The PAINTED Study

Pandemic Influenza Triage in the Emergency Department

Funded by the National Institute for Health Research

NB: Field staff and Trust research nurses, and any other individuals who may for whatever reason be involved in PAINTED and who may be required to send data to the University-based PAINTED research team from Trust premises, will be expressly forbidden from moving data by means of file attachments (whether encrypted or not) via e-mail messages. Data will only ever be accepted when it is transmitted, by duly approved staff, direct to the PROSPECT database.

Manual for the Operation of Painted (MOP) Part 1

Manual for the Operation of Painted (MOP) Part 2

Manual for the Operation of Painted (MOP) Part 3

Research objectives

We aim to identify the most accurate triage method for predicting severe illness among patients attending the emergency department with suspected pandemic influenza.

Our specific objectives are:

1. To determine the discriminant value of emergency department triage methods for predicting severe illness in patients
    presenting with suspected pandemic influenza
2. To determine the discriminant value of presenting clinical characteristics and routine tests for identifying severe illness
3. To determine the independent predictive value of presenting clinical characteristics and routine tests for severe illness
4. To develop two new triage methods based upon
    (a) presenting clinical characteristics alone and
    (b) presenting clinical characteristics, electrocardiogram (ECG), chest X-ray and routine blood test results

Project Management Team

Name Site Role Phone Email
Professor Steve Goodacre ScHARR Chief Investigator +44 (0)114 222 0842 s.goodacre@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Mike Campbell ScHARR Statistician +44 (0)114 222 0839 m.j.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Lee ScHARR Public Health Expertise +44 (0)114 222 0872 andrew.lee@sheffield.ac.uk
Andrew Irving ScHARR Researcher +44 (0)114 222 4292 a.d.irving@sheffield.ac.uk
Dan Beever ScHARR Research Assistant +44 (0)114 222 0820 painted@sheffield.ac.uk
Heather Dakin ScHARR Trials Support Officer +44 (0)114 222 6385 h.dakin@sheffield.ac.uk

Co Investigators

Name Site Role Phone Email
Dr Kirsty Challen Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Consultant in Emergency Medicine kirstychallen@hotmail.com
Dr Andrew Bentley University Hospital of South Manchester Critical Care Expertise +44 (0)161 291 6420 andrew.bentley@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Darren Walter University Hospital of South Manchester Expert in Pandemic Emergency Planning +44 (0)161 291 6047 darren.walter@manchester.ac.uk
Dr Ian Maconochie St Mary's Hospital, London Expert in Paediatric Emergency Medicine +44 (0)207 886 6139 i.maconochie@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Chris Fitzsimmons Sheffield Children's Hospital Expert in Paediatric Emergency Medicine +44 (0)114 271 7431 chris.fitzsimmons@sch.nhs.net

Sites

Hospital Principal Investigator Phone Email
Sheffield Teaching Hospital Professor Steve Goodacre +44 (0)114 222 0842 s.goodacre@sheffield.ac.uk
Sheffield Children's Hospital Dr Chris Fitzsimmons +44 (0)114 271 7431 chris.fitzsimmons@sch.nhs.uk
Salford Royal Professor Fiona Lecky +44 (0)114 222 0842 f.e.lecky@sheffield.ac.uk

York Teaching Hospital

Scarborough General Hospital

Joanne Ingham

Dr Richard Smith 

+44 (0)190 472 1845

+44 (0)1723 342175

joanne.ingham@york.nhs.uk

richard.smith@york.nhs.uk

The Royal London Dr Tim Harris +44 (0)203 594 0887

tim.harris@bartshealth.nhs.uk

South Manchester Dr Darren Walter +44 (0)161 2916047 darren.walter@manchester.ac.uk
Barnsley Dr Julian Humphrey +44 (0)1226 434418 julian.humphrey@nhs.net
Poole Dr Deborah Mayne +44 (0)1202 448717

emergency.research@poole.nhs.uk

Northampton Dr Tristan Dyer +44 (0)1604 634700  sue.brown@ngh.nhs.uk
Hull TBC

Bristol

(Royal & Children's)

Professor  Johnathan Benger +44 (0)117 3422308 Jonathan.Benger@uhbristol.nhs.uk
Plymouth Dr Jason Smith +44 (0)1752 437629 rosalyn.squire@nhs.net
Milton Keynes Dr Peter Thomas +44 (0)1908 243145 peter.thomas@mkhospital.nhs.uk
Reading Dr Liza Keating +44 (0)118 3225111 liza.keating@royalberkshire.nhs.uk
Wirral Dr Andrea Wootten +44 (0)1516785111 andreawootten@nhs.net
North Cumbria Dr Olu Orugun +44 (0)1946523117 leon.jonker@ncuh.nhs.uk
Dorset Dr Tamsin Ribbons +44 (0)1305254805 Tamsin.ribbons@dchft.nhs.uk
Gloucestershire Dr Victoria Hughes +44 (0)300 4224208 Victoria.Hughes@glos.nhs.uk
Wolverhampton Dr Andrew MacDuff +44 (0)1902 307999 andrew.macduff@nhs.net
Shrewsbury Dr Adrian Marsh +44 (0)1952 641222 adrian.marsh@sath.nhs.uk
Northumbria Dr Mark Harrison +44 (0)844 811 8111 Maureen.Armstrong@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk
North Staffordshire Dr Richard Hall +44 (0)1782 674410 richard.hall@uhns.nhs.uk
Southend Bernard Hadebe +44 (0)1702 435555 Bernard.Hadebe@southend.nhs.uk
Oxford Dr Melanie Darwent +44 (0)1865 221173 melanie.darwent@ouh.nhs.uk
Harrogate Dr Victoria Holloway +44 (0)1423 553295 Victoria.holloway@hdft.nhs.uk
Edinburgh (Scotland) Dr Alasdair Gray +44 (0)131 2421338 alasdair.gray@luht.scot.nhs.uk
Chelmsford Dr Steve Jenkins +44 (0)1 1245 516454 amanda.lyle@meht.nhs.uk
Newcastle Dr John Wright +44 (0)191 2823 781 john.wright@nuth.nhs.uk
Paisley (Scotland) Dr Alasdair Corfield +44 (0)141 3146601 a.corfield@nhs.net
Central Manchester Dr Rick Body +44 (0)161 276 8539 richard.body@manchester.ac.uk
Aintree Dr Abdo Sattout +44 (0)151 525 5980 abdo.sattout@aintree.nhs.uk
Coventry TBC
Cambridge Dr Khurram Iftikhar +44 (0)1223 245 151 khurram.iftikhar@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Nottingham Dr Frank Coffey +44 (0)115 924 9924 frank.coffey@nottingham.ac.uk

Craigavon

(Northern Ireland)

TBC
Wexham Park Dr Sarah Wilson +44 (0)1753 634050 louise.chandler@fhft.nhs.uk
Newport (Wales) Dr Ashkok Vaghela +44 (0)1633 234066 ashok.vaghela@wales.nhs.uk
Swindon Dr Stephen Haig +44 (0)1793 604020 Stephen.haig@gwh.nhs.uk
Kings Lynn Dr Nam Tong +44 (0)1553 613979 nam.tong@qehkl.nhs.uk
Bath Dr David Watson +44 (0)1225 824002 david.watson1@nhs.net
Kings College Hospital, London Dr Rob Pinate +44 (0)20 32991563 sinead.helyar@nhs.net
Ashford and St Peters Dr Claire Atkinson +44 (0)1932 723534 claire.atkinson@asph.nhs.uk
Norfolk and Norwich Dr Frank Sutherland +44 (0)1603 289808 frank.sutherland@nnuh.nhs.uk