The Council

2017/18 Constitution and Membership

Ex-officio members
Chair and Pro-Chancellor A P Pedder, OBE, DL, BSc, MSc Appointed to 2021
Pro-Chancellor A M Hope, BSc, FCA (ICAEW) Appointed to 2021
Pro-Chancellor R Mayson, BA Appointed to 2021
Treasurer D E Young, CBE, BA, Hon Litt, Hon DBA Appointed to 2018
President & Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Keith Burnett, CBE, BA, DPhil, FRS, FInstPhys, FLSW
Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Gill Valentine, BA, PhD, FAcSS, FRGS Appointed to 2018

Persons appointed by the Council
Appointed to 2018 S F Eden, BSc, PhD
Appointed to 2018 D J Bagley, BA, FCA
Appointed to 2018 J Sutcliffe
Appointed to 2019 S Sly, LLB, ARIArb
Appointed to 2019 Professor K Layden, BSc, PhD, FRSC
Appointed to 2020 A Belton, BSc, ACIB, DipFS
Appointed to 2020 J Nicholls
Appointed to 2020 A P W Wray

A Vice-President & Head of Faculty*
A Vice-President & Head of Faculty Professor C Watkins Appointed to 2018

Members of the Senate elected by the Senate
Elected to 2019 Mr R Sykes, BA
Elected to 2020 Professor L Maltby
Elected to 2020 Professor M Siva-Jothy

The President of the Students' Union
President K Maxwell

One member elected by and from the Professional Staff in Grades 1 to 7
Elected to 2018 G Hague, BA

Secretary to the Council
Dr A J Strike

* formally a Faculty Pro-Vice-Chancellor