Disability Liaison Officers

What a Disability Liaison Officer (DLO) is, and how to contact yours.

Off

What is a Disability Liaison Officer?

Disability Liaison Officers (DLOs) are members of University staff based in your department who are a designated point of contact for disabled students. Each academic department has at least one, listed below.

Your departmental DLO is a good first point of contact if you have a question about how things work in your department, or how to access additional support. You can contact them if you have a question or concern, particularly if it's related to your department's support or processes.

With your permission, we'll send the DLOs in your academic department(s) information about your disability, and make recommendations around how your department can best support you.

Department contacts

Department Name Job title Email address Phone

Accommodation and Commercial Services

Dominic Tomes

Student Support & Wellbeing Officer 

d.tomes@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 8882

Aerospace Engineering Peter Lomas Learning and Teaching Manager peter.lomas@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7896
Academic Practice & Skills Development Dr Jenny Freeman Maths & Stats Help Centre Manager j.v.freeman@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1749
AMRC Anne Else Learner Support Lead a.else@amrc.co.uk  +44 114 222 9956
Archaeology

Kathryn Goldsack

Alley Bridge-York

Beky Hasnip

Student Support Officer

Faculty Student Experience Adviser

Admissions and Postgraduate Support Manager

k.goldsack@sheffield.ac.uk

a.bridge-york@sheffield.ac.uk

r.hasnip@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 5104

+44 114 222 8056

+44 114 222 2552

Architecture (School of)

Architecture (School of)

Catherine Skelcher

Becky Gray

University Teacher

Learning and Teaching Manager

 ar-tloffice@sheffield.ac.uk 

ar-tloffice@sheffield.ac.uk 

+44 114 222 0305

+44 114 222 0309

Automatic Control and Systems Engineering

Sophie Wykes

Student and Course Support Assistant

acse-support@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 5646

Bioengineering Peter Lomas Learning and Teaching Manager peter.lomas@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7896
Careers and Employability Hub Helen Fauset  Employability Project Officer h.s.fauset@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0965
Chemical and Biological Engineering

Annette Taylor

Ben Pearson

Senior Lecturer

Undergraduate Support Officer

a.f.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk 

ben.pearson@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 9607

+44 114 222 7572

Chemistry Ben Partridge Lecturer b.m.partridge@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 9303
Civil and Structural Engineering Laura Wright Senior Student Support Officer l.wright@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 2570

Clinical Dentistry (School of)

Jennie Young

Josephine Harwood

PA to the Dean & School Administrator

Student Support Officer

dental.studentsupport@sheffield.ac.uk

Clinical Psychology - DClinPsy

Rachel Hill

Clinical Tutor

rachel.hill@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6573

Computer Science

Cassie Charles

Stacey Jaouane

Senior Assessment Officer

Undergraduate Admissions & Student Support Officer

com-teaching@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1800

Department for Lifelong Learning Maria Baldam Student Support & Welfare Assistant m.baldam@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7023
         

East Asian Studies (School of)

Mike Prentice

Clea Carroll

Lecturer in Korean Studies

Learning & Teaching Administrator

mike.prentice@sheffield.ac.uk

clea.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 8417

+44 114 222 8423

Economics Shirley Riley-Lake Student Experience Officer s.riley-lake@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3327
Education (School of) Megan Ayres Senior Student Experience Officer

eduUG@sheffield.ac.uk (UG)

eduPGT@sheffield.ac.uk (PGT)

eduPGR@sheffield.ac.uk (PGR)

+44 114 222 8177
Electronic and Electrical Engineering Neil Powell Academic n.powell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5172
ELTC

June Nelson

Llinos Charles-Williams

Clerical Assistant

Welfare Officer

eltc.studentdisabilitysupport@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1780

English (School of)

Rachel van Duyvenbode

Senior University Teacher english@sheffield.ac.uk  +44 114 222 8482
FCM6100 - Faculty of Health - Research Ethics and Integrity module Bethany Flood PGR Administrative Assistant medicine-pgr@sheffield.ac.uk  +44 114 22 59573
FCS6100 - Faculty of Social Sciences - Research Ethics and Integrity module James Peacock  PGR Support Assistant james.peacock@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0174

Geography

Kate Findlater

Sarah Sanderson

Learning & Teaching Manager

Programmes Assistant

k.m.findlater@sheffield.ac.uk

sarah.bickerstaff@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 7901

+44 114 222 7981

Global Engagement Lizzey Rounding Global Opportunities Co-ordinator e.rounding@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 225 7620
Health and Safety Mark Neile-Eyre Fire Safety Adviser m.neale-eyre@sheffield.ac.uk +44 7902 401519
History

Tehyun Ma

Nicola Black

Lecturer in International History and Senior Tutor

tehyun.ma@sheffield.ac.uk

n.black@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 2558

+44 114 222 2580

Human Communication Sciences

Rachael Duckworth

Ben Rutter

Tracey Pacan

Karzan Hughes

Research Fellow

University Teacher

Team Leader

University Teacher

r.e.duckworth@sheffield.ac.uk

b.rutter@sheffield.ac.uk

t.m.pacan@sheffield.ac.uk

karzan.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk

hss-assessments@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 2623

+44 114 222 2413

+44 114 222 2058

+44 114 215 9035

Information School

Mengdie Zhuang

Emma Vessey

Sarah Vannini

Lecturer

Student Experience Officer

m.zhuang@sheffield.ac.uk

e.vessey@sheffield.ac.uk

s.vannini@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 2662

Infection, Immunity and Cardiovascular Disease Vicky Cottam Administrative Assistant  vicky.cottam@sheffield.ac.uk  +44 114 225 9504
IPA Digital Humanities Institute IPAT07 and IPAT11 Valeria Vitale Lecturer in Digital Humanities v.vitale@sheffield.ac.uk  
IT Services Mark Morley Educational Technologist m.morley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3017
Landscape Helen Morris Learning & Teaching Manager h.morris@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0600
Languages and Cultures (School of) Kat Gardner Student Experience Support Officer k.hutchison@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0632
Law (School of)

Rachel Bolt

Steph Windle

Senior Student Experience Officer

Student Experience Manager

rachel.bolt@sheffield.ac.uk

s.windle@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6706

+44 114 222 6847

Library

Joanne Marsden

Assistive Technology Officer

j.l.marsden@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 7304

Management School

Elenor Bigg

Sophie Banbury

Student Experience Officer

Learning & Teaching Manager

sumsassessmentsupport@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 57171
Materials Science and Engineering Dr. Eddie Cussen Reader in Functional Materials e.j.cussen@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5481
Mathematics and Statistics (School of)

Charlotte Brown

Student Welfare Adviser

charlotte.brown@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 4561

Mechanical Engineering

General Engineering

Rachel Morley

Peter Lomas

Assessment and Feedback Officer

Learning and Teaching Manager

rachel.morley@sheffield.ac.uk

peter.lomas@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 7755

+44 114 222 7896

School of Journalism, Media and Communication

Nicola Daniel

Senior Student Experience Officer

nicola.daniel@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 4253

School of Medicine and Population Health - Undergraduate

Chloe Royles

Lucy Copson-White

Lopa Husain

Student Support Assistant

Student Support Assistant

Academic Lead for Widening Participation

c.n.royles@sheffield.ac.uk

l.copson-white@sheffield.ac.uk

lopa.husain@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 5524

+44 114 222 5576

School of Medicine and Population Health - Postgraduate Research

Paula Blackwell

Dania Kurd

Admissions Administrator medicine-pgr@sheffield.ac.uk  

School of Medicine and Population Health - PGT (Including Dept. of Oncology and Metabolism)

Medical - Academic Unit of Medical Education (AUME)

Dr Carolyn Staton

Neil Chapman

Lecturer

Senior University Teacher

c.a.staton@sheffield.ac.uk

n.r.chapman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 225 9063

+44 114 215 9671

Modern Languages Teaching Centre

Michelle Deakin

Paul Jepson

Student Experience Officer

Support Assistant 

mltc.welfare@sheffield.ac.uk

michelle.deakin@sheffield.ac.uk

p.jepson@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 7148

+44 114 222 4897

Multidisciplinary Engineering Education

Simon Cooke & Lucy Cherrett

Student Support Officers

s.t.cooke@sheffield.ac.uk;

l.cherrett@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 9735

+44 114 222 6163

Music

Louise Cooper

Student Experience Manager 

UG: admin-ugmusic@sheffield.ac.uk 

PGT: admin-pgtmusic@sheffield.ac.uk 

PGR: admin-pgrmusic@sheffield.ac.uk 

+44 114 222 0488

Nursing and Midwifery (School of)

Rachael Duckworth

Ben Rutter

Tracey Pacan

Karzan Hughes

Research Fellow

University Teacher

Team Leader

University Teacher

r.e.duckworth@sheffield.ac.uk

b.rutter@sheffield.ac.uk

t.m.pacan@sheffield.ac.uk

karzan.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk

hss-assessments@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 2623

+44 114 222 2413

+44 114 222 2058

+44 114 215 9035

Orthoptics

Rachael Duckworth

Ben Rutter

Tracey Pacan

Karzan Hughes

Research Fellow

University Teacher

Team Leader

University Teacher

r.e.duckworth@sheffield.ac.uk

b.rutter@sheffield.ac.uk

t.m.pacan@sheffield.ac.uk

karzan.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk

hss-assessments@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 2623

+44 114 222 2413

+44 114 222 2058

+44 114 215 9035

Philosophy Rosanna Keefe Professor r.keefe@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0581
Physics and Astronomy

David Mowbray

Charlotte Brown

Professor of Physics

d.mowbray@sheffield.ac.uk

charlotte.brown@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 4561

Politics

Sarah Moga

Alex Clarke

Bethan Stonehouse

Undergraduate Officer

Learning & Teaching Assistant

s.l.moga@sheffield.ac.uk

a.s.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk

b.stonehouse@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1643

+44 114 222 1648

Psychology Liz Carl Level 2 UG Administrator liz.carl@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6543
Psychology - PSYT53 only Rachel Durance PGT Student Support Officer r.e.durance@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6534

Psychology - PSYT15 and PSYT16

iapt@sheffield.ac.uk

Psychology - PSYT51, PSYT52 and PSYT33 Sarah Barnett CPU Administrator sarah.barnett@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6649
Religion, Theology and the Bible Anne-Marie Frisby Senior Student Support Officer a-m.frisby@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0570
School of Biosciences

Dr Penny Watt

Lucy Deakin

Lecturer

Student Welfare and Engagement Officer

p.j.watt@shef.ac.uk

l.deakin@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 0076

+44 114 222 1097

School of Medicine and Population Health (Population Health)

Janine Harrison

Charlotte Hollins

Learning and Teaching Assistant

Academic Programmes Manager

janine.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk

c.hollins@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 0720

+44 114 222 2998

Science and Engineering Foundation Year Peter Lomas Learning and Teaching Manager peter.lomas@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7896
Sheffield International College

Alex Clarke

Charlotte Nicholson

 

alexclarke@studygroup.com 

cnicholson@studygroup.com

 
Sheffield Methods Institute Karen Bralsford Clerical Officer k.bralsford@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 8398
Sociological Studies Katherine Davies Lecturer in Sociology sociological.studies@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6479
Student Mental Health, Counselling and Therapies Service Helen Richardson Counsellor mentalhealthcounselling@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 4134
Student Recruitment and Admissions

Peter Goodliffe

Kathryn Dawson

Senior UK Recruitment Officer

Student Recruitment Administrator

p.goodliffe@sheffield.ac.uk

k.s.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1297

+44 114 222 1232

Student Recruitment and Admissions

Student Recruitment and Admissions

Lucy Denton

Lauren Waller

Widening Participation Officer (Post-16 Engagement)

Widening Participation Officer (Pre-16 Engagement)

l.denton@sheffield.ac.uk

lauren.waller@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 1029

+44 114 222 9166

University Health Service

Kate Sleeman

UHS Secretary 

 uhs.secretary@nhs.net

+44 114 222 22128

Urban Studies and Planning Tom Wright Student Experience Officer tom.wright@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6917