Academic Staff

Contact details and research interests of all the academic staff currently working in the Department of Politics and International Relations.

Short-cuts: A | B | C | D | F | G | H | IJL | M | N | P | R | S | T | U | V | W 

Name Post Contact
Professor Andrew Hindmoor Head of Department
Professor of Politics
a.hindmoor@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0661

A

Name Post Contact
Dr Remi Adekoya University Teacher in Political Economy

r.a.adekoya@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Alexandra Anderson
 
Research Associate - Designing for Democracy/Fit for the Future alexandra.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1645

B

Name Post Contact
Professor Ian Bache Professor of Politics

i.bache@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1678

Professor Andrew Baker Professor of Political Economy a.p.baker@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1670
Dr Thomas Barker Teaching Assistant t.r.barker@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Ross Bellaby Senior Lecturer in Security Studies r.bellaby@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1661
Dr Matthew Bishop Senior Lecturer in International Politics m.bishop@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0664
Professor Ruth Blakeley Professor of Politics and International Relations r.blakeley@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 21686
Dr David Blaney Fulbright Scholar blaney@macalester.edu
+44 114 222 1672
Rt Hon. Professor the Lord David Blunkett Professor of Politics in Practice brightside@parliament.uk
Professor Simon Bulmer Professor of European Politics s.bulmer@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1706
Professor Charlotte Burns Professorial Fellow charlotte.burns@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1703

C

Name Post Contact
Dr Alasdair Cochrane Senior Lecturer in Political Theory

a.cochrane@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1650

D

Name Post Contact
Dr Juan Mario Diaz Arevalo Post Doctoral Research Fellow juan.diaz@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Benedict F Docherty University Teacher in International Relations

b.docherty@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1674

Dr Katharine Dommett Senior Lecturer in the Public Understanding of Politics k.dommett@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1682
Professor Rosaleen V Duffy Professor of International Politics r.v.duffy@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1694
Dr David Duriesmith Lecturer in Politics d.duriesmith@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1657

F

Name Post Contact
Professor Matthew Flinders Professor of Politics

m.v.flinders@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1680

G

Name Post Contact
Professor Andrew Gamble Professor of Politics a.m.gamble@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1694
Dr Jonathan Gamu Lecturer in International Politics j.k.gamu@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1668
Professor Maria Grasso Professor of Politics and Quantitative Methods m.grasso@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1702
Dr Zana Gulmohamad Contracted Teaching Assistant zana.gulmohamad@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Name Post Contact
Dr Edward Hall Lecturer in Political Theory

edward.hall@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1709

Professor Colin Hay Professor of Political Analysis c.hay@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor John M. Hobson Professor of Politics and International Relations j.m.hobson@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1669

I

Name Post Contact
George Iordachescu Post Doctoral Research Fellow - BIOSEC Project g.a.iordachescu@sheffield.ac.uk

J

Name Post Contact
Natalie James Teaching Assistant n.c.james@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Thomas R Johnson Lecturer in Politics/International Politics

thomas.r.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1654

L

Name Post Contact
Dr Hannah Lambie-Mumford Lecturer in Politics h.lambie-mumford@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1667
Teresa Lappe-Osthege Research Assistant - BIOSEC Project  
Dr Scott Lavery

Lecturer in Politics

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

scott.lavery@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 8395
Professor Genevieve LeBaron

Professor of Politics

g.lebaron@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1688
Dr Gary Lowery

Teaching Assistant

g.lowery@sheffield.ac.uk

 M

Name Post Contact
Dr Francis Masse Postdoctoral Research Associate

f.masse@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1664

Dr Felicity Matthews

Senior Lecturer in Politics

f.m.matthews@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1651
Professor Allister McGregor

Professor in Political Economy

j.a.mcgregor@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1704
Dr Alistair McMillan

Senior Lecturer

a.mcmillan@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Josh Milburn

British Academy Post Doctoral Fellow

j.milburn@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1693

 N

Name Post Contact
Dr Jonna Nyman

Lecturer in International Politics

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

j.nyman@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1675

Name Post Contact
Dr Sarita Panday Global Challenge Fellow s.panday@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 8394
Dr Owen Parker

Senior Lecturer

o.parker@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1695
Professor Charles Pattie

Professor of Politics

c.pattie@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0669

 R

Name Post Contact
Dr Athanassios Roussias

Lecturer

a.roussias@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1655
Dr Simon Rushton

Senior Lecturer

simon.rushton@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1710

S

Name Post Contact
Dr Clara Sandelind

Pot Doctoral Research Fellow

clara.sandelind@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1707
Dr Deborah Savage University Teacher in Political Theory d.savage@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1687
Dr Anastasia Shesterinina

Lecturer in Politics/International Politics

a.shesterinina@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1665
Dr Matt Sleat

Reader in Political Theory

m.sleat@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1692
Dr Amy Smith

University Teacher in British Politics/Public Policy

amy.p.smith@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0667
Dr Nikki Soo

Crick Centre Research Associate

n.soo@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1652
Dr Lisa Stampnitzky

Lecturer in Politics

l.stampnitzky@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1701
Dr Liam Stanley

Lecturer

l.m.stanley@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1705
Thomas Stocks Teaching Assistant t.v.stocks@sheffield.ac.uk

 T

Name Post Contact
Dr Cemal Burak Tansel

Lecturer in Politics/International Politics

c.b.tansel@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0660
Dr Joanna Tidy

Lecturer in Politics

joanna.tidy@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1691
Dr Helen Turton

Lecturer in International Politics and Security Studies

h.turton@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1663

 U

Name Post Contact
Dr Luke Ulas

Lecturer in Political Theory

l.a.ulas@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1656

V

Name Post Contact
Valença, Henrique Lopes Graduate Teaching Assistant hlvalenca1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Peter Verovšek

Lecturer in Politics/International Politics

p.j.verovsek@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1660
Dr Judith Verweijen Lecturer in International Relations j.verweijen@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1649
Dr Anh Vu Post Doctoral Research Fellow  - BIOSEC Project n.vu@sheffield.ac.uk

Name Post Contact
Jennifer Watson Research and Impact Fellow j.m.watson@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1662
Dr James Weinberg Lecturer in Politics james.weinberg@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6293
Professor James Wilsdon

Professor of Research Policy

j.wilsdon@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0668
Dr Matthew Wood

Lecturer in Politics/International Politics

m.wood@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1683

Study with us

The study of politics covers much more than you might think, and at Sheffield we have an enormously diverse range of topics and approaches on offer. 

Undergraduate courses

Postgraduate study

PhD study