Research Group Members

Academic Staff

Andrew Cox Dr Andrew Cox
Head of Group
a.m.cox@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2226347
Room 222
I research communities of practice as a theoretical construct and the application of practice theory, as well as the evolution of the concepts of virtual community, Web2.0 and social media.
Jo 2019 Dr Jo Bates
jo.bates@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222652
Room 236
I research the socio-material factors that constitute how data are produced, used and move between different people and organisations, and the actual and potential socio-material consequences of these emergent forms of data practice and governance, with a particular focus on the political economic implications and the unequal impacts on different groups of people. Current areas of interest include cultures of data science practice, crowdworker labour conditions, and algorithmic bias and transparency.
Stephen Pinfield Professor Stephen Pinfield
s.pinfield@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222649
Room 210
I research scholarly communication, digital information resources management, and information-related policies in organisations. I work at the intersection between technology deployment, organisational policy development, and cultural practices.
Paul 2019 Dr Paul Reilly
p.j.reilly@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222647
Room 235
My research focuses on three key areas of online political communication: (1) the use of social media by citizens to create and share acts of sousveillance (inverse surveillance); (2) the ways in which digital media can be used to crowdsource crisis information; and (3) the use of new media to reduce sectarian tensions and promote better community relations in divided societies such as Northern Ireland.

PhD Researchers

woman Anas Alsuhaibani    I am investigating the role of social media in supporting international students transition to study in the UK.
woman

Penny CS Andrews

I am researching the control of workflows and data flows in institutional repositories and academic social networks, with further interests in internet culture, the quantification of work and digital research methods.
woman Bethany Aylward
bmaylward1@sheffield.ac.uk
woman Alexandra Boutopoulou
aboutopoulou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 323
I am researching the use of social media images to better understand Food Safety Cultures.
woman Xiaoli Chen
xchen74@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching the opportunity and principles for research digital libraries to engage the High Energy Physics community in Open Science practices
woman Skina Ehdeed (Sukaina)
smtehdeed1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 318
I am researching the impact of social media on Information dissemination and the influence of social media on shaping Libyans' attitudes towards 17 Feb revolution and its aftermaths.
Paul Fenn Paul Fenn
p.fenn@sheffield.ac.uk
woman Jenny Hayes
JHayes4@sheffield.ac.uk
woman Rosie Higman
poa06rh@sheffield.ac.uk
woman Emily Nunn
ebnunn1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am investigating the impact of open access to medical and educational research outside academia.
woman Itzelle Medina Perea
iamedinaperea1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching the life of patients' personal data in the health care sector.
man

Lee Pretlove
ljpretlove1@sheffield.ac.uk

I am researching the long-term value and preservation of parkrunners' self-tracking fitness data from the perspectives of the parkrunner, self-tracking device manufacturers and archival institutions.
man Jun Zhang
jzhang49@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching an integrated smart transportation system in China.