Professor Greg Tegart nominated for Australian of the Year 2016

Department alumnus, Professor Greg Tegart, has been nominated for Australian of the Year 2016 in recognition of his achievements and contribution to creating a better Australia.

The awards, held on Monday 25 January at the Parliament of Australia in Canberra, provide all Australians with the opportunity to recognise someone who makes them proud.

Professor Tegart was one of 8 finalists in the category of Senior Australian of the Year, supported by the Department of Social Services. He was nominated for his achievements in 2015, as well as his past achievements and ongoing contribution to the Australian community and nation. Criteria for the award includes: demonstrating excellence in their field; an inspirational role model for the Australia community; personal, academic and professional achievements.

Professor Tegart is a leading advocate for smart assistive technologies that give aged and disabled people independence and better quality of life. A long standing career in academic, industry and government, he completed a BSc and MSc at the University of Melborune before receiving a Research Fellowship at the University of Sheffield in 1955. He completed his PhD in the Department of Metallurgy, as the Department was then known, before becoming Lecturer and then Senior Lecturer. In 1963 he spent a sabbatical year in the Department of Materials Science at Northwestern University in Chicago in the US, before being appointed Professor of Materials at the College of Aeronautics (now Cranfield University) in England, in 1966.

In 1968 Professor Tegart returned to Australia as Research Manager of BHP Melbourne Research Laboratory; a new product research laboratory in Melbourne for BHP (Australia’s then largest company in mining, steel, oil and gas). He set up the laboratory, building a workforce of around 150, covering new steel development, applications of steel in construction, solar energy, oil from coal, and containers.

Over the last 40 years his career has spun research in metallurgy and materials, and high level executive and policy positions in industry, the CSIRO and the Australian federal government. The extent of his contribution to Australian science and technology policy over four decades is substantial. He has led Australia’s initial participation in climate change assessment through the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and was recognised for his contribution to the awarding of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize to the IPCC.

Congratulations Greg!