Current Research Students (by supervisor)

Bingham, Adrian

Primary

Ackerley, Aaron

AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Economic Ideas in the Interwar British Daily Press.


Bird, Leo

LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk

The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.


Carter, Isabelle

IPCarter1@sheffield.ac.uk

The lived experience of multi-storey council housing in post-war Sheffield and Manchester


Diviney, Joseph

JDiviney1@sheffield.ac.uk

The 1984-5 Miners’ Strike and the Demise of the British Coal Mining Industry.


Feerick, Mary

MFeerick1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Daily Mirror Shopping Clock an examination of the social and cultural impact of inflation on the domestic lives of the working class reader of this tabloid paper.


John, Diana

DEJohn1@sheffield.ac.uk

 Beards and Fag-hags: an Oral History of women who married gay men.


Noonan, Alex

ANoonan1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Political Culture of England, 1974-1994.


Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offence, Obscene Material and the Boundaries of Acceptability in British Culture, c. 1960-2000.

Secondary

Hall, Hilary

HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk

The newspaper comic strip in the making of American mass culture, 1900-1935.


Jones, Vernon

VOSJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

Improving the Social and Working Conditions of Miners 1920-1946: The Contribution of the Miners' Welfare Fund.


Locke, Chris

CLocke1@sheffield.ac.uk

GPs, Politics and the Evolution of State-funded Healthcare in Britain 1909- 1949.


McAllister, Catherine

CAMcAllister1@sheffield.ac.uk

Epidemic Encephalitis and the Intersection of General and Mental Health Service Provision in Sheffield, 1917-1951.


Prosser, Cherie

CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk

BEYOND NATIONALISM: Profression to Modernism in propaganda posters 1914-1920

Braddick, Mike

Primary

Bennett, Michael

MDBennett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Merchant Capital and the Origins of the Barbados Sugar Boom, 1627-1671.

Secondary

Tryner, Joe

JTryner1@sheffield.ac.uk

Entrate nel fuoco: Popular Politics in Early Renaissance Florence.

Brown, Lucy

Secondary

Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offence, Obscene Material and the Boundaries of Acceptability in British Culture, c. 1960-2000.

Cleall, Esme

Primary

Everitt, Katherine

k.everitt@sheffield.ac.uk

Global Cotton Trade in the Late 18th and 19th Centuries.


Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.

Davison, Kate

Secondary

Graves, Jamie

JAGraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Emotions and Social Status in Early Modern England.


Price, Leonie

lrprice2@sheffield.ac.uk

Initials, Goods and Buildings: Marriage as a Material and Social Practice in Early Modern England.

Dobson, Miriam

Secondary (on leave to December 2020)

Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, infrastructure development, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.

Finney, Mark

Primary

Alruwaili, Mohammed

MAlruwaili1@sheffield.ac.uk

Radical Islam and Terrorism.


Stanton, Bryan

BEStanton1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Interface between Demonology and Second Temple Purity Systems in the Markan Exorcism Stories.


Wu, Rongxi (Rosa)

RWu6@sheffield.ac.uk

The Veil in Biblical and Classical Antiquity: A Sociocultural and Exegetical Study of 1 Corinthians 11: 2-16.

Secondary

Lee, Young Gil

YGLee1@sheffield.ac.uk

Birth Narratives in the Bible: Structural Function and Thematic Continuity.

Gottlieb, Julie

Primary

Jones, Vernon

VOSJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

Improving the Social and Working Conditions of Miners 1920-1946: The Contribution of the Miners' Welfare Fund.


Prosser, Cherie

CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk

BEYOND NATIONALISM: Profression to Modernism in propaganda posters 1914-1920.

Secondary

Carter, Isabelle

IPCarter1@sheffield.ac.uk

Streets in the Sky and Dreams in the 'Sink': Youth, Gender, and Experience on High-Rise Council Estates in Britain, 1961-1998.


Feerick, Mary

MFeerick1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Daily Mirror Shopping Clock an examination of the social and cultural impact of inflation on the domestic lives of the working class reader of this tabloid paper.


Noonan, Alex

ANoonan1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Political Culture of England, 1974-1994.

Heath, Andrew

Primary

Broeckx, Sylvia

SJJBroeckx1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sexual Violence and Rape during the American Civil War.


Hall, Hilary

HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk

The newspaper comic strip in the making of American mass culture, 1900-1935.


Nowland, Joseph

JGNowland1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Lawless Land?: Crime, Violence and the San Francisco Committee of Vigilance, 1845 - 1865.


Olewicz, Chris

hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk

History, Radicalism, and the New Left: Studies on the Left, 1959-1967.

Secondary

Tomlinson, Kristine

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.

Hillner, Julia

Primary

Dagnall, Lewis

LWDagnall1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tribute and the Transformation of the Later Roman World (c.284-602 CE).


Heffron, Robert

RLHeffron1@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Antique Female Segregation: Gendered Spaces in Rome and Constantinople.


Secondary

Traves, Alex

AWTraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Kinship in Early Medieval England, AD 600 – 1050: Law, Land and Literature.


Zhang, Tianpeng

TZhang68@sheffield.ac.uk

The Ministerium of the Male Secular Aristocracy in Others' Eyes: A Study of the Carolingian Admonition.

Karamouzi, Eirini

Primary

Gutierrez Ramos, Carla

CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.

Knight, R.J.

Secondary

Nowland, Joseph

JGNowland1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Lawless Land?: Crime, Violence and the San Francisco Committee of Vigilance, 1845 - 1865.

Leng, Tom

Primary

Slack, Hannah

HSlack2@sheffield.ac.uk

Defining America: The influence of the natural world on colonial migrants to the Chesapeake and New England (1607-1730).


Tapply, Kay

KGTapply1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Social and Intellectual Biography of Lucius Cary, 2nd Viscount Falkland.

Secondary

Bennett, Michael

MDBennett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Merchant Capital and the Origins of the Barbados Sugar Boom, 1627-1671.


Winter, Mabel

MWinter2@sheffield.ac.uk

Finance, commerce, and politics in seventeenth-century England: The case of Thompson and Company 1671-1678

Maglaque, Erin

Secondary

Bell, Joshua

JBell7@sheffield.ac.uk

The Reception of Dreams in Early Modern Italian Popular Culture - 1450-1550.

Millard, Chris

Primary

McAllister, Catherine

CAMcAllister1@sheffield.ac.uk

Epidemic Encephalitis and the Intersection of General and Mental Health Service Provision in Sheffield, 1917-1951.

Secondary

John, Diana

DEJohn1@sheffield.ac.uk

 Beards and Fag-hags: an Oral History of women who married gay men.

Milton, Anthony

Secondary

Gilbert, Richard

RGilbert2@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Medieval English Society in Transition: the Tinsley Court Rolls in Context.

Mishra, Saurabh

Secondary

Chatterjee, Apurba

AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk

Images of Empire: A Study of Visual Representations in Early British India c.1757-1820.

Moses, Julia

Primary

Brennan, Patricia

POBBrennan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Working Together to Safeguard Children in Britain: Sheffield, 1870-1918.


Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.


Locke, Chris

CLocke1@sheffield.ac.uk

GPs, Politics and the Evolution of State-funded Healthcare in Britain 1909- 1949.

Pennock, Caroline

Secondary

Slack, Hannah

HSlack2@sheffield.ac.uk

Defining America: The influence of the natural world on colonial migrants to the Chesapeake and New England (1607-1730).

Nic Dháibhéid, Caoimhe

Secondary

Bird, Leo

LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk

The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.

Reid, Colin

Secondary

Baxter, Roger

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.


Brennan, Patricia

POBBrennan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Working Together to Safeguard Children in Britain: Sheffield, 1870-1918.


Diviney, Joseph

JDiviney1@sheffield.ac.uk

The 1984-5 Miners’ Strike and the Demise of the British Coal Mining Industry.


Neffati, Imen

INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Politics of Offence in Hara Kiri and Charlie Hebdo 1960-2015.


Royle, Daniel

hia05dr@sheffield.ac.uk

Spain in 1848: On the Edge of Revolution?

Shaw, James

Primary

Bell, Joshua

JBell7@sheffield.ac.uk

The Reception of Dreams in Early Modern Italian Popular Culture - 1450-1550.


Tryner, Joe

JTryner1@sheffield.ac.uk

Entrate nel fuoco: Popular Politics in Early Renaissance Florence.

Secondary

Everitt, Katherine

k.everitt@sheffield.ac.uk

Global Cotton Trade in the Late 18th and 19th Centuries.

Shoemaker, Robert

Primary

Alston, Laura

ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk

Women's Negative Emotions and Micro-Emotional Values 1700-1830: Examining Experiential Possibilities through Emotional Linguistics.


Baxter, Roger

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.


Booth, Callum

CWBooth1@sheffield.ac.uk

Information Extraction and Entity Linkage in Historical Crime Records.


O'Connor, Aoife

AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk

An Ancestor in Crime : Digitisation and the Discovery of Family Deviance.


Tomlinson, Kristine

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.


Walker, Nicola

NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

Staub, Martial

Primary

Palombi, Diego

DPalombi1@sheffield.ac.uk

Gender in progress. Feminine and Masculine Representations in the Old French Sept Sages.

Secondary

Young, Mary

MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk

'De libris quos legere solebam'. Multi-text Manuscripts and the Accumulation and Transfer of Knowledge at Reichenau and St Gall in the Ninth Century.

Strine, Casey

Primary

Gunce, Bayram

BGunce1@sheffield.ac.uk

 Religious Literacy in schools.


Kennedy, Catherine

CHKennedy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Playing with the Hebrew Bible: Godly Play’s use of Genesis as a Case Study in Children’s Catechesis.


Lee, Young Gil

YGLee1@sheffield.ac.uk

Birth Narratives in the Bible: Structural Function and Thematic Continuity.

Secondary

Alruwaili, Mohammed

MAlruwaili1@sheffield.ac.uk

Radical Islam and Terrorism.

Tompkins, Andrew

Primary

Hanna, Rory

R.Hanna@sheffield.ac.uk

Student Protest and Activism in West Germany, 1949-1967.

Secondary

Vasquez-Aguilar, Maria

pop05mev@sheffield.ac.uk

Exiles in Action: Political activism amongst the Chilean Refugees in the UK, 1973-2013.

Toner, Simon

Secondary

Broeckx, Sylvia

SJJBroeckx1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sexual Violence and Rape during the American Civil War.


Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, infrastructure development, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.

Vincent, Mary

Primary

Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, infrastructure development, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.


Gutierrez Ramos, Carla

CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.


Kann, David

DMKann1@Sheffield.ac.uk

Conflicts and Collaboration in the Relationship between the Joodsche Weekblad (Jewish Weekly), the Joodsche Raad (Jewish Council) and the Germans during the Persecution of the Jews in the Occupied Netherlands.


Neffati, Imen

INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Politics of Offence in Hara Kiri and Charlie Hebdo 1960-2015.


Pugh, Vicki

VLPugh1@sheffield.ac.uk

Problem bodies and sideshow space: A study of twentieth century sideshow in Blackpool 1930-1940.


Royle, Daniel

hia05dr@sheffield.ac.uk

Spain in 1848: On the Edge of Revolution?


Vasquez-Aguilar, Maria

pop05mev@sheffield.ac.uk

Exiles in Action: Political activism amongst the Chilean Refugees in the UK, 1973-2013.

Secondary

Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.


Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offence, Obscene Material and the Boundaries of Acceptability in British Culture, c. 1960-2000.

West, Charles

Primary

Gilbert, Richard

RGilbert2@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Medieval English Society in Transition: the Tinsley Court Rolls in Context.


Traves, Alex

AWTraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Kinship in Early Medieval England, AD 600 – 1050: Law, Land and Literature.


Young, Mary

MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk

'De libris quos legere solebam'. Multi-text Manuscripts and the Accumulation and Transfer of Knowledge at Reichenau and St Gall in the Ninth Century.


Zhang, Tianpeng

TZhang68@sheffield.ac.uk

The Ministerium of the Male Secular Aristocracy in Others' Eyes: A Study of the Carolingian Admonition.

Secondary

Dagnall, Lewis

LWDagnall1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tribute and the Transformation of the Later Roman World (c.284-602 CE).


Withington, Phil

Primary

Chatterjee, Apurba

AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk

Images of Empire: A Study of Visual Representations in Early British India c.1757-1820.


Graves, Jamie

JAGraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Emotions and Social Status in Early Modern England.


Price, Leonie

lrprice2@sheffield.ac.uk

Initials, Goods and Buildings: Marriage as a Material and Social Practice in Early Modern England.


Tapply, Kay

KGTapply1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Social and Intellectual Biography of Lucius Cary, 2nd Viscount Falkland.


Winter, Mabel

MWinter2@sheffield.ac.uk

Finance, commerce, and politics in seventeenth-century England: The case of Thompson and Company 1671-1678

Ziemann, Benjamin

Secondary

Abakunova, Hanna

HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.


Hanna, Rory

R.Hanna@sheffield.ac.uk

Student Protest and Activism in West Germany, 1949-1967.