Current Research Students (by supervisor)

Baughan, Emily

Secondary

Liburd, Liam

LJLiburd1@sheffield.ac.uk

Constructions of Race, Gender and Empire on the Extreme Right in Britain, 1920s to 1960s.

Bingham, Adrian

Primary

Ackerley, Aaron

AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Economic Ideas in the Interwar British Daily Press.


Bird, Leo

LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk

The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.


Carter, Isabelle

IPCarter1@sheffield.ac.uk

Streets in the Sky and Dreams in the 'Sink': Youth, Gender, and Experience on High-Rise Council Estates in Britain, 1961-1998.


Diviney, Joseph

JDiviney1@sheffield.ac.uk

The 1984-5 Miners’ Strike and the Demise of the British Coal Mining Industry.


Holland, David

DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk

Natives and Newcomers, Marriage and Belonging - South Asian migration, settlement and working-class tolerance in the Sheffield area during the early twentieth century.


Noonan, Alex

ANoonan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Political Citizens? Democratic Engagement in a Polarised Britain, 1974-94.


Roddy, Gareth

GRoddy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscape, Travel, and Literary Tourism in the Western British-Irish Isles, c.1880-1939.


Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offensiveness, Sensitivity and Free Expression in Britain, 1960-2001.

Secondary

Gale, William

WEGale1@sheffield.ac.uk

From Class to Identity Politics: Reflections on Sheffield Steelworker’s ‘Identities’ through Industrial Crisis


Hall, Hilary

HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk

In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.


Jones, Vernon

VOSJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Achievements and Legacy of the Miners' Welfare Fund.


Locke, Chris

CLocke1@sheffield.ac.uk

GPs, Politics and the Evolution of State-funded Healthcare in Britain 1909- 1949.


McAllister, Catherine

CAMcAllister1@sheffield.ac.uk

Epidemic Encephalitis and the Intersection of General and Mental Health Service Provision in Sheffield, 1917-1951.

Braddick, Mike

Primary

Bennett, Michael

MDBennett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Merchant Capital and the Origins of the Barbados Sugar Boom, 1627-1671.

Brown, Lucy

Secondary

Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offensiveness, Sensitivity and Free Expression in Britain, 1960-2001.

Cleall, Esme

Primary

Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.

Secondary

Holland, David

DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk

Natives and Newcomers, Marriage and Belonging - South Asian migration, settlement and working-class tolerance in the Sheffield area during the early twentieth century.

Davison, Kate

Primary

Middleton, Dan

DEMiddleton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Elite and popular perceptions of the Grand Alliance and the War of the Spanish Succession, 1688-1714.

Secondary

Graves, Jamie

JAGraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Emotions and Social Status in Early Modern England.

Dobson, Miriam

Primary

Galley, Mirjam

MGalley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Builders of Communism, 'Defective' Children and Social Orphans. Soviet Children in Care after 1953.


Parker, Hannah

HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk

Voices of the New Soviet Woman: Gender, Emancipation and Agency in Letters to the Soviet State, 1924-1941.

Secondary

Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, infrastructure development, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.

Finney, Mark

Primary

Alruwaili, Mohammed

MAlruwaili1@sheffield.ac.uk

Radical Islam and Terrorism.


Antonius, Pedro

PAntonius1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Fulfillment of All Righteousness: Matthew's Unique Perspective on Jesus' Baptism.


Flanagan, Marie

MVFlanagan1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Gender Pairs: Focusing on an Overlooked Aspect of Luke-Acts.


Perry, Hilary

bsp08hmp@sheffield.ac.uk

Dispensing Dispensationalism: A Critical Analysis of the 1917 Scofield Reference Bible and Two Later Editions.


Stanton, Bryan

BEStanton1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Interface between Demonology and Second Temple Purity Systems in the Markan Exorcism Stories.


Wu, Rongxi (Rosa)

RWu6@sheffield.ac.uk

The Veil in Biblical and Classical Antiquity: A Sociocultural and Exegetical Study of 1 Corinthians 11: 2-16.

Gottlieb, Julie

Primary

Gale, William

WEGale1@sheffield.ac.uk

From Class to Identity Politics: Reflections on Sheffield Steelworker’s ‘Identities’ through Industrial Crisis


Jones, Vernon

VOSJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Achievements and Legacy of the Miners' Welfare Fund.


Liburd, Liam

LJLiburd1@sheffield.ac.uk

Constructions of Race, Gender and Empire on the Extreme Right in Britain, 1920s to 1960s.


Prosser, Cherie

CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Comparative Analysis of Visual Propaganda in France and Britain during the First World War.

Secondary

Carter, Isabelle

IPCarter1@sheffield.ac.uk

Streets in the Sky and Dreams in the 'Sink': Youth, Gender, and Experience on High-Rise Council Estates in Britain, 1961-1998.


Noonan, Alex

ANoonan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Political Citizens? Democratic Engagement in a Polarised Britain, 1974-94.

Gusejnova, Dina

Primary

Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.

Secondary

Ackerley, Aaron

AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Economic Ideas in the Interwar British Daily Press.

Hartrich, Eliza

Primary

Gilbert, Richard

RGilbert2@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Medieval English Society in Transition: the Tinsley Court Rolls in Context.

Heath, Andrew

Primary

Broeckx, Sylvia

SJJBroeckx1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sexual Violence and Rape during the American Civil War.


Hall, Hilary

HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk

In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.


Nowland, Joseph

JGNowland1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Lawless Land?: Crime, Violence and the San Francisco Committee of Vigilance, 1845 - 1865.


Olewicz, Chris

hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk

History, Radicalism, and the New Left: Studies on the Left, 1959-1967.

Secondary

Tomlinson, Kristine

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.

Hillner, Julia

Primary

Dagnall, Lewis

LWDagnall1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tribute and the Transformation of the Later Roman World (c.284-602 CE).


Heffron, Robert

RLHeffron1@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Antique Female Segregation: Gendered Spaces in Rome and Constantinople.


Mawdsley, Harry

HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Exile in the Post-Roman Successor States, 439 - C.650.

Karamouzi, Eirini

Primary

Gutierrez Ramos, Carla

CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.

Knight, R.J.

Secondary

Nowland, Joseph

JGNowland1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Lawless Land?: Crime, Violence and the San Francisco Committee of Vigilance, 1845 - 1865.

Lee, Daniel

Primary

Metter, Jane

JAMetter1@sheffield.ac.uk

Rescue and Resistance? Memorialising the Second World War and the shaping of regional identity in the Haute-Savoie, 1944-2014.

Secondary

Kann, David

DMKann1@Sheffield.ac.uk

Conflicts and Collaboration in the Relationship between the Joodsche Weekblad (Jewish Weekly), the Joodsche Raad (Jewish Council) and the Germans during the Persecution of the Jews in the Occupied Netherlands.


Vastenhout, Laurien

L.Vastenhout@sheffield.ac.uk

The Jewish Councils of Western Europe under Nazi Occupation: A Comparative Analysis.

Leng, Tom

Primary

Tapply, Kay

KGTapply1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Social and Intellectual Biography of Lucius Cary, 2nd Viscount Falkland.

Secondary

Bennett, Michael

MDBennett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Merchant Capital and the Origins of the Barbados Sugar Boom, 1627-1671.


Taylor, Alex

ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk

Venting Smoke: The Trade and consumption of Tobacco in Early Modern England and Wales c 1625-1685.


Winter, Mabel

MWinter2@sheffield.ac.uk

Reputation, Law, and Commercial Life in Seventeenth Century England: The Case of Thompson and Company in 1677.

MacCarron, Máirín

Secondary

Traves, Alex

AWTraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Anglo-Saxon Kinship, AD 793-1042: Family, Society and Early Medieval Political Culture.

Millard, Chris

Primary

McAllister, Catherine

CAMcAllister1@sheffield.ac.uk

Epidemic Encephalitis and the Intersection of General and Mental Health Service Provision in Sheffield, 1917-1951.

Milton, Anthony

Primary

Middleton, Dan

DEMiddleton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Elite and popular perceptions of the Grand Alliance and the War of the Spanish Succession, 1688-1714.

Mishra, Saurabh

Secondary

Chatterjee, Apurba

AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk

Imaging Authority: A Study of the Visual Representations of the Early British Indian Empire (1730-1820).

Moore, Bob

Primary

Abakunova, Hanna

HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.


Kann, David

DMKann1@Sheffield.ac.uk

Conflicts and Collaboration in the Relationship between the Joodsche Weekblad (Jewish Weekly), the Joodsche Raad (Jewish Council) and the Germans during the Persecution of the Jews in the Occupied Netherlands.


Vastenhout, Laurien

L.Vastenhout@sheffield.ac.uk

The Jewish Councils of Western Europe under Nazi Occupation: A Comparative Analysis.

Secondary

Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.


Metter, Jane

JAMetter1@sheffield.ac.uk

Rescue and Resistance? Memorialising the Second World War and the shaping of regional identity in the Haute-Savoie, 1944-2014.


Olewicz, Chris

hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk

CHistory, Radicalism, and the New Left: Studies on the Left, 1959-1967.

Moses, Julia

Primary

Brennan, Patricia

POBBrennan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Working Together to Safeguard Children in Britain: Sheffield, 1870-1918.


Locke, Chris

CLocke1@sheffield.ac.uk

GPs, Politics and the Evolution of State-funded Healthcare in Britain 1909- 1949.

Secondary

Bland, Eleanor

EBland2@sheffield.ac.uk

The Identification of Criminal Suspects by Policing Agents in London, 1780-1850.


Huggins, Lucy

LEHuggins1@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime and Economies of Makeshift: Experiences of Poverty in the Old Bailey, 1750-1799.

Nic Dháibhéid, Caoimhe

Primary

Mytton, Rebecca

RMytton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Republican masculinities and lived experience in the Irish revolutionary period 1916-1923.

Secondary

Back, Phil

PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk

'If you build it, they will come': the origins of Scotland's Country Parks.


Bird, Leo

LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk

The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.


Roddy, Gareth

GRoddy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscape, Travel, and Literary Tourism in the Western British-Irish Isles, c.1880-1939.

Pennock, Caroline

Primary

Smart, Harriet

HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk

Choreography, Flexibility and Conformity in Postclassic Nahua Rituals.

Reid, Colin

Primary

Finley, Will

WAFinley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Making an Impression: An Assessment of the Role of Print Surfaces within the Technological, Commercial, Intellectual and Cultural Trajectory of Book Illustration, c. 1780-x.1860.

Secondary

Baxter, Roger

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.


Brennan, Patricia

POBBrennan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Working Together to Safeguard Children in Britain: Sheffield, 1870-1918.


Diviney, Joseph

JDiviney1@sheffield.ac.uk

The 1984-5 Miners’ Strike and the Demise of the British Coal Mining Industry.

Shaw, James

Primary

Back, Phil

PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk

'If you build it, they will come': the origins of Scotland's Country Parks.

Shoemaker, Robert

Primary

Baxter, Roger

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.


Bland, Eleanor

EBland2@sheffield.ac.uk

The Identification of Criminal Suspects by Policing Agents in London, 1780-1850.


Huggins, Lucy

LEHuggins1@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime and Economies of Makeshift: Experiences of Poverty in the Old Bailey, 1750-1799.


O'Connor, Aoife

AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk

An Ancestor in Crime : Digitisation and the Discovery of Family Deviance.


Tomlinson, Kristine

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.


Walker, Nicola

NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

Staub, Martial

Secondary

Young, Mary

MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk

'De libris quos legere solebam'. Multi-text Manuscripts and the Accumulation and Transfer of Knowledge at Reichenau and St Gall in the Ninth Century.

Strine, Casey

Primary

Lee, Young Gil

YGLee1@sheffield.ac.uk

Birth Narratives in the Bible: Structural Function and Thematic Continuity.

Secondary

Alruwaili, Mohammed

MAlruwaili1@sheffield.ac.uk

Radical Islam and Terrorism.

Tompkins, Andrew

Secondary

Galley, Mirjam

MGalley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Builders of Communism, 'Defective' Children and Social Orphans. Soviet Children in Care after 1953.


Vasquez-Aguilar, Maria

pop05mev@sheffield.ac.uk

Exiles in Action: Political activism amongst the Chilean Refugees in the UK, 1973-2013.

Toner, Simon

Secondary

Broeckx, Sylvia

SJJBroeckx1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sexual Violence and Rape during the American Civil War.

Vincent, Mary

Primary

Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, infrastructure development, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.


Gutierrez Ramos, Carla

CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.


Neffati, Imen

INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk

Beyond Charlie, Anticlerical Print Culture and Ideas of Free Speech.


Pugh, Vicki

VLPugh1@sheffield.ac.uk

Performing Bodies: Anatomical Display in the Twentieth-Century Fairground.


Vasquez-Aguilar, Maria

pop05mev@sheffield.ac.uk

Exiles in Action: Political activism amongst the Chilean Refugees in the UK, 1973-2013.


Wright, Stephanie

SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk

Franco's 'Mutilated Gentleman': Masculinity and War Disability in Modern Spain, 1936-1976.

Secondary

Mytton, Rebecca

RMytton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Republican masculinities and lived experience in the Irish revolutionary period 1916-1923.


Parker, Hannah

HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk

Voices of the New Soviet Woman: Gender, Emancipation and Agency in Letters to the Soviet State, 1924-1941.


Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offensiveness, Sensitivity and Free Expression in Britain, 1960-2001.


Yokoe, Ryosuke

RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk

Medical understandings of alcohol and the liver in twentieth-century Britain.

West, Charles

Primary

Gilbert, Richard

RGilbert2@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Medieval English Society in Transition: the Tinsley Court Rolls in Context.


Traves, Alex

AWTraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Anglo-Saxon Kinship, AD 793-1042: Family, Society and Early Medieval Political Culture.


Young, Mary

MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk

'De libris quos legere solebam'. Multi-text Manuscripts and the Accumulation and Transfer of Knowledge at Reichenau and St Gall in the Ninth Century.

Secondary

Dagnall, Lewis

LWDagnall1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tribute and the Transformation of the Later Roman World (c.284-602 CE).


Mawdsley, Harry

HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Exile in the Post-Roman Successor States, 439 - C.650.

Withington, Phil

Primary

Alston, Laura

ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk

Women's Negative Emotions and Micro-Emotional Values 1700-1830: Examining Experiential Possibilities through Emotional Linguistics.


Chatterjee, Apurba

AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk

Imaging Authority: A Study of the Visual Representations of the Early British Indian Empire (1730-1820).


Cree, Jose

JCree2@sheffield.ac.uk

The Invention of Addiction in Early Modern England.


Graves, Jamie

JAGraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Emotions and Social Status in Early Modern England.


Tapply, Kay

KGTapply1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Social and Intellectual Biography of Lucius Cary, 2nd Viscount Falkland.


Taylor, Alex

ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk

Venting Smoke: The Trade and consumption of Tobacco in Early Modern England and Wales c 1625-1685.


Winter, Mabel

MWinter2@sheffield.ac.uk

Reputation, Law, and Commercial Life in Seventeenth Century England: The Case of Thompson and Company in 1677.


Yokoe, Ryosuke

RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk

Medical understandings of alcohol and the liver in twentieth-century Britain.

Secondary

Smart, Harriet

HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk

Choreography, Flexibility and Conformity in Postclassic Nahua Rituals.

Ziemann, Benjamin

Secondary

Abakunova, Hanna

HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.


Prosser, Cherie

CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Comparative Analysis of Visual Propaganda in France and Britain during the First World War.


Wright, Stephanie

SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk

Franco's 'Mutilated Gentleman': Masculinity and War Disability in Modern Spain, 1936-1976.