4 September 2017

Philosophy Essay Prize Winners 2017

A group of Philosophy students are chatting outside the Jessop building.

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2017 Philosophy essay prize.

The competition is open to school years 10, 11 and 12 and is run annually by the Department of Philosophy.

The prize aims to widen interest in philosophy and encourage ambitious secondary school students to study philosophy at University. Entrants are invited to write an essay of up to 1,500 words on a philosophical topic. We award a first prize of £100, second prize of £50 and third prize of £25.

Prize winners

We received a lot of entries and the judges enjoyed reading all of the essays. We are pleased to announce the winners as follows:

First Prize

Richard Zhu

Second Prize

Sahil Sama

Third Prize

Edmund Morrell

Congratulations to the winners and many thanks to all of those who entered. We look forward to running the competition again in 2018.

Explore the University

Discover what sets Sheffield apart at our next on-campus open day.