Research seminars

The Research Seminar Series is a series of talks by leading researchers at this university and elsewhere. The series is aimed at postgraduate students and staff but undergraduates and external visitors are welcome at every talk.

A group of Music research students conducting a workshop

Tuesday Research Seminars, 1.00-2.00pm in Ensemble Room 2 (G.04), Department of Music, Jessop Building, 34 Leavygreave Road, Sheffield, S3 7RD, except where otherwise indicated.

Each talk is followed by a coffee and tea reception with the speaker in the lobby of the Music Department (Jessop Building).

2018-2019 Seminar Series Topics

Semester 1

Tuesday 2 October

Nicola Dibben (University of Sheffield), 'Music in immersive media'

Tuesday 30 October

Byron Dueck (Open University), 'The Social Life of the Mendzang: Contemporary Xylophone Music in Central Cameroon'

Tuesday 13 November

Rob Keeley (King's College London), 'Composing with helpful and audible limitations: thoughts on doubling, change-ringing and modes'

Tuesday 20 November

Jonathan Hicks (Newcastle University), 'After London Cried'

Tuesday 4 December

Bennett Hogg (Newcastle University), 'Navigating Nature'

Semester 2

Tuesday 26 February

Natasha Loges (Royal College of Music, London)

Tuesday 5 March

Simon Keegan-Phipps (University of Sheffield)

Tuesday 19 March

Daniel Müllensiefen (Goldsmiths, University of London)

Tuesday 2 April

Stephanie Pitts and Sarah Price (University of Sheffield), 'Understanding Audiences for the Contemporary Arts'

Tuesday 30 April

Chris Dromey (Middlesex University), 'The Public Musicology Project: Rethinking Programme Notes'

PhD study

Join our inspirational research community as a PhD student and start making a difference.

World-leading research