Research Group Members

Academic Staff

Sheila Webber Sheila Webber
Head of Group
s.webber@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 22 22641
Room 212
I research information and information behaviour in contexts such as different disciplines, different educational levels, different countries and cultures, different lifestages, and in the context of both physical and virtual environments.
Briony Birdi Dr Briony Birdi
b.birdi@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 22 22653
Room 305
I research reading and the promotion of literature and reading, particularly of minority ethnic fiction, as well as public libraries, with an emphasis on social inclusion and diversity, and youth libraries and reading.
Pam McKinney Pam McKinney
p.mckinney@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 22 22650
Room 219
I focus broadly on pedagogy for Information Literacy, and in particular the relationship between Inquiry-based Learning and Information Literacy. I am interested in how learners can be supported in their inquiries through the development of Information Literacy capabilities and how Information Literacy can be taught using Inquiry-based pedagogies.
Stephen Pinfield Professor Stephen Pinfield
s.pinfield@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 22 22649
Room 210
I research scholarly communication, digital information resources management, and information-related policies in organisations. I work at the intersection between technology deployment, organisational policy development, and cultural practices.
Peter Stordy Dr Peter Stordy
peter.stordy@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel:0114 22 22668
Room 220
I conduct research on Internet, digital and information literacies, school and HE pedagogy, Appreciative Inquiry (AI), Inquiry-based Learning (IBL), primary education. learning styles and Personal Development Planning (PDP).

PhD Researchers

man

Marc Bonne
mabonne1@sheffield.ac.uk

I am researching the impact of educational computer games on mathematics anxiety in University students.
woman Jess Elmore
jrelmore2@sheffield.ac.uk
My research is a longitudinal case study of three community ESOL classes that explores the relationship between ESOL learning and the information literacy of participants and its impact on their everyday lives.
man Dan Grace
DPGrace1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am exploring the effect of technology on the public libraries' capacity to promote community resilience.
woman Piyapat Jarusawat
PJarusawat1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching a Lanna information management collaborative model.
woman

Emily Nunn
ebnunn1@sheffield.ac.uk

My research aims to investigate the potential impact of open access publishing outside of academia (focussing on the fields of medicine and education).
woman Evanthia Tramantza
lip12et@sheffield.ac.uk
I am conducting a longitudinal comparative case study of Engineering students' Information Literacy perceptions and needs in the UK and in Greece.
woman Preeyanuch Voravickositt
pvoravickositt1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am looking at understanding the relationship between users' reading attitudes, behaviours and e-books collection management in Thai academic libraries.
man Jon Webster
lip12jmw@sheffield.ac.uk
My research is on the history, development and cultural impact of libraries in the North Riding of Yorkshire 1775-1914.