Physics and astronomy staff

Here you'll find all physics and astronomy staff who are conducting world-class research and, alongside dedicated teaching staff, training our students.

Staff A-Z

A B C D F G H I J K L M O P Q R S T V W Z
Name Role Department Email address Telephone Surname

A

Ahenkora-Duodu, Mr Kingsley University Teaching Associate School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences k.ahenkora-duodu@sheffield.ac.uk A
Anastopoulos, Dr Christos Royal Society University Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences c.anastopoulos@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4523 A

B

Ball, Mr Thomas Helium Liquefier Technician School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences thomas.ball@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3576 B
Banner, Mr David Mechanical Assembly Technician, DUNE Project School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.banner@sheffield.ac.uk B
Bentley, Mr Martin Technical Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.d.bentley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4576 B
Bland, Mr Tom Digital Learning and Student Support Assistant School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences t.bland@sheffield.ac.uk B
Brash, Dr Alistair EPSRC Quantum Technologies Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.brash@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4546 B
Briggs, Mr Julian IT Manager; Sheffield Solar Group School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences julian.briggs@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3516 B
Brown, Miss Charlotte Student Welfare Adviser School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences charlotte.brown@sheffield.ac.uk B
Buckley, Prof Alastair Director of Education School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences alastair.buckley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3597 B

C

Cadby, Professor Ashley Professor of Soft Matter Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.cadby@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4280 C
Campbell, Dr Earl Senior Lecturer in Quantum Computation School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences e.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4288 C
Cartwright, Dr Susan Senior Lecturer in Particle Physics and Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.cartwright@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4572 C
Chakrabarti, Dr Buddhapriya Senior Lecturer in Biological Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences b.chakrabarti@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3764 C
Clark, Professor Jenny Professor of Materials Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences jenny.clark@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3526 C
Clarke, Professor Nigel Professor of Condensed Matter Physics Theory School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences n.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4273 C
Collins, Dr Steve Physics Laboratory Technician School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.collins@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3511 C
Cooper, Mrs Hannah PGR Support Assistant School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences h.j.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4272 C
Costanzo, Professor Davide Professor of Experimental Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.costanzo@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4549 C
Cox, Ms Alison Postgraduate Student Support Advisor School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences alison.cox@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3731 C
Crowther, Professor Paul Professor of Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4291 C

D

Davis, Mr Richard Technical Operations Officer, Departmental Safety Officer (DSO) School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences r.davis@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3744 D
Daw, Professor Ed Professor of Gravitational Waves and Dark Matter Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences e.daw@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4353 D
Dhillon, Professor Vik Professor of Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences vik.dhillon@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4528 D
Dixon, Mr Simon Physics Workshop Deputy Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.d.dixon@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3581 D
Durham, Dr William (Mack) Senior Lecturer in Biological Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences w.m.durham@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4537 D

F

Fletcher, Dr Peter Research Technician School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences peter.fletcher@sheffield.ac.uk F
Fox, Professor Mark Professor of Optical Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences mark.fox@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4527 F

G

Gamble, Mr Trevor Departmental Mechanical Engineer School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences trevor.gamble@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4350 G
Gehring, Professor Gillian Emeritus Professor School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences g.gehring@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4299 G
Goodwin, Professor Simon Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.goodwin@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3585 G
Green, Ms Zoey Laboratory Technician School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences z.green@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4275 G
Greenhough, Ms Sally Research Administrator School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.greenhough@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4351 G

H

Harris, Professor Sarah Professor of Biological Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences sarah.harris@sheffield.ac.uk H
Haughton, Dr Peggy Learning and Teaching Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences p.haughton@sheffield.ac.uk H
Hawkins, Dr Rhoda Senior Lecturer in Biological Physics Theory School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences rhoda.hawkins@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4524 H
Hewitt, Miss Leigh Student Support Officer School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences l.hewitt@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3742 H
Hobbs, Professor Jamie Professor of Experimental Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences jamie.hobbs@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4532 H
Hodgkinson, Dr Mark Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.hodgkinson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3517 H

I

Ibbotson, Ms Lizzie Student Welfare Adviser School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences e.m.ibbotson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3802 I
Inskip, Dr Katherine Senior University Teacher in Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences k.inskip@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4540 I

J

Jackson, Miss Danielle Departmental Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3801 J
Jones, Ms Grace Learning and Teaching Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences grace.jones@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3539 J
Jones, Dr Rhiannon Lecturer in Experimental Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences r.s.jones@sheffield.ac.uk J

K

Kemp-Russell, Mr Paul Senior Development Engineer (ATLAS) School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences p.kemp-russell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3515 K
Kerry, Mr Paul Astrophysics Research/Teaching Technician School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences p.kerry@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3551 K
Knight, Dr Alexander Scientific Officer – Near-Field Optical Spectroscopy Centre School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences alexander.knight@sheffield.ac.uk K
Kok, Professor Pieter Deputy Head of Department School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences p.kok@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3538 K
Krizhanovskii, Professor Dmitry Professor of Condensed Matter Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.krizhanovskii@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4295 K
Kudryavtsev, Professor Vitaly Professor of Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences v.kudryavtsev@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4531 K

L

Lidzey, Professor David Professor of Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.g.lidzey@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3501 L
Littlefair, Professor Stuart Professor of Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.littlefair@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4525 L
Lohwasser, Dr Kristin Senior Lecturer in Experimental Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences k.lohwasser@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4547 L

M

Maisey, Miss Fiona Postgraduate Research Student Support Advisor School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences f.maisey@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3789 M
Makhonin, Dr Maxim Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.makhonin@sheffield.ac.uk M
Mathieson, Mr Ross University Teaching Associate School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences r.a.mathieson@sheffield.ac.uk M
McGuone, Miss Ursula Exams and Quality Officer School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences u.mcguone@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3733 M
Mears, Dr Matt Senior University Teacher in Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.mears@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4289 M
Merrett, Miss Sally Undergraduate Programmes Administrator School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.merrett@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3706 M
Milner, Mrs Julie Undergraduate Student Support Adviser School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences j.milner@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3514 M
Mowbray, Professor David Professor of Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.mowbray@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4561 M
Mullaney, Dr James Director of Recruitment School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences j.mullaney@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3512 M

O

Oliver, Miss Laura Postgraduate Student Support Adviser School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences l.oliver@sheffield.ac.uk O
Ouyang, Dr Yingkai Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences y.ouyang@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3550 O

P

Paling, Professor Sean Honorary Professor School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.m.paling@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4270 P
Parker, Dr Richard Senior Lecturer in Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences r.parker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3560 P
Parnell, Dr Andrew Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.j.parnell@sheffield.ac.uk P
Parsons, Dr Steven STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences s.g.parsons@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3558 P
Pearson, Miss Hayley Programme Administrator School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences h.d.pearson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6513 P

Q

Quinn, Dr Mark Senior University Teacher in Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.quinn@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4574 Q

R

Ramadan, Dr Alex Lecturer in Energy Materials School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.ramadan@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4355 R
Raynor, Miss Rebecca Finance Officer School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences r.j.raynor@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3520 R
Richards, Mr Andrew Systems Support Officer; Sheffield Solar Group School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.c.richards@sheffield.ac.uk R
Rollinson, Miss Angie Deputy Departmental Manager (Operations) School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.rollinson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4360 R

S

Sala, Dr Bianca University Teacher in Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences b.sala@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3542 S
Simms, Mr Mike Admin Officer School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.simms@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4361 S
Skolnick, Professor Maurice Professor of Condensed Matter Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences m.skolnick@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4277 S
Smith, Mr Shaun PCB Assembly Technician, DUNE Project School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences shaun.d.smith@sheffield.ac.uk S
Spooner, Professor Neil Emeritus Professor School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences n.spooner@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 24422 S
Stowell, Dr Patrick Lecturer in Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences p.stowell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3547 S

T

Tadhunter, Professor Clive Professor of Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences c.tadhunter@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4300 T
Tartakovskii, Professor Alexander Near-field Optical Imaging and Spectroscopy Centre Director School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.tartakovskii@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4545 T
Thompson, Professor Lee Professor of Experimental Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences l.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4577 T
Tovey, Professor Dan Professor of Particle Physics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.r.tovey@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3546 T

V

Vickers, Mr Chris Helium Liquefier Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences c.vickers@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4281 V
Vickey, Dr Trevor Reader in Particle Physics and Astrophysics School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences t.vickey@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3509 V

W

Warren, Mrs Angela Project Manager School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.warren@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3598 W
Wee, Ms Amanda Operations Assistant School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.wee@sheffield.ac.uk W
Whittaker, Professor David Professor of Condensed Matter Physics Theory School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3537 W
Whittaker, Mrs Janice Finance Advisor School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences j.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3902 W
Wilson, Professor Luke Head of Department School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences luke.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3532 W
Wong, Mr Alan PCB Assembly Technician, DUNE Project School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences a.wong@sheffield.ac.uk W

Z

Zhang, Dr Dengfeng Research Fellow School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences dengfeng.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk Z