Advisory Board

In March 2016 the Department of Journalism Studies convened an Advisory Board comprising influential figures from the media industry and the research community.

The Advisory Board arriving into a class to see what's happening and meet the students.

Together they offer a powerful range of perspectives and insight which will play a key role in retaining our position as the UK's number 1 journalism department.

The Advisory Board's functions are to

  • provide advice and support to the department in relation to its teaching, research and contribution to society
  • provide advice on the overall direction and objectives of the department in the light of changes in the media industry

Members of the Advisory Board

Joyce Adeluwoye-Adams MBE
Editor, Newsroom Diversity, Reuters

Richard Best 
Managing Editor, The Independent

Christian Broughton
Editor, The Independent

Kieron Bryan
Series Editor for Digital, Channel 4 News

Chris Elliott
Former Readers' Editor of the Guardian, board member of the Ethical Journalism Network

Toby Granville
Editorial Development Director at Newsquest

Jonathan Grun
Professional Chair in Journalism, University of Sheffield

Tal Gottesman
Managing Editor of the i

Lester Holloway
Editor of The Voice

Marie Kinsey
Emeritus Professor of Journalism Education, University of Sheffield

Ian MacGregor (chair)
Chair, Society of Editors; Emeritus Editor, Daily Telegraph

Vic Motune
Head of News, The Voice

Ben Preston
Executive Editor, The Sunday Times

Harriet Rose-Gale
Features Editor, SWNS News Agency

Laura Scott
Editor of News Output, Sky News

Dan Walker
Broadcaster and sports journalist, BBC

Charlene White
Anchor, ITV News

Oliver Wright
Policy Editor, The Times

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.