Academic Staff

Name  Post  Contact  Interests 
Allen, Professor Ray Professor of 4CU, Chairman of Curriculum Committee. 

r.w.k.allen@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 222 7600

Room F53

Environmental engineering, green chemical processes the hydrogen economy and Carbon Dioxide Utilization (CDU).
Allum, Mr Stephen Senior University Teacher, Course Director MSc Process Safety and Loss Prevention.

s.allum@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 222 9606

Room D23

Major Hazard Management, Process Safety, Major Accidents to the Environment.
Biggs, Professor Catherine Professor of Environmental Engineering

c.biggs@sheffield.ac.uk

T: +44 (0)114 222 7571

Room F59

Biofilms – using a multidisciplinary approach for characterisation and control of bacterial adhesion and aggregation.Microbiology in urban water systems – using advancecd molecular microbiological techniques to determine who is there, what are they doing and what is the engineering impact.
Brown, Dr Solomon Lecturer, Research Centre Assistant Director: CDT Energy Storage, Engineering Interdisciplinary Programmes Co-ordinator (MEE) 

s.f.brown@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7597

Room G16

Modelling of multiphase flows, hazard modelling, uncertainty quantification, development of numerical techniques for PDEs.
Considine, Professor Mike  Chair in Process Safety & Loss Prevention.

m.considine@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7573

Room D24

Major Hazard Management, Process Safety.
Cumming, Dr Denis  Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Deputy Director Student Support, PGR Progression Tutor. 

d.cumming@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 6909

Room G18

Electrode design development, Infiltration, mixed conducting ceramics for functional devices, 3D microscopy using advanced tomographic techniques. 
Dickman, Dr Mark  Personal Chair, Director of Research, Chair of Research Committtee. 

m.dickman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7541

Room D54

Biological mass spectrometry, Bioseparations, Post-translational and post-transcriptional modifications, Proteomics, CRISPR systems.
Dunbar, Dr Alan  Senior Lecturer, Assistant Faculty Director of Learning and Teaching (Student Experience).

a.dunbar@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7551

Room G56

Polymer Based Solar Cells, Experimental techniques to characterise nano-scale phase separation in polymers, Thin film toxic gas sensors, Electrical properties of nano-structured systems.
Ebbens, Dr Stephen Lecturer, UG Year Tutor: Year 2. 

s.ebbens@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 222 7589

Room F62a

Nanoswimming Devices, Polymers, Microscopy, Surface Analysis and Modification.
Falconer, Dr Robert  Senior Lecturer, Impact Champion, Engineering Interdisciplinary Programmes Co-ordinator (Boeing). 

r.j.falconer@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 8253

Room G52

Protein stability and formulation, Interaction between proteins, water and small molecules, Spectroscopy technology especially Terahertz time domain and far-infrared spectroscopy. 
Hall, Professor Peter Chair of Chemical Engineering.

peter.hall@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 8251

Kroto S13

Heslop, Dr Mark  Senior University Teacher; Diamond Champion.

m.j.heslop@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7601

Measurement of adsorption, Measurement of small changes in flow rate, Development of detectors for detection of flow rate and composition. 
Hounslow, Professor Mike Vice President - Head of Faculty (Engineering). 

m.j.hounslow@sheffield.ac.uk

+44(0)114 222 7565

The Faculty of Engineering Room D140

Crystallisation, Granulation, Population Balance Modelling. 
Howse, Dr Jonathan  Reader, Deputy Head of the Engineering Graduate School, UG Year Tutors: Year 1. 

j.r.howse@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7596

Room F56

Nanoswimmers, Understanding Spin-Coating, Polymer Vesicle Formation,Phase separation in polymer blends. 
James, Professor David  Professor of Systems Biology, Research Centre Director ABC. 

d.c.james@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7505

Room D62 

Production of high-value therapeutic recombinant protein biopharmaceuticals. Systems Biotechnology for Rational Bioprocess Engineering.
Jensen Dr Henriette Lecturer, PGT Course Director: EEE, EEWIM.

h.s.jensen@sheffield.ac.uk

 +44 (0)114 222 8254

Room B54

Sewer process modelling, Hydrogen sulphide induced corrosion, Microbial ecology in urban water systems.
Karunakaran, Dr Esther Lecturer.

e.karunakaran@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7166

Room G16

Biofilms, Antimicrobial resistance, Wastewater microbiology, Synthetic biology in cyanobacteria.
Kotta, Dr Linda  Senior University Teacher, Examination Officer. 

l.kotta@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7649

Room F56

Engineering design as the integrating principle in engineering education. This includes its positioning in the curriculum, its delivery as a pedagogic model and the associated evaluative criteria.
Litster, Professor Jim Head of Department, Chair of Safety Committee. 

james.litster@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 27592

Room F59a

Predicting the structure of complex particulate products and their performance in use is a grand challenge in engineering science.
MacInnes, Dr Jordan Senior Lecturer, UG Year Tutor: Year 3 and Foundation Year. 

j.m.macinnes@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7511

Room E28

Microfluidic devices for analysis, synthesis and measurement, Efficient separation processes, Transport of momentum, species and heat. 
McGregor, Dr James  Senior Lecturer, Director of Recruitment. 

james.mcgregor@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 4918

Room G58 

Heterogeneous Catalysis, Adsorption, Sustainable Reaction Engineering. 
Ogden, Dr Mark Lecturer.

m.d.ogden@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 222 7504

Room G51

Spent nuclear fuel reprocessing, Solvent extraction and ion exchange, Novel separation processes
Ionic liquids in separation processes. 
Pandhal, Dr Jagroop Lecturer, Postgraduate Research Admissions Tutor.

j.pandhal@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 4914

Room D61 

Environmental proteomics, Metaproteomics, Metabolic Engineering, Ecological Engineering (synthetic ecology). 
Patwardhan, Dr Siddharth Senior Lecturer, Chair of Curricukum Development Committtee. 

s.patwardhan@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 222 7593

Room F51

Synthesis of bespoke nanomaterials using biologically inspired green routes, carbon capture, environmental remediation, catalysts and biocatalysts, biomedical applications. 
Priestman, Dr Geoffrey Senior Lecturer

g.priestman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7512

Room D64 

Power Fluidics, Micro-chemical Engineering, Multiphase flow transport and separation, Early printed Minton pottery. 
Rothman (nee Elder), Dr Rachael Senior Lecturer.

r.rothman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7574

Room F62 

Thermochemical and Electrochemical Cycles, Hydrogen production, Carbon dioxide utilisation. 
Salman, Professor Agba Professor of Particle Technology.

a.d.salman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7560

Room E58 

Granulation, Breakage/Size Reduction, Smart sphere, Scaling.
Smith, Dr Rachel

Senior Lecturer, Director of Student Support.

rachel.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 8255

Room F55

Wet granulation design and scale-up, DEM/CFD modelling of particulate processes, Drug delivery methods
Biological and water systems modelling. 
Styring, Professor Peter Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry. 

p.styring@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 9336

Room C86 (Dainton Building) 

New materials for carbon dioxide capture, Catalysts for carbon dioxide utilisation (CDU), Absorber and reactor intensification for CDU, Process design for energy and economically efficient CDU
Life Cycle Assessment in CDU. 
Swithenbank, Professor Jim Emeritus Professor of Energy Engineering.

j.swithenbank@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7502

Supergen Biomass, Intrawise, Pollutants in the Built Environment, Thermal Management in the Process Industry, Sustained Urban Environment - Energy from Waste.
Taylor, Dr Annette Senior Lecturer, Athena Swan Champion, Chair of Opportunities Committtee.

a.f.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

+ 44 (0)114 222 9607

Room B52

Catalysis; autocatalysis and biocatalysis, Kinetic Modelling, Bioinspired systems. 
Dr Raman Vaidyanathan Senior Lecturer, PGT Course Director: BBE, BEWIM.

s.vaidyanathan@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7526

Room G60 

Bio-energy, Metabolomics, Mass spectrometry imaging, Microbial biotechnology. 
Val Martin, Dr Maria Teaching and Research Fellow.

m.valmartin@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 2229603

Room F54

Atmospheric composition and chemistry, Atmosphere, Earth’s biosphere and climate interactions, Air pollution. 
Wong, Dr Tuck Seng Senior Lecturer, Deputy Director of Recruitment (International). 

t.wong@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7591

Room C58 

Protein engineering (directed evolution), Biocatalysis and industrial biotechnology, Synthetic biology, Biological carbon dioxide capture and utilization. 
Wang, Professor Meihong Professor Energy Systems. 

meihong.wang@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0) 114 222 7160

Room G16 

Process Modelling, Simulation, Control and Optimisation, Power Plant, Carbon Carbon and Transport (CCT), and Energy Storage, Bio-fuel Production, Refinery Planning and Scheduling.
Wu Dr Yajue Lecturer, UG Year Tutors: Year Abroad. 

y.wu@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7514

Room G62 

Hydrogen energy systems, fast fire spread phenomena in buildings and underground structures and tunnel fires, dynamics of fires and explosions. 
Zandi, Dr Mohammad  Senior University Teacher, Director of Teaching and Learning, UG Year Tutor: Year in Industry. 

m.zandi@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 8265

Room F60 

Environmental Engineering & Monitoring, Energy Engineering, Alternative fuels, biomass and biofuels
CO2 Sequestration Technologies. 
Zhao, Dr Jon (Xiubo)  Lecturer, Foundation Year Admissions Tutor.

Xiubo.zhao@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 8256

Kroto LG17 

Peptide self-assembly for nanobiotechnology, Non-viral gene and drug delivery, Interfacial adsorption and solution aggregation of biomolecules. 
Zimmerman, Professor William Professor Of Biochemical Dynamical System, UG Year Tutor: Year 4.

w.zimmerman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 (0)114 222 7517

Kroto LG16 

Energy efficient generation of microbubbles and their applications, (particularly biofuels and bioreactors). Plasma microreactors, especially low power consumption generation of ozone.