Astrophysics group members

On this page you can find contact details and publication lists for members of the Astrophysics research group.

On

Academic staff

Name Publications (via ADS)
Professor Paul Crowther Refereed All
Professor Vik Dhillon Refereed All
Professor Simon Goodwin Refereed All
Dr Katherine Inskip Refereed All
Dr Stuart Littlefair Refereed All
Dr Justyn Maund Refereed All
Dr James Mullaney Refereed All
Dr Richard Parker Refereed All
Dr Steven Parsons Refereed All
Professor Clive Tadhunter Refereed All

Research fellows and postdoctoral staff

Name Position Telephone Room Email address Publications (via ADS)
Dr Joachim Bestenlehner Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 23564 E13b j.m.bestenlehner@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Martin Dyer Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24541 E13b martin.dyer@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Mr Joseph Eatson Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24541 E13b j.w.eatson@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Mark Hollands Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24536 E13b m.hollands@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Ning-Chen Sun Postdoctoral Research Associate +44 (0)114 22 24536 E13b n.sun@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All

Postgraduate students

Name Funder Telephone Room Email address
Mr Thaer Alkousa   +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 talkousa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr George Blaylock-Squibbs Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 gablaylock-squibbs1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Alex Brown University of Sheffield +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 ajbrown2@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr James Garbutt   +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 jagarbutt1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Luke Holden Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 lholden2@sheffield.ac.uk
Miss Rebecca Houghton Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 rhoughton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Dustin Mason   +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 dmason3@sheffield.ac.uk
Miss Summer McLaughlin Science and Technology Facilities Council +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 sajmclaughlin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Adam Singleton   +44 (0)114 22 23504 E18 ajsingleton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr James Wild Science and Technology Facilities Council N/A N/A jwild2@sheffield.ac.uk

Support staff

Name Publications (via ADS)
Mr Paul Kerry All

Visiting / honorary staff members

Name Position Telephone Room Email address Publications (via ADS)
Dr Evan Keane Advanced Visiting Fellow     e.keane@skatelescope.org  
Professor Andy Pollock Honorary Professor +44 (0)114 22 24536 E13b a.m.pollock@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Dave Sahman Honorary Researcher +44 (0)114 22 24541 E13b david.sahman@sheffield.ac.uk Refereed All
Dr Simon Tulloch Visiting Researcher     smt@qucam.com Refereed

Recent group members

Name Publications (via ADS)
Dr Suraiya Akter  
Ms Rebecca Arnold Refereed All
Dr Emmanuel Bernhard  
Dr Patricia Bessiere Refereed All
Mr James Bruten  
Mr Umar Burhanudin  
Dr Saida Caballero-Nieves Refereed All
Mrs Emma Daffern-Powell  
Dr Emile Doran Refereed All
Dr Claire Esau Refereed All
Dr Daniel Griffiths Refereed All
Mr Liam Grimmett Refereed All
Dr Liam Hardy Refereed All
Dr Pawel Lee  
Ms Lydia Makrygianni  
Dr Martin McAllister Refereed All
Ms Rhana Nicholson Refereed All
Mr Jonny Pierce  
Dr Cristina Ramos Almeida Refereed All
Miss Gemma Rate Refereed All
Mr Somsawat Rattanasoon Refereed All
Dr Krisada Rawiraswattana Refereed All
Dr Marvin Rose Refereed All
Dr Chris Rosslowe Refereed All
Mr Francesco Santoro Refereed All
Ms Christina Schoettler  
Dr Robert Spence Refereed All
Ms Heloise Stevance Refereed All
Ms Katie Tehrani Refereed All
Dr Darren White Refereed All
REF 2021 illustration

Research Excellence Framework 2021

We have been rated 1st in the UK in terms of the quality of our research. In the latest REF, 100 per cent of research and impact from our department has been classed as world-leading or internationally excellent.

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.