Firth Court

How the University is run

The University is an independent corporation whose legal status derives from a Royal Charter granted in 1905. It is an exempt charity regulated by the Office for Students. Explore how the University is governed and how it is managed.

The Diamond

How the University is managed

The President and Vice-Chancellor is the Chief Executive and Accountable Officer. Our University Executive Board provides leadership and management, and collectively advises the President and Vice-Chancellor. Our Professional Services teams help deliver the University strategy.

President and Vice-Chancellor> The University Executive Board> Faculties> Professional Services>
Firth Court, glass window

How the University is governed

The Council is the governing body, responsible for setting future direction and monitoring progress. The University Secretary's Office supports good governance and compliance with legal and regulatory obligations.

The Council> Governance structure> Governance documents> University Secretary's Office>
Mobile devices

Information governance

Policies and guidance on our information compliance, records management and archives.

GDPR and data protection > Privacy notices> Guidelines for staff>