University Senate

The Senate is the academic authority of the University, whose role is to oversee the teaching and research of the University, be responsible for academic quality and standards and for the admission and regulation of students, subject to the overall control of Council.

Firth court

Senate Elections for 2022-23

Voting Open

Election Guidelines 2022-23 (PDF)

Senate meets four times during each academic year, in October, December, March and June, normally in Firth Court and on Wednesday afternoons.

Typically, its agendas include a presentation and report by the President and Vice-Chancellor, as well as discussion on key aspects of the reports of Senate committees, such as the Learning and Teaching Committee, Research and Innovation Committee and Research Ethics Committee.

Senate also receives for information a report from the Council.

There shall be a Senate of the University which shall, subject to the Statutes and the control and approval of the Council, oversee the teaching and research of the University and the admission and regulation of students.

University Charter

Article 5

Chaired by the President and Vice-Chancellor, Senate's membership is drawn from within the University, and staff members include:

  • Three Vice-Presidents
  • Five Vice-Presidents and Heads of Faculty
  • The Faculty Directors of Learning and Teaching and of Research and Innovation, nominated Heads of Departments and elected staff representatives
  • Students are represented by six students at least two of whom are Students' Union Officers


Terms of Reference (PDF)

Regulations (PDF)

Membership 2021-22 (PDF)


Committees of Senate

The full membership lists for the 2020-21 (PDF) and 2019-20 (PDF) academic years are available to download.

Members of staff on grades 7 and above who are not already members of Senate can seek membership through a nominations exercise conducted each year.

There are 30 places. Those appointed serve for three years.

Details of the nominations process are circulated by email to all staff and published on this page.


Senate Standing Orders (PDF)

Senate Membership 2021-22 (PDF)

Senate Dates 2021-22 (PDF)

Senate Dates 2022-23 (PDF)

Senate Executive Summary Template (.docx)

Senate Executive Summary Guidance Notes (PDF)

Election Guidelines (PDF)


Information for Members

Senate Minutes

President & Vice-Chancellor's Reports to Senate

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.