Research Group Members

Academic Staff

Peter Willett Professor Peter Willett
Head of Group
p.willett@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222633
Room 229
I focus principally on the development of novel techniques for a range of important applications in chemoinformatics, but I have also made significant contributions to information retrieval and increasingly to bibliometrics.
Val Gillet Professor Val Gillet
v.gillet@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222652
Room 233
I focus on the development and application of chemoinformatics techniques that are used primarily in the design of novel bioactive compounds. I have expertise in data mining and machine learning methods including emerging pattern mining, multiobjective evolutionary algorithms and graph theory.

Research Staff

Antonio

Dr Antonio de la Vega de Leon
Room 323

I'm interested in the development of computer tools to assist medicinal chemists, especially in designing methods to assist in the design of novel molecules with desired properties using publicly available data from chemical databases. My job at Sheffield involves the application of this experience to the development of chemical probes that can interrupt the binding of the prion protein and its binding partners in the context of Alzheimer's disease.

PhD Researchers

woman Christina Founti
cmfounti1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 323
I focus on the evaluation of QSAR models using methods that account for the uncertainty in individual predictions.
man Gianmarco Ghiandoni
gmghiandoni1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 323
I focus my studies on the Development of de Novo Design and Reaction Classification techniques.
woman Lucyantie Mazalan
lmazalan1@shef.ac.uk
Room 323
I explore the effect of dimensionality on the effectiveness of chemical similarity searching.
man Matthew Seddon
MSeddon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 323
I am researching the development of novel techniques for assessing bio-isosteric similarity of chemical fragments.