Julia Weinstein wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry award.

Prof. Julia Weinstein was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemical Dynamics Award for 2017. The following statement was released by the RSC (lightly edited for clarity).

Sheffield scientist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry award

Professor Julia Weinstein is the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemical Dynamics Award winner for 2017. She was born and raised in Moscow.

Professor Weinstein’s work focuses on the process of electron transfer, which is fundamental to everything from electrical conductivity in materials, to nerve signalling in the human body, to photosynthesis and man-made systems for solar energy conversion.

Julia WeinsteinOn receiving the award, Julia said: “It is an amazing feeling, it is such a high honour. I feel surprise, excitement, and immense gratitude to all the collaborators with whom we have been working together for many years.

“The research which has been recognised by the Chemical Dynamics award is a result of integrated efforts of many PhD students and postdoctoral researchers, of our colleagues at Sheffield, and of our many collaborators world-wide – first of all of the collaborators in the Laser for Science facility at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.

“I have been very fortunate to be able to work with the extremely talented scientists of all generations, who created a wonderful, intellectually stimulating atmosphere – and without whom none of this exciting research would have been possible.”

The Chemical Dynamics Award is awarded for outstanding innovative research on the dynamics of molecules, including spectroscopy, kinetics or molecular interactions in the gas, liquid or solid phase. Professor Weinstein receives £2000, a medal and a certificate.

Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said: “It is an honour to celebrate the innovation and expertise of our community through our prizes and awards.

“We know that chemistry can be a powerful force for good, and quality research and communication of that research are more important than ever before.

“Our charitable mission is to advance excellence in the chemical sciences, and we are proud to celebrate our inspiring and influential winners, who share that mission.”

Our award winners are evaluated for the originality and impact of their research, as well as the quality of the results, which can be shown in publications, patents, or even software. The awards also recognise the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including all of the 2016 chemistry winners, Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.

Additional Information

Rewarding excellence and gaining recognition

The Royal Society of Chemistry’s Prizes and Awards recognise achievements by individuals, teams and organisations in advancing the chemical sciences. We want to reward those undertaking excellent work in the chemical sciences from across the world.

There are over 80 Prizes and Awards available in the main portfolio, covering all areas of the chemical sciences. So whether you work in research, business, industry or education, recognition is open to everyone.

More information is available at: rsc.li/prizes-awards

The Royal Society of Chemistry

The Royal Society of Chemistry is the world’s leading chemistry community, advancing excellence in the chemical sciences. With over 50,000 members and a knowledge business that spans the globe, we are the UK’s professional body for chemical scientists; a not-for-profit organisation with 175 years of history and an international vision for the future. We promote, support and celebrate chemistry. We work to shape the future of the chemical sciences – for the benefit of science and humanity.

More about Julia Weinstein

Julia Weinstein’s research concerns light-matter interactions in condensed phases. The specific focus is on photoinduced charge and energy transfer in nanoscale molecular systems, spanning fundamental dynamics through to possible applications in photocatalysis and solar fuels, and developing new and improved time-resolved methods and luminescent probes in biological imaging, diagnostics, and therapy. She is using a diversity of ultrafast spectroscopies, electronic and vibrational, as well as 2DIR spectroscopy, and pulse radiolysis techniques to develop these areas.

Julia obtained a Diploma in Chemistry (with honours) from Moscow Lomonosov State University in 1990, followed by a PhD from the same institution in 1994 in the area of photoinduced electron transfer, accomplished under the guidance of Prof Mikhail Kuzmin and Prof Nikita Sadovskii. She then became a member of academic staff at MSU, working on photochemistry of coordination compounds. Julia held a visiting professorship position at Duke University, USA, in the fall of 1998 and 1999, and that of a visiting scientist at the University of Amsterdam in 1996 and 1998, where she worked on Raman spectroscopy.

In 2000 she became a Royal Society/NATO postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Nottingham, followed by a temporary lectureship at the same institution. In 2004, Julia was awarded an EPSRC Advanced Research Fellowship “Light-switchable molecular devices based on metal chromophores”, followed by an appointment as a lecturer at the University of Sheffield in 2005, where she was promoted to professor in 2016.

Her most notable awards include the Lomonosov Award in Science in 2003, and the John van Geuns lectureship from Dutch Institute of Molecular Chemistry (2004).

She is a co-author of ca. 100 research papers, three book chapters, and a patent, has been a guest co-editor / editor of several issues of Dalton Transactions, and is currently a member of the Faraday Discussions advisory board. Prof Weinstein’s research is highly collaborative in nature, bringing together synthetic chemists, spectroscopists, theoreticians, microscopists, and biologists from many countries, to understand the chemistry of light.


Lizzy Ratcliffe
News and Media Executive
Royal Society of Chemistry
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432486