Architecture 2018 Exhibition

Our 2018 Summer Exhibition events showcased the outstanding design work produced by our students over the last year.

Design projects from our Undergraduate, MArch and Postgraduate Taught Masters students were exhibited on floors 16 and 17 of the Arts Tower. Visitors had the chance to view work by over 500 students including models, drawings, videos and installations. Each year we welcome guests from practice and industry to alumni and academia.

Our Employers' Preview event gave architecture practices and organisations an opportunity to view the exhibition before it launched and to meet our talented graduating students from the degree (RIBA Part 1) and MArch (RIBA Part 2) courses.

During the launch event staff, students, friends and family celebrated all the hard work and achievements with prizes awarded by Head of School, Professor Karim Hadjri, and Faculty Director of Learning and Teaching, Professor Jackie Marsh. We also launched the new 2018 Catalogue which brings together all the highlights from the School over the past year.

2018 Prize Winners

First-Year Prize in Architecture: Ying Chian

Marcus Humphrey-Gaskin Memorial Prize: James Maidment

Mohammed Elashry Memorial Prize: Mariarosa Evans

Robert Cawkwell Prize in Architecture: Ethan Loo

Mansell Jenkinson Prize in Architecture: Michael Neal

Stephen Welsh Prize in Architecture Draughtsmanship:

Mansel Haynes
Luke Moran

Stephen Welsh Prize in Architecture: Ethan Loo

The BDP Live Project Prize:

The Great Pier Group

Nigel Hassell
David Hodgson
Nicolas Heppner
Ellen Peirce
Sacha Bennett-Ford
Samantha Mooney
Jaimie Claydon
Stella Tse
Liuqing Yang
Yingran Qu
Jianbin Zheng
Xiaoyu Jie
Yitong Guan
Evangeline Martin
Glenn Spiby

J K Page Prize in Environmental Science: Cameron Shackley

Sir H K Stephenson Travelling Studentship in Architecture:

Clare Mckay
William Kreibich

Dr Brian Wragg Prize in Architectural Draughtsmanship: Kun Shen

Kenneth H Murta Prize in Architecture: Stella Tse

Robert Henry Memorial Prize: Nigel Hassell

School of Architecture Centenary Prize for Outstanding Contribution to the School: Ryan Smith

HLM Design And Management Prizes:

Ben Bradish
Chris Scaplehorn

Bryan Jefferson Prize for Excellence in Architecture: David Hodgson

The West Yorkshire Society of Architects Prizes:

First Year: Syn Wei Ong
Second Year: Vincent Las Marias
Third Year: Michael Neal
Fifth Year: Sacha Bennett-Ford
Sixth Year: Christopher Cooper

Sheffield Society of Architects Prize: Fiona Sawyers

Subscribe to our exhibition invitation list