Equality and Diversity

Gender Bronze AwardThe Department of Archaeology holds a Bronze Athena SWAN award in recognition of its work to support equality and diversity.

The Athena SWAN Charter was first established to encourage and recognize commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM). It was later expanded to address gender inequality and under representation in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

In 2013, the Archaeology Department took part in the Gender Equality Charter Mark pilot that expanded the scheme beyond STEMM subjects, and we successfully achieved our first award in 2014. We reapplied for our award under the new expanded charter in 2018 and were awarded another Bronze Award.

Our 2018 Bronze Award recognises the department's achievements over the last three years to address gender inequality and promote inclusivity. It also reflects our commitment to the principles of the expanded charter which now includes professional and support staff and trans staff and students. Our award recognises our commitment to actions that will continue to improve the representation, progression and success of staff and students regardless of gender.

Head of Department, Dawn Hadley, commented on achieving the Bronze Award:

"I am absolutely delighted to receive the news that the Department of Archaeology has achieved a Bronze Athena SWAN award again in 2018. It reflects the hard work that goes on to realise our commitment to diversity and inclusion in all our endeavours, and our belief that a diverse staff and student community benefits everyone. We are incredibly proud of this achievement."

Students in the laboratory

Support for Students and Staff

For a list of support services and support networks available to staff and students please click here
Please feel free to share any questions, experiences or feedback with our Equality and Diversity Committee by emailing Lizzy Craig-Atkins (chair) on e.craig-atkins@sheffield.ac.uk, or via your student reps.

Students in a class

"A number of individuals within the department are strong role models and leaders in promoting inclusivity" - 

Comment from a recent student survey

Our Recent Activity

The department is very proud of the achievements we have made since 2014 to ensure we embed a culture of inclusivity in all our activities. Our Equality and Diversity committee meets every semester, and comprises both staff and students. We generate and explore data to inform our understanding of equality issues in the department, advise managerial committees related to teaching, research and departmental processes, and provide advocacy for our community to ensure inclusivity remains a high priority. We have also taken a lead in delivery of our Athena SWAN action plan.

Our staff community includes equal numbers of male and female professors – a very different picture than the staff sector as a whole, where males still outnumber females in senior roles by almost two to one. We also recruit male and female undergraduates in comparable numbers. We also aim to ensure everyone is treated fairly and according to their individual needs, regardless of individual characteristics such as age, gender, sexual orientation, religion, ethnicity nationality, experience of disability (physical and mental health), familial, parental or caring status.

Image of Equality & Diversity Committee Members

Our E&D committee reports to the Faculty of Arts and Humanities Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee and has contributed to a range of initiatives that are shared with all via their web site. These include good practice guidelines, a range of projects and activities, work on unconscious bias in employment and curricula and projects to explore the experiences of staff and students from black, Asian and minority ethnic backgrounds.

For more information on the Equality Challenge Unit, visit www.ecu.ac.uk
For more information about Equality and Diversity at the University of Sheffield, visit https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/hr/equality

The Department of Archaeology Equality & Diversity Committee. From top right; Emily La Trobe-Bateman (PGR rep), Lizzy Craig-Atkins (Chair), Paul Johnson, Zifan Jiang (UG rep), Michael Wallace, Stella Drezgacheva (MA/MSc rep), John Moreland, Natalie Barks.