This is the logo for the BEADS trial.

BEADS – Behavioural Activation therapy for Depression after Stroke

BEADS (Behavioural Activation therapy for Depression after Stroke) is a pilot randomised controlled trial to assess the feasibility of a study to investigate the clinical and cost-effectiveness of behavioural activation (BA) therapy for people with post-stroke depression.

Our key objectives are to assess the feasibility of proceeding to a definitive trial, and the feasibility of delivering BA to people with post-stroke depression. To address this, the study also incorporates qualitative research with participants, carers and therapists and an economic evaluation. The primary clinical outcome measure is the PHQ-9 (Patient Health Questionnaire 9) at six months after randomisation.

The study is being led by Shirley Thomas from the Division of Rehabilitation and Ageing at the University of Nottingham and the trial is being coordinated from the Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit. It is funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Health Technology Assessment (HTA) programme (ref: 13/14/01).

This work builds on the success of a previous study led by the Chief Investigator: CALM (Communication and Low Mood) which was funded by the Stroke Association to test BA for people with aphasia, and showed a positive impact on mood at six months.

The trial opened in May 2015 and aims to recruit 72 people with post-stroke depression across three centres (Derby, Mansfield and Sheffield) over 12 months. Participants will be randomised to receive BA or usual care for four months.

Update: BEADS has now finished recruiting and we are currently completing follow up for recruited participants.

Study Staff:

Name Role Site Contact
Shirley Thomas Chief Investigator Division of Rehabilitation & Ageing
University of Nottingham
shirley.thomas@nottingham.ac.uk
0115 846 7484
Gemma Hackney Trial Manager (maternity cover) Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
g.hackney@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 222 4320
Zoe Furniss Trials Support Officer Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
z.furniss@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 225 9122
Stephen Walters Senior Statistician Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
s.j.walters@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 272 4095
Laura Mandefield Statistician Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
l.mandefield@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 22 20750
Nick Latimer Health Economist Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
n.latimer@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 272 4095
Tim Chater Data Manager Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
t.chater@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 22 20876
Saleema Rex Data Analyst Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
s.rex@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 22 20737
Cindy Cooper CTRU Director Clinical Trials Research Unit (CTRU)
The University of Sheffield
c.l.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 22 20749
Professor Patrick Callaghan Co-Investigator University of Nottingham patrick.callaghan@nottingham.ac.uk
Professor Avril Drummond Chief Investigator (maternity cover) University of Nottingham avril.drummond@nottingham.ac.uk
Associate Professor Timothy England Co-Investigator University of Nottingham timothy.england@nottingham.ac.uk
Professor Nadina Lincoln Co-Investigator University of Nottingham nadina.lincoln@nottingham.ac.uk
Dr Roshan das Nair Co-Investigator Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust roshan.nair@nottingham.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Palmer Co-Investigator University of Sheffield r.l.palmer@sheffield.ac.uk