Staff in Germanic Studies

In Germanic Studies we are a tight-knit team of tutors, researchers, and postgraduates.

German walk in the Peak District
Off

Teaching and research staff

Mariella Bachmann DAAD Language Assistant m.bachman@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr John Bellamy Honorary Research Fellow jpb90@cam.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Bland Senior Lecturer in German c.bland@sheffield.ac.uk
Yasemin Cigiltepe DAAD Lector in German Y.Cigiltepe@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Henk de Berg Professor of German, Head of Section h.de.berg@Sheffield.ac.uk
Filip De Ceuster Teaching Assistant for Dutch f.deceuster@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Anna P. H. Geurts Honorary Research Fellow in Dutch Studies a.geurts@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Giles Harrington Teaching Associate in German g.e.harrington@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kristine Horner Reader in Luxembourg Studies & Multilingualism, Director of the Centre for Luxembourg Studies k.horner@sheffield.ac.uk
Julia Königs OEAD Lector in German j.koenigs@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Henriette Louwerse Senior Lecturer in Dutch, Director of Dutch Studies, Director of Centre for Dutch and Flemish Studies  h.louwerse@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Elisa Müller-Adams Honorary Research Fellow e.mueller-adams@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Gerald Newton Emeritus Professor of German g.newton@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Michael Perraudin Emeritus Professor of German m.f.perraudin@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Peter Thompson Reader Emeritus in German p.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Seán Williams Vice-Chancellor's Fellow s.m.williams@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Roel Vismans Emeritus Professor in Dutch Studies r.vismans@sheffield.ac.uk

Tutors and Postgraduate Students

Dr Cyd Sturgess Tutor for Dutch Literature c.sturgess@shef.ac.uk
Cian Hurley Postgraduate Research Student  in Luxembourg Studies jhurley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sarah Muller Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor in Luxembourg Studies smmuller1@shef.ac.uk
Jade Johnson Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor for German jmjohnson1@shef.ac.uk
Rory Hanna Tutor for German r.hanna@sheffield.ac.uk
Katherine Calvert Postgraduate Research Student and Tutor for German kecalvert1@shef.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught scholarships

Explore scholarships for postgraduate taught courses starting in 2021, including:

  • 100+ scholarships worth £10,000 each for home fee paying students
  • 150 scholarships worth 25 per cent of the tuition fee for international students