Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

The department is committed to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (ED&I). Our aim is to build an inclusive community that actively attracts a diverse range of people and supports staff and students to achieve their potential.

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

We believe that diversity in all its forms delivers greater impact in our research and teaching and enhances the experience of our students. Our main focus is to increase the proportion of female engineers, addressing the current drastic under-representation. Read The Faculty of Engineering's commitment in full.

Athena Swan

We work incredibly hard for Athena Swan status and have achieved silver and we continue to work towards ensuring female engineers have the maximum opportunity to advance in their career. Read our submission

ED&I Team

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Dr Rachel Smith is the Director of the ED&I Team and welcomes you to get in touch.


Committee members

Rachel Smith (Chair), Alisyn Nedoma, Alison Nwokeoji, Annette Taylor, Caroline Evans, Charlotte Osborne, Calum Clenahan, Despina Azadi, Elinor Noble, Joan Cordiner, Jim Litster, Julie Swales, Kye Robinson, Laura Maltman, Mario Dorna, Nick Childs (Secretary), Olumide Olumayegun, Philip Strafford, Pamela O’Neill, Usman Younis, Rachel Lowe, Joquan Monrose-Dwyer, Linda Kotta, Harris Arshad, Brant Walkley, Tracey McNeilly.