53rd Annual Meeting on ‘Modern Aspects of Stereochemistry’

Tuesday, 14th January 2020


10.00 am: Registration and Coffee

10.30 am: Dr David Witty, Bicycle Therapeutics, UK

11.30 am: Prof. Mariola Tortosa, Universidad Autónoma of Madrid, Spain

12.30 pm: Lunch

2.00 pm: Prof. Guy-Lloyd-Jones FRS, University of Edinburgh, UK

3.00 pm: Prof. Thomas Ward, University of Basel, Switzerland

4 pm: Tea break

4.30 pm: Prof. Tomislav Rovis, Columbia University, USA

5.30 pm: Close

Image of the Department of Chemsitry

Registration is now open

Click here to register

  • Registration fees are £20 per person.
  • The deadline for registration is 10th January 2020.
  • If you have any problems registering, please contact stereochemistry@sheffield.ac.uk.


The conference will take place in the Auditorium of the Richard Roberts Building, immediately adjacent to the Dainton Building, University of Sheffield - See here for Travel Details

Accommodation and Catering

The registration fee includes coffee and tea and a packed lunch.

Overnight accommodation is available at a number of hotels and guest houses within 15 minutes walk of the Dainton Building. We will be happy to provide a list of appropriate places with approximate prices but participants who need overnight accommodation either before or after the meeting are asked to make their own arrangements in good time.


Participants arriving by train at Sheffield Station should catch the tram from the rear of the station. Trams heading for Malin Bridge/Middlewood (blue route) run via the University approximately every 10 minutes. For the return journey take the tram travelling to Halfway (blue route).

Parking in the University area can be difficult, so if you are planning to travel by car, we recommend that you use the Park & Ride facilities. Details may be found at: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/visitors/mapsandtravel/parkandride

We regret that no permits can be issued for University car parks.


We warmly thank the following for sponsorship and other assistance with this meeting:

  • AstraZeneca
  • GlaxoSmithKline
  • The American Chemical Society
  • The Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Redbrick Molecular
  • Teledyne
  • The University of Sheffield