Our prizes celebrate and reward academic excellence and achievement.

Mappin medal prize
The Alasdair Thomson Prize  This prize is awarded once annually in memory of Alasdair Thomson, a graduate of the School of Computer Science at the University of Sheffield. It is awarded for the best performance in the Level 1 Programming module to students studying an Undergraduate degree programme in the School of Computer Science. The prize has a monetary value and, on occasion, may be shared between more than one student. 
The Amazon Prize This prize was established in 2018 through the generosity of Amazon to reward excellent performance in Postgraduate Masters programmes in the School of Computer Science. One prize of £150 is awarded annually to students studying an MSc degree in the school and is awarded for 'Best Overall Performance'.
The British Computer Society Eliot Chiat Prize This prize has been made available through the British Computer Society in memory of the late Eliot Chiat, who was a member of the Computing Services at the University of Sheffield, and also a long-time Secretary for the South Yorkshire branch of the British Computer Society.
One prize of £150 is awarded annually, and was made available in 2004 by the British Computer Society. It is available to level 2 students, and is awarded for 'best overall performance'.
The Douglas Lewin Memorial Prize This prize has been made available through donations from the Universities of Brunel, East Anglia, Sheffield and Southampton in memory of the late Professor Douglas Lewin who, at each University, made significant academic contributions in the field of Electronics and Computer Science. One prize of £100 is awarded annually at each of the four universities. It is available to level 3 or level 4 students, and is awarded for 'Best Examination performance'.
The FinancialForce Prize Established in 2017 and offered through the generosity of cloud services provider FinancialForce. One award of £150 is awarded to the most outstanding dissertation project on the topic of cloud computing.
The Mappin Medal and Premiums Through the generosity of the late Sir Frederick Mappin, Bart, the University offers seven medals each accompanied by a premium of £100. It is made available to candidates for the Level 3 examination in the third year of a BEng course or in the fourth year of an MEng course, and is awarded for 'Greatest Distinction shown by candidates reading for the degree'.
Teacher of the Year An annual prize for excellence in teaching, decided by a student vote.

A world-class university – a unique student experience

Sheffield is a research university with a global reputation for excellence. We're a member of the Russell Group: one of the 24 leading UK universities for research and teaching.