers right.

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.