Welcome to the REPOSE study website

REPOSE: The Relative Effectiveness of Pumps over MDI and Structured Education for Type-1 diabetes

The REPOSE study is a multicentre randomised controlled trial comparing optimised multiple insulin injections (MDI) therapy (using rapid and twice daily long-acting insulin analogues) with CSII (pump therapy) in adult type-1 diabetic patients provided with high quality structured education (Dose Adjustment for Normal Eating-DAFNE).

Insulin is generally administered by multiple injections (MDI) with the dose adjusted according to eating and exercise. Insulin can now also be administered using a pump (CSII), which is a device, roughly the size of a mobile phone and containing sufficient insulin to supply both the needs of basal metabolism throughout the  day, and the boluses which have to cover meals. The use of CSII is expensive compared to injections, but   there are important potential benefits which include improved glycaemic control, reduced risk of hypoglycaemia (low blood sugar) and a more flexible lifestyle and better quality of life. There have been no trials in adults that have compared CSII treatment with MDI where the same structured training in intensive insulin therapy has been given, so the precise benefit of the pump technology is still unclear.

The REPOSE trial aims to establish the added benefit of insulin pump therapy MDI on glycaemic control and hypoglycaemia in individuals with Type 1 diabetes receiving similar high quality structured training in insulin therapy (DAFNE).

The study is now complete. To find out more about the results of the study, please use the links below to access our publications:

http://www.bmj.com/content/356/bmj.j1285

https://www.journalslibrary.nihr.ac.uk/hta/hta21200/#/abstract


Project Staff

Name Site Telephone number Email
Simon Heller
Chief Investigator
School of Medicine,
University of Sheffield
+44 (0)114 271 3204 s.heller@sheffield.ac.uk
Cindy Cooper
Director of CTRU
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20743 c.l.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk
Diana Papaioannou
Research Fellow
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20766 d.papaioannou@sheffield.ac.uk
David White
Trial Manager
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20807 d.a.white@sheffield.ac.uk
Gemma Hackney
Research Assistant
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 24320 g.hackney@sheffield.ac.uk
Lucy Carr
Trials Support Officer
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20866 lucy.carr@sheffield.ac.uk
Tim Chater
Data Manager
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20876 t.chater@sheffield.ac.uk
Kirsty Pemberton
Data Officer
ScHARR +44 (0) 114 22 20861 k.j.pemberton@sheffield.ac.uk
Mike Campbell
Statistician
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20839 m.j.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk
Munyaradzi Dimairo
Statistician
ScHARR +44 (0) 114 222 5204 m.dimairo@sheffield.ac.uk
Simon Dixon
Professor of Health Economics
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20724 s.dixon@sheffield.ac.uk
Hasan Basarir
Health Economist
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 26397 h.basarir@sheffield.ac.uk
Alan Brennan
Professor of Health Economics and Decisions Modelling
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 20684 a.brennan@sheffield.ac.uk
Jen Kruger
Health Economist
ScHARR +44 (0)114 22 25207 j.kruger@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kath Barnard
Psychosocial Quantitative Research Fellow
University of Southampton + 44 (0) 2380 595548 K.Barnard@soton.ac.uk
Dr Julia Lawton
Qualitative Psychosocial Research Fellow
University of Edinburgh +44 (0) 1316 506197 j.lawton@ed.ac.uk
Professor Norman Waugh
Deputy Chief Investigator
University of Warwick norman.waugh@warwick.ac.uk
Gill Thompson
National DAFNE director
Central DAFNE +44 (0) 1912 934023 gillian.thompson@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk


Participating Centres

Centre name
Principal Investigator Educators- DSNs and dieticians
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Simon Heller
Co-investigator: Jackie Elliott
Carolin Taylor
Carla Gianfrancesco
Valerie Gordon
Val Nayor
Karen Towse
Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge Mark Evans
Co-investigator: Leila Faghahati
Candice Ward
Sara Hartnell
Sarah Donald
Katy Davenport
Kulbir Kaur Pabla
Jane Baillie
Karen Callaby
Helen Davies
Harrogate District Hospital Peter Hammond
Co-investigator: Sutapa Ray
Janet Carling
Joyce Lodge
Laura Dinning
King’s College Hospital, London Stephanie Amiel
Co-investigator: Pratik Choudhary
Anita Beckwith
Helen Rogers
Chris Cheyette
Vicky Deprez
Alison Cox
Philippa Marks
Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary

Fiona Green
Co-investigator: Muna Mohammed

Pam Young
Sheena McDonald
Katy Valentine
Glasgow Royal Infirmary Robert Lindsay
Co-investigator: Brian Kennon
Janice Shepherd
Ann Boal
Bernadette Quinn
Emma Gibb
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh Alan Jaap
Co-investigator: Alan Patrick

Alyson Hutchison
Debbie Anderson
Lindsay Aniello
Vida Heaney

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Peter Mansell
Co-investigator: Tasso Gazis

Nicola Maude
Janet Evans
Gayna Babington

Sheffield School of Health and Related Research
University of Sheffield
30 Regent Court
Sheffield
S1 4DA

Tel: +44 (0)114 2225454
Fax: +44(0)114 2724095