PhD research students

Contact details for research staff in the Department of Politics and International Relations.

Short-cuts: A | B | C | DF | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | PSV | W | Z  

A

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Aliyeva, Adila

aaliyeva1@sheffield.ac.uk

Social Capital in the South Caucasus: A comparative analysis of Azerbaijani and Georgian societies Prof Maria Grasso Prof Andrew Taylor

10/2013

Amidi, Sabina Women and Social Change in Egypt and Tunisia   Prof John Hobson 10/2013

Argyroulis, Dimitrios

dargyroulis1@sheffield.ac.uk

ECOFIN and the Post-crisis Institutionalisation of European Economic Governance: A Sociological Institutionalist Approach Prof Simon Bulmer Dr Owen Parker 10/2015

Arnott, Andrew

andrew.arnott@sheffield.ac.uk

Variations in European Union anti-establishment parties Dr Nasos Roussias Prof Maria Grasso 10/2016
Asiamah, George   Prof James Wilsdon Em Prof Peter Horton FRS 10/2018

B

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Barker, Jennifer

  Dr Matthew Wood   10/2018
Bastaki, Ahmed   Dr Anastasia Shesterinina Prof Maria Grasso 10/2018
Bayramova, Gunay The Role of Energy in Azerbaijan’s Foreign Policy Dr Hayley Stevenson   10/2011

Bruckmayer, Michaela

m.bruckmayer@sheffield.ac.uk

A Vulnerable Threat? The Impacts of Policy Framing on Child Migration Policy Outcomes Prof Andrew Geddes Dr Matthew Bishop 10/2014

 C

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started
Chamberlain, James   Prof Graham Harrison Liam Stanley 10/2014

Coiley, George

      10/2017

Cordasco, Carlo

c.cordasco@sheffield.ac.uk

Rethinking Spontaneous Order: Norms, Institutions and Legitimacy Dr Matt Sleat Dr Alasdair Cochrane 10/2012

 D

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Dafnos, Andreas

adafnos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Far-right groups in the UK: Investigating cumulative extremism Prof Maria Grasso Dr Nasos Roussias 10/2014

Delfin, Pilana

      02/2017

Dickinson, Hannah

Working in the BIOSEC Project Prof Rosaleen Duffy Prof Dan Brockington 10/2016
Duncan, Lynzi       01/2016

 F

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Ferhani, Adam

      10/2017

Fey, Jana Maria

      10/2017

Foley, Laura

laura.foley@sheffield.ac.uk

The governance of labour migration in Southeast Asia Prof Andrew Geddes Prof Genevieve LeBaron 10/2016

 G

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Godziewski, Charlotte

c.godziewski@sheffield.ac.uk

Possibilities and limitations of deliberation in health governance: The case of EU governance of health promotion Dr Owen Parker Dr Simon Rushton 10/2016

 H

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Hanif, Hasrul

      05/2018
Hansen, Rasmus       10/2015
Hill, Mary Anne       10/2015
Ho, Ka Chun     Prof Ian Bache 10/2018
Hughes, Robin       10/2016

 J

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Jackson, James

jjackson13@sheffield.ac.uk

Driving towards climate change - the barriers to decarbonising the automobile sector Professor Charlotte Burns Professor Ian Bache 10/2018

Joanny, Laure

laure.joanny@sheffield.ac.uk

Green surveillance technologies Prof Rosaleen Duffy Prof Dan Brockington 10/2017
Jung, Minju       10/2018

 K

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Kaleem, Amna

      10/2018

Kaczmarczyk, Patrick

      10/2018

 L

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Lappe-Osthege, Teresa

Beyond Sustainable Development – The Role of the Environment in EU Peacebuilding in Kosovo Dr Hayley Stevenson Prof Jonathan Joseph 10/2014
Leary, Andrew       10/2017

Leman, Jason

JCLeman1@sheffield.ac.uk

Local parties and participatory governance in English Local Councils Dr Felicity Matthews Dr Kate Dommett 10/2014

Lixi, Luca

luca.lixi@sheffield.ac.uk

The European External Migration Governance: understanding the pathways to progress and the obstacles along the way. Prof Andrew Geddes Dr Owen Parker 04/2015

M

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started
Mangule, Indra       10/2015

Meakin, Alexandra

a.meakin@sheffield.ac.uk

The politics of the Restoration and Renewal of the Palace of Westminster

Professor Matthew Flinders  Dr Felicity Matthews 10/2016

Mensah, Gloria

gmmensah1@sheffield.ac.uk

Agenda-setting and Carbon Dioxide Utilization Technologies (CDU) in the UK Dr. Kate Dommett Dr. Chris Jones and Prof. Peter Styring 10/2016

Morecroft, Sam

Towards Radical Political Unionism: What Does The Emergence of Independent Workers Organisations Mean for the Future of COSATU and for Labour Relations in South Africa? Prof Graham Harrison Prof Jonathan Joseph 10/2012

Mulambia, Chishimba

chishimba.mulambia@sheffield.ac.uk

Decentralisation and Health Service Governance in Zambia Dr. Simon Rushton Dr. Muhammad Sadiq 10/2016

N

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started
Nie, Cong       10/2018
Norton, Rod       10/2018

 P

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Pettrachin, Andrea

apettrachin1@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding the Refugee Crisis: An Actor-Centred Analysis of the Constitution of Asylum
Governance in Italy
Professor Andrew Geddes Dr Owen Parker 11/2016
Pemberton, Edward       10/2018
Pietila, Kaisa       10/2016

 S

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

Smith, Katherine

katherine.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

A crisis in democratic participation? The impact of inequality on the political (dis)engagement of young people Prof Maria Grasso Dr Liam Stanley 2017

Southern, Polly

  Dr Garrett W. Brown Dr Alisdair Cochrane 10/2014

 V

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started
Valenca, Henrique       10/2018

  W

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started
Wang, Zidi       10/2018
Woolf, Alex       10/2018

 Z

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started
Zhang, Shizhi       10/2015

PhD scholarships

There are lots of different types of scholarships available, from partial fee scholarships to full awards covering fees and maintenance.

Explore opportunities