Academic and emeritus staff

On this page, you will find contact details for each member of academic and emeritus staff. Each person's name links through to their staff profile, research interests and research group web pages.

Academic staff

A | B | C | D | F | G | H | I | JL | M | P | R | S | T | 

A

Name Post Contact
Dr Thomas Anderson University Teacher and Senior Tutor

Tel: +44 114 22 29489

Email: t.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Steven Armes, FRS Firth Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Polymer and Colloid Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29342

Email: s.p.armes@sheffield.ac.uk

 B

Name Post Contact
Prof. Lee Brammer Professor of Inorganic and Solid State Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29536
 

Email: lee.brammer@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer A. Burnham Senior University Teacher

Tel: +44 114 22 29488

Email: j.burnham@sheffield.ac.uk

 C

Name Post Contact
Dr Adrien Chauvet Lecturer in Physical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29414

Email: a.chauvet@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Beining Chen Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29467

Email: b.chen@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Barbara Ciani Lecturer in Biophysical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29438

Email: b.ciani@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Iain Coldham Professor of Synthetic Organic Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29428

Email: i.coldham@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Marco Conte Lecturer in Physical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29506

Email: m.conte@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Timothy D. Craggs Lecturer in Biological Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29347

Email: t.craggs@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Colin J. Crook University Teacher

Tel: +44 114 22 29407

Email: c.j.crook@sheffield.ac.uk

 D

Name Post Contact
Dr Robert Dawson Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29357

Email: r.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk

 F

Name Post Contact
Dr Jonathan A. Foster Ramsay and Vice-Chancellor's Fellow

Tel: +44 114 22 29427

Email: jona.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Patrick Fowler, FRS Professor of Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29538

Email: p.w.fowler@sheffield.ac.uk

 G

Name Post Contact
Prof. Jane A. Grasby Professor of Biological Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29478

Email: j.a.grasby@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Name Post Contact
Prof. Joseph P. A. Harrity Professor of Synthetic Organic Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29496 

Email: J.Harrity@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Anthony Haynes Reader in Inorganic Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29326

Email: a.haynes@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr J. Grant Hill Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29392

Email: grant.hill@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Michael Hippler Senior Lecturer in Physical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29505

Email: m.hippler@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Julie Hyde Senior University Teacher and Schools Liaison Coordinator

Tel: +44 114 22 2938

Email: julie.hyde@sheffield.ac.uk

I

Name Post Contact
Dr Ahmed Iraqi Reader in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29566

Email: A.Iraqi@sheffield.ac.uk

J

Name Post Contact
Prof. Richard F. W. Jackson Professor of Organic Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29464

Email: R.F.W.Jackson@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Simon Jones Professor of Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29483 

Email: simon.jones@sheffield.ac.uk

L

Name Post Contact
Prof. Graham Leggett Professor of Nanoscale Analytical Chemistry and Head of Department

Tel: +44 114 22 29556/29484 (HoD)

Email: ch-hod@sheffield.ac.uk

M

Name Post Contact
Dr Natalia Martsinovich Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29562

Email: n.martsinovich@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Anthony J. H. M. Meijer Professor of Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29482

Email: a.meijer@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Oleksandr O. Mykhaylyk Senior Research Fellow in Crystallisation

Tel: +44 114 22 29418

Email: o.mykhaylyk@sheffield.ac.uk

P

Name Post Contact
Dr Benjamin M. Partridge Lecturer in Organic Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29303

Email: b.m.partridge@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Peter Portius Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29385

Email: p.portius@sheffield.ac.uk

R

Name Post Contact
Dr Jim Reid Lecturer in Biological Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29558

Email: j.reid@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Anthony J Ryan, OBE Professor of Physical Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29382

Email: a.ryan@sheffield.ac.uk

S

Name Post Contact
Prof. Andrew Slark Professorial Fellow

Tel: +44 114 22 29540

Email: a.slark@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Sebastian Spain Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29362

Email: s.g.spain@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Staniland Reader in Bionanoscience

Tel: +44 114 22 29539

Email: s.s.staniland@sheffield.ac.uk

T

Name Post Contact
Prof. Jim A. Thomas Professor of Coordination Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29325

Email: james.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Lance Twyman Senior Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: +44 114 22 29560

Email: l.j.twyman@sheffield.ac.uk

W

Name Post Contact
Prof. Julia A. Weinstein Professor of Physical Chemistry

+44 114 22 29408

julia.weinstein@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr David M. Williams Reader in Chemical Biology

+44 114 22 29502

d.m.williams@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Nick H. Williams Professor of Physical Organic Chemistry and Director of Learning and Teaching

+44 114 22 29469/29336

n.h.williams@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Mark J. Winter Professor of Chemistry

Emeritus staff

The Department has five emeritus professors, who still carry out research in the department, but do not take on any new PhD students. 

Name Contact
Professor John Ebdon J.Ebdon@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Peter Maitlis FRS P.Maitlis@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Cameron McLeod C.W.Mcleod@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Barry Pickup

B.T.Pickup@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 22 29530

Professor Charles J.M. Stirling FRS

C.Stirling@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 22 29453

Professor Mark Winter

mark.winter@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 22 29304

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.