Winners of School Essay Prize Competition Announced

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 Philosophy essay prize. The competition is open to school years 10, 11 and 12 and is run annually by the Department of Philosophy.

Shot of hand written document using fountain pen

The prize aims to widen interest in philosophy and encourage ambitious secondary school students to study philosophy at University. Entrants are invited to write an essay of up to 1,500 words on a philosophical topic. We award a first prize of £100, second prize of £50 and third prize of £25.

Prize winners

We received a lot of entries and the judges enjoyed reading and providing feedback for all of the essays. We are pleased to announce the winners as follows:

First Prize

David Levy, JFS

Second Prize

Samira Sanders, Sheffield High School for Girls

Third Prize

Alexander Robson, City of London Schoo

Honorable Mentions

Callum Day, Stockport Grammar

Charvi Jain, North London Collegiate School

Katherine Stubbs, Bristol Grammar School

Lea Moutault, British School of Brussels

Phoebe Pascoe, The Godolphin and Latymer School

Thomas Bedford, Nottingham High School

Rituraj Sharma, Westminster School

Abbas Abid, Cheadle Hulme HS Sixth Form

Kikiopeoluwa Ajayi, St Paul's School

Congratulations to the winners and many thanks to all of those who entered.

We look forward to running the competition again in 2021!!