Queen's Anniversary Prizes

We've been awarded four Queen’s Anniversary Prizes, an award given to recognise the outstanding contributions to the intellectual, economic, cultural and social life of the nation.

The Queen greeting people while on a visit to the University - image

The Queen's Prize

The Queen's Prize is the most distinguished award that can be made to a UK institution for higher or further education. The awards are designed to recognise the outstanding contribution that universities and colleges in the United Kingdom make to the intellectual, economic, cultural and social life of the nation.

The scheme sits alongside, though separate from, the Queen's Awards to Industry and is operated by the Royal Anniversary Trust.

The first Queen's Anniversary Prizes were awarded in 1994 and the scheme is held biennially. All universities and colleges in the UK are eligible to enter the competition. The 1998 competition attracted over 200 entries and from these 21 awards have been made. Each institution is permitted only one entry to the competition.

Past awards


Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre

Our Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (AMRC) received the Queen's Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education in 2007. This award commends 'outstanding achievement at a world-class level' and recognised the AMRC's innovative collaborations between academia and industry.


Pioneering ageing research


Sheffield University Waste Incineration Centre

Groundwater Protection and Restoration Group

Environmental Consultancy University of Sheffield


Humanities Research Institute

Flagship institutes

Our four flagship institutes bring together our key strengths to tackle global issues, turning interdisciplinary and translational research into real-world solutions.

Flagship institutes