Academic Staff

Contact details and research interests of all the academic staff currently working in the Department of Politics.

Short-cuts: A | B | C | D | F | G | HJL | M | N | P | R | S | T | U | V | W 

A

Name Post Contact
Dr Adeniyi Asiyanbi Anniversary Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Global Environmental Politics

a.asiyanbi@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1649

B

Name Post Contact
Professor Ian Bache Professor of Politics

i.bache@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1678

Professor Andrew Baker Professorial Research Fellow a.p.baker@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1691
Dr Ross Bellaby Senior Lecturer in Security Studies r.bellaby@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1661
Dr Matthew Bishop Senior Lecturer in International Politics m.bishop@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1677
Professor Ruth Blakeley Professor of Politics and International Relations r.blakeley@sheffield.ac.uk
Rt Hon. Professor the Lord David Blunkett Professor of Politics in Practice brightside@parliament.uk
+44 114 222 1656
Professor Simon Bulmer Professor of European Politics s.bulmer@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1706
Professor Charlotte Burns Professorial Fellow charlotte.burns@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1703

C

Name Post Contact
Dr Alasdair Cochrane Senior Lecturer in Political Theory

a.cochrane@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1650

D

Name Post Contact
Dr Benedict F Docherty University Teacher in International Relations

b.docherty@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1674

Dr Katharine Dommett Senior Lecturer in the Public Understanding of Politics k.dommett@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1682
Professor Rosaleen V Duffy Professor of International Politics r.v.duffy@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1694

F

Name Post Contact
Professor Matthew Flinders Professor of Politics

m.v.flinders@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1680

G

Name Post Contact
Professor Andrew Gamble Professor of Politics a.m.gamble@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1694
Dr Jonathan Gamu Lecturer in International Politics j.k.gamu@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1668
Professor Maria Grasso Professor of Politics and Quantitative Methods m.grasso@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1702

H

Name Post Contact
Dr Edward Hall Lecturer in Political Theory

edward.hall@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1709

Professor Graham Harrison Professor of Politics g.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1686
Professor Colin Hay Professor of Political Analysis c.hay@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1707
Professor Andrew Hindmoor Professor of Politics a.hindmoor@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0661
Professor John M. Hobson Professor of Politics and International Relations j.m.hobson@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1669
Dr Justa Hopma Research Fellow in Global Food Justice j.hopma@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 8394

J

Name Post Contact
Dr Thomas R Johnson Lecturer in Politics

thomas.r.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1654

Professor Jonathan Joseph Professor of Politics and International Relations

j.joseph@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1667

L

Name Post Contact
Professor Genevieve LeBaron

Professor of Politics

g.lebaron@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1688
Dr Scott Lavery

Lecturer in Politics

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

scott.lavery@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 8395

 M

Name Post Contact
Dr Jared Margulies

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

j.margulies@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1653
Dr Francis Masse Postdoctoral Research Fellow f.masse@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Felicity Matthews

Senior Lecturer in Politics

f.m.matthews@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1651
Professor Allister McGregor

Professor in Political Economy

j.a.mcgregor@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1704
Dr Alistair McMillan

Senior Lecturer

a.mcmillan@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1657
Dr Jasper Montana

Research Associate in Evidence, Expertise and Policymaking

j.montana@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6293

 N

Name Post Contact
Dr Jonna Nyman

Lecturer in International Politics

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

j.nyman@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1675

Name Post Contact
Dr Owen Parker

Lecturer in European Politics

o.parker@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1695
Professor Charles Pattie

Professor of Politics

c.pattie@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0669

 R

Name Post Contact
Dr Athanassios Roussias

Lecturer

a.roussias@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Simon Rushton

Senior Lecturer

simon.rushton@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1710

S

Name Post Contact
Dr Clara Sandelind

Leverhulme Postdoctoral Fellow

clara.sandelind@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1707
Dr Anastasia Shesterinina

Lecturer in Politics/International Politics

a.shesterinina@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1665
Dr Matt Sleat

Reader in Political Theory

m.sleat@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1692
Dr Amy Smith

University Teacher in British Politics/Public Policy

amy.p.smith@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0667
Dr Nikki Soo

Postdoctoral Research Associate

n.soo@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1652
Dr Lisa Stampnitzky

Lecturer in Politics

l.stampnitzky@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1701
Dr Liam Stanley

Lecturer

l.m.stanley@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1705
Dr Hayley Stevenson Reader in Politics and International Relations h.stevenson@sheffield.ac.uk

 T

Name Post Contact
Dr Cemal Burak Tansel

Lecturer in International Politics

c.b.tansel@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 0660
Professor Andrew Taylor

Professor of Politics

a.j.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1689
Dr Merisa Thompson

Research Fellow in Global Food Justice

merisa.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7120
Dr Joanna Tidy

Lecturer in Politics

joanna.tidy@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1691
Dr Joe Turner

Research Fellow in International Migration

joe.turner@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1693
Dr Helen Turton

Lecturer in International Politics and Security Studies

h.turton@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1663

 U

Name Post Contact
Dr Luke Ulas

Lecturer in Political Theory

l.a.ulas@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1656

V

Name Post Contact
Dr Peter Verovšek

Lecturer in Politics

p.j.verovsek@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1660

Name Post Contact
Professor James Wilsdon

Professor of Research Policy, Department of Politics

j.wilsdon@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 771 252 7986
Dr Matthew Wood

Lecturer in Politics

m.wood@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 1683

Study with us

The study of politics covers much more than you might think, and at Sheffield we have an enormously diverse range of topics and approaches on offer. 

Undergraduate courses

Postgraduate study

PhD study