Astrophysics group members

On this page you can find contact details and publication lists for members of the Astrophysics research group.

On

Academic staff

Name Publications (via ADS)
Professor Paul Crowther Refereed All
Professor Vik Dhillon Refereed All
Professor Simon Goodwin Refereed All
Dr Katherine Inskip Refereed All
Dr Stuart Littlefair Refereed All
Dr Justyn Maund Refereed All
Dr James Mullaney Refereed All
Dr Richard Parker Refereed All
Dr Steven Parsons Refereed All
Professor Clive Tadhunter Refereed All

Research fellows and postdoctoral staff

Name Position Telephone Room Email address Publications (via ADS)
Dr Emmanuel Bernhard Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24536 E13b e.p.bernhard@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Joachim Bestenlehner Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 23564 E13b j.m.bestenlehner@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Martin Dyer Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24541 E13b martin.dyer@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Ning-Chen Sun Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24536 E13b n.sun@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All

Postgraduate students

Name Funder Telephone Room Email address
Dr Suraiya Akter University of Sheffield +44 (0)114 22 24278 F21 sakter1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Alex Brown University of Sheffield +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 ajbrown2@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr James Bruten University of Sheffield +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 jrbruten1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Umar Burhanudin Royal Society +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 ufburhanudin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mrs Emma Daffern-Powell Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 ecdaffern1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Liam Grimmett University of Sheffield +44 (0)114 22 24278 F21 lpgrimmett1@sheffield.ac.uk
Miss Rebecca Houghton Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 rhoughton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Lydia Makrygianni University of Sheffield +44 (0)114 22 24278 F21 lmakrygianni1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Jonny Pierce Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 24278 F21 jcspierce1@sheffield.ac.uk
Miss Gemma Rate Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 24278 F21 garate1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Christina Schoettler Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 cschoettler1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Katie Tehrani Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 24278 F21 k.tehrani@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr James Wild Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 jwild2@sheffield.ac.uk

Support staff

Name Publications (via ADS)
Mr Paul Kerry All

Visiting / honorary staff members

Name Position Telephone Room Email address Publications (via ADS)
Dr Evan Keane Advanced Visiting Fellow     e.keane@skatelescope.org  
Dr Seungkyung Oh Visiting Researcher     s.oh@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Professor Andy Pollock Honorary Professor +44 (0)114 22 24536 E13b a.m.pollock@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Dave Sahman Honorary Researcher +44 (0)114 22 24541 E13b david.sahman@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Simon Tulloch Visiting Researcher     smt@qucam.com Refereed

Recent group members

Name Publications (via ADS)
Ms Rebecca Arnold  
Dr Patricia Bessiere Refereed All
Dr Saida Caballero-Nieves Refereed All
Dr Emile Doran Refereed All
Dr Claire Esau Refereed All
Dr Daniel Griffiths  
Dr Liam Hardy Refereed All
Dr Pawel Lee  
Dr Martin McAllister Refereed All
Ms Rhana Nicholson Refereed All
Dr Cristina Ramos Almeida Refereed All
Mr Somsawat Rattanasoon  
Dr Krisada Rawiraswattana Refereed All
Dr Marvin Rose Refereed All
Dr Chris Rosslowe Refereed All
Mr Francesco Santoro Refereed All
Dr Robert Spence  
Ms Heloise Stevance  
Dr Darren White Refereed All

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.