Academic staff

Contact details for academic members of staff in the School of Languages and Cultures.


School-Wide Roles

Name

Role

Phone

Email

Prof Jan Windebank Head of School +44 114 222 4888 j.windebank@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Julia Dobson Deputy Head of School +44 114 222 2877 j.dobson@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Neil Bermel Director of Postgraduate Research (Autumn semester 2018) +44 114 222 7405 n.bermel@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Hayley Rabanal Director of Postgraduate Research (Spring semester 2019) +44 114 222 0545 h.rabanal@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Julia Banwell Director of MA Studies +44 114 222 0542 j.banwell@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Jane Woodin Director of Learning and Teaching +44 114 222 0635 j.woodin@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Audrey Small Director of Student Experience  +44 114 222 2869 a.small@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr David McCallam Admissions Tutor +44 114 222 2860 d.mccallam@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Adam Fergus Deputy Admissions Tutor +44 114 222 7412 a.fergus@sheffield.ac.uk
Sandra Henry School Manager +44 114 222 8454 s.henry@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Seán Williams Impact & Engagement Lead +44 114 222 4907 s.m.williams@sheffield.ac.uk

French and Francophone Studies

Academic and Research Staff

Name

Phone

Email

Dr Christine Baycroft +44 114 222 4895 c.baycroft@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Crawley Jackson +44 114 222 2882 a.j.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Julia Dobson +44 114 222 2877 j.dobson@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Maxime Goergen (Year Abroad lead Semester 2) +44 114 222 2157 maxime.goergen@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr David McCallam  +44 114 222 2860 d.mccallam@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Wendy Michallat +44 114 222 2879 w.michallat@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Audrey Small (Subject Director)   a.small@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Sophie Watt (Subject Director) +44 114 222 2883 s.watt@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Jan Windebank (Head of School of Languages and Cultures) +44 114 222 4888 j.windebank@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Karine Zbinden +44 114 222 2865 k.zbinden@sheffield.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Peter Ainsworth   p.f.ainsworth@sheffield.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Penny Eley   p.eley@sheffield.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor David Walker   david.walker@Sheffield.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor David Williams   d.williams@sheffield.ac.uk

 Postgraduate Students

Name

Thesis Title

Email

Joshua Bengough-Smith   JSJBengough-Smith1@sheffield.ac.uk
Martin Elms   MElms1@sheffield.ac.uk
Becky Herd   raherd1@shef.ac.uk
Harriet Orkney 'The neoliberal order and the concept of Debt, Three Case Studies: Haiti, Chad and Ivory Coast' HROrkney1@sheffield.ac.uk
Maryam Shams

'The evolution of media coverage practices in conflicts: France in Chad (1968-2014), an exemplary case study'

MShams1@sheffield.ac.uk
Katy Stewart   katy.stewart@sheffield.ac.uk
Amanda Tavares 'Contemporary Art, Women and the Mediterranean' atavares1@sheffield.ac.uk
Harsh Trivedi   HTrivedi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Liz Trueman   LETrueman1@sheffield.ac.uk

Germanic Studies

Academic and Research Staff

Name Role Phone Email
Franziska Auer Austrian Lektor (OeAD)  

f.auer@sheffield.ac.uk

Marielle Bachmann DAAD-Language Assistant in German   m.bachmann@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr John Bellamy Honorary Research Fellow   jpb90@cam.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Bland Senior Lecturer in German, Subject Director (semester 1) +44 114 22 24592 c.bland@sheffield.ac.uk
Yasemin Cigiltepe DAAD Lector in German   Y.Cigiltepe@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Henk de Berg Professor of German, Subject Director (semester 2) +44 114 22 24881 h.de.berg@Sheffield.ac.uk
Filip De Ceuster Teaching Assistant for Dutch +44 114 2224908 f.deceuster@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Anna P. H. Geurts Honorary Research Fellow in Dutch Studies +44 114 22 24908 a.geurts@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Giles Harrington Teaching Associate in German +44 114 22 22153 g.e.harrington@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kristine Horner Reader in Luxembourg Studies & Multilingualism, Director of the Centre for Luxembourg Studies +44 114 22 24909 k.horner@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Henriette Louwerse Senior Lecturer in Dutch, Director of Dutch Studies, Director of Centre for Dutch and Flemish Studies  +44 114 22 24387 h.louwerse@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Elisa Müller-Adams Honorary Research Fellow   e.mueller-adams@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Gerald Newton Emeritus Professor of German   g.newton@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Michael Perraudin Emeritus Professor of German   m.f.perraudin@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Peter Thompson Reader Emeritus in German   p.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Seán Williams  Lecturer in German and European Cultural History +44 114 22 24907 s.m.williams@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Roel Vismans Professor in Dutch Studies +44 114 22 24919 r.vismans@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Wormald Honorary Research Fellow   a.wormald@sheffield.ac.uk

Tutors and Postgraduate Students

Name

Role

Email

Dr Cyd Sturgess Tutor for Dutch Literature c.sturgess@shef.ac.uk
Sarah Muller Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor in Luxembourg Studies smmuller1@shef.ac.uk
Jade Johnson Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor for German jmjohnson1@shef.ac.uk
Rory Hanna Tutor for German r.hanna@sheffield.ac.uk
Katherine Calvert Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor for German kecalvert1@shef.ac.uk
Ben Lewis Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor for German ben.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Watson Tutor for German and Dutch j.r.watson@sheffield.ac.uk

Spanish, Catalan, Portuguese and Latin American Studies

Academic and Teaching Staff

Name

 Role

Email

Dr. Julia Banwell Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies; Director of MA Studies j.banwell@sheffield.ac.uk 
Nashy Bonelli Spanish Language Teacher n.bonelli@sheffield.ac.uk
Sonia Buckland Portuguese Language Teacher sonia.buckland@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Rhian Davies Senior Lecturer rhian.davies@sheffield.ac.uk
Isaac Xubín Fernandez Spanish Teaching Fellow i.fernandez@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Louise Johnson Reader in Catalan and Spanish; Director of Catalan Studies; Faculty Lead for Postgraduate Affairs p.l.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk
Diana Mesa Torres Spanish Language Teacher d.mesa-torres@sheffield.ac.uk
Manus O'Dwyer Spanish Teaching Fellow m.odwyer@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Paul O'Neill Subject Director, Senior Lecturer in Linguistics; L3 Language Coordinator; Outreach officer paul.oneill@sheffield.ac.uk
María José Puig Senior Spanish Language Teacher m.j.puig@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Hayley Rabanal Lecturer in Spanish Studies; Level 1 coordinator, Graduate Tutor h.rabanal@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Carmen Ramos Villar Senior Lecturer; Head of Portuguese c.ramosvillar@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Lauren Rea Senior Lecturer; AHRC Leadership Fellow 2016-19 l.rea@sheffield.ac.uk
Pol Masdeu Canellas  Catalan Instructor p.masdeu@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Philip Swanson Hughes Professor of Spanish, Director of Research and Innovation for the School of Languages and Cultures p.swanson@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor David Wood Professor of Latin American Studies david.wood@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Peter Watt Lecturer; Year Abroad Tutor p.watt@sheffield.ac.uk

 Associated Staff

Name

Role

Email
Dr R.K. Britton Honorary Senior Research Fellow  
Dr J. P. England

Retired Senior Lecturer

j.p.england@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Tony Trippett Honorary Research Fellow a.m.trippett@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Toni Ibarz Division of Adult and Continuing Education a.ibarz@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Geoffrey Ribbans Honorary Professor  
Emeritus Professor Nicholas Round   n.g.round@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Robin Warner Honorary Research Fellow i.r.warner@sheffield.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Alan Yates Emeritus Professor of Catalan Studies  
Dr Paul Jordan   p.r.jordan@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Philip Deacon Emeritus Professor p.deacon@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Rhiannon McGlade Honorary Research Fellow rhiannonmcglade@gmail.com
Dr Pascale Baker Honorary Research Fellow pascale.baker@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Anna Vives Honorary Research Fellow a.vives@sheffield.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name Thesis Title Email
Ruth Littlewood 'Life Writing by Female Political Prisoners During the Spanish Civil War and Early Franquismo' rlittlewood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Andrew Frank Bradley   afbradley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Deborah Madden Writing Republics: Women’s Writing in Early Twentieth-Century Spain and Portugal d.madden@sheffield.ac.uk
Valentina Caruso 'Revisiting and rethinking the novel of The Land: Mining and Latin American Fiction' vcaruso2@sheffield.ac.uk
Pete Watson   pjwatson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rupert Knox   rsknox1@sheffield.ac.uk

Russian and Slavonic Studies

Teaching and Research Staff

Name

Role

Phone

Email

Professor Neil Bermel Professor of Russian and Slavonic Studies +44 114 222 7405 n.bermel@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Craig Brandist Professor of Cultural Theory and Intellectual History 44 114 222 7413 c.s.brandist@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Evgeny Dobrenko Professor of Russian, Year Abroad lead (semester 2) +44 114 222 7402 e.dobrenko@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Adam Fergus Subject Director, University Teacher (Russian), Year Abroad lead (semester 1) +44 114 222 7412 a.fergus@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Luděk Knittl University Teacher (Czech); Director of Czech and Polish Studies, MLTC iaison for Polish +44 114 222 7409 l.knittl@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Liudmila Nedialkova University Teacher (Russian); Erasmus coordinator +44 114 222 7403 l.nedialkova@sheffield.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

Name

Research Topic

Email
Raphaëlle Auclert Forging the Enemy in Soviet Fiction and Press. 1945-1985. Political and Cultural Aspects. rup11rma@sheffield.ac.uk
Jaroslaw Jozefowski An empirical study of the middle voice in Polish jjjozefowski1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fadhel Shalal -ka suffixed words in Russian (completed in 2018) fashalal1@sheffield.ac.uk
Julija Sipailaite Orientalism in Post-Soviet Russian Literature jsipailaite1@sheffield.ac.uk

 Associated Staff

Name

Position

Email

Dr Robert Collis Honorary Research Fellow  
Mr Nigel Gotteri Honorary Senior Lecturer n.gotteri@sheffield.ac.uk

Translation and Intercultural Studies

Primary Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Lena Hamaidia Head of Translation and Intercultural Communication Studies (MATRiCS), Programme Leader for MATS and MAST l.hamaidia@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Jane Woodin Director of Learning and Teaching, Programme Leader for MAIC and MAICID j.woodin@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Núria Massot Programme Leader for MIM n.massot@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Nicole Baumgarten Lecturer in Translation and Intercultural Communication Studies  n.baumgarten@sheffield.ac.uk

MA Tutors

Name Area Email
Alessia Brighi Ethnography a.brighi@sheffield.ac.uk
Lily Chen English to Chinese Translation lili.chen@sheffield.ac.uk
French Studies French to English Translation  
Russian and Slavonic Studies Russian, Polish and Czech Translation  

 Research Students

Name Research topic Email
Nahed Arafat The impact of language and culture on Improving Access to Psychological therapy (IAPT) for Black & Minority Ethnic (BME) patients in Sheffield NMArafat1@sheffield.ac.uk
Melina Bangert Higher education and the experiences of female BME students at university ldp10pmb@sheffield.ac.uk
Israel Escobar Orthographic-Integration model for computer processing of Nahuatl jiescobarfarfan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rob Fritz The development of the intercultural communicative competence of Japanese university students refritz1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kirsty Hemsworth Comparative analysis of contemporary American works of 9/11 fiction and their corresponding translation intro French, with a view to challenging and refiguring the polarised concepts of Self and Other that underpin much current translation theory kahemsworth1@sheffield.ac.uk

Associates

Name Role
Marta Pahisa Translation and Localisation Specialist