Clearing

Off

Clearing, Adjustment and Change of Course Offers

Clearing

Vacancies may be available on some of our Engineering courses at the University of Sheffield.  You can apply through Clearing online at www.shef.ac.uk/clearing or call our Clearing Helpline on +44 (0)114 212 9900 from 8.30am on Tuesday 10 August 2021.

UK Students

Change of Course Offer

You may have been made a Change of Course offer.  This means that although you were unsuccessful in securing a place on your chosen course, the Faculty of Engineering has decided to make you an offer on an alternative course.

You can choose to accept or reject this change of course offer in UCAS Track. There is no rush to make this decision, take some time to look at the department web page which gives information about the course including:

  • Modules – several of our engineering courses have similar or common modules. Aerospace and Bioengineering are multi-disciplinary courses involving modules across the Engineering faculty.
  • Careers – many engineering companies employ students from a variety of different engineering courses. Previous graduates from Mechanical, Materials, Aerospace, Chemical, Civil and Electronic Engineering have all been employed by Atkins. Rolls-Royce is a Top 10 employer for Aerospace Engineering, Automatic Control & Systems Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, Chemical & Biological Engineering, Electrical & Electronic Engineering and Mechanical Engineering.
  • Student case studies – learn more from current students studying the course.   

There may still be places on other courses in the departments listed below. If you would like further information please contact the department using the contact details below.

We encourage you to speak to the Admissions tutor to find out more about the offered alternative course by calling the number listed:

Department

Admissions Tutor

Admissions coordinator

Aerospace Engineering

Dr Simon Pope

0114 222 5949

s.a.pope@sheffield.ac.uk

Michelle Deakin

aerosupport@sheffield.ac.uk

Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Dr Jonathan Aitken 

0114 222 5660

Jonathan.Aitken@sheffield.ac.uk

Liz Woodward

0114 222 5248

adacse@sheffield.ac.uk 

Bioengineering

Dr Michael Trikic

0114 222 5946

m.trikic@sheffield.ac.uk

Alex Lindley

biosupport@sheffield.ac.uk

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Dr Alisyn Nedoma 

0114 222 7516

a.nedoma@sheffield.ac.uk 

Rebecca Wormald

r.wormald@sheffield.ac.uk 

Civil & Structural Engineering

Dr Giacomo Torelli

0114 22 25796

g.torelli@sheffield.ac.uk

Civil Admissions team

0114 222 5738

civil-admissionsstaff@sheffield.ac.uk

Computer Science   

Dr Dawn Walker

d.c.walker@sheffield.ac.uk

Amanda Hutchinson 

amanda.Hutchinson@sheffield.ac.uk

Electronic & Electrical Engineering

Dr Gavin Williams 

0114 212 8799

g.williams@shef.ac.uk 

Prof Xiaoli Chu

0114 700 6170

Helen Thorpe

eeeugadmissions@sheffield.ac.uk

Foundation Year

Peta Kirk   

0114 212 5259

p.kirk@sheffield.ac.uk

Olivia Foxton

0114 212 5362

o.foxton@sheffield.ac.uk

Materials Science & Engineering

Dr Katerina Christofidou

0114 222 6032

k.christofidou@sheffield.ac.uk

Louise Mason 

0114 222 5467

l.c.mason@sheffield.ac.uk 

Mechanical Engineering

Dr Patrick Smith 

0114 222 7738

patrick.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

Laura Ballaam

0114 222 7708

l.ballaam@sheffield.ac.uk

If you choose to reject our Change of Course offer then your application is referred to your insurance choice.

IMPORTANT:  If you accept a Change of Course Offer you are committed to that course.  You cannot switch course at the end of your first year.


International/EU Students

Clearing vacancies are also available on some of our courses for international fee status students. 

For more details please contact our Clearing Helpline:

0114 212 9900 from inside the UK

+44 114 212 9900 from outside the UK

Explore the University

Discover what sets Sheffield apart at our next on-campus open day.