Academic staff

Head of Department

Name Interests Email
Professor John W Haycock Bioengineering j.w.haycock@sheffield.ac.uk

Meet our Academic Staff

Academic staff

Name Interests Email
Professor Dan Allwood Materials Physics d.allwood@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Magnus Anderson Metallurgy m.j.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Boston Functional Ceramics r.boston@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kathy Christofidou Metallurgy k.christofidou@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Fred Claeyssens Biomaterials f.claeyssens@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Claire Corkhill Nuclear Material Corrosion c.corkhill@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Serena Corr Functional Nanomaterials s.corr@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Eddie Cussen Functional Materials E.J.Cussen@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Julian Dean Simulation of Functional Materials j.dean@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Joel Foreman Polymers and Polymer Composites j.foreman@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Colin Freeman Materials Simulation c.l.freeman@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Amy Gandy Nuclear Materials Engineering a.gandy@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Marco Giardiello Biomedical Materials m.giardiello@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Russell Goodall Metallurgy r.goodall@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Green Biomaterials n.h.green@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Russell J Hand Glass Science and Engineering r.hand@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor John Harding Materials Simulation j.harding@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor John W Haycock Cell and Tissue Engineering j.w.haycock@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Tom Hayward Materials Physics t.hayward@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Vanessa Hearnden Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering v.hearnden@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Holland Biomaterials christopher.holland@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Neil C Hyatt Nuclear Materials Chemistry n.c.hyatt@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Beverley J Inkson Nanostructured Materials beverley.inkson@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Martin Jackson Materials Processing martin.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Plato Kapranos Semi-solid Metals Processing p.kapranos@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Hajime Kinoshita Materials Chemistry and Geochemistry h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Adrian Leyland Surface Engineering a.leyland@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Günter Möbus Electron Microscopy and Materials Science g.moebus@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Nicola A Morley Material Physics n.a.morley@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Eric J Palmiere Metallurgy e.j.palmiere@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor John Provis Cement Materials Science and Engineering j.provis@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Alice Pyne Soft Matter/Polymers a.l.pyne@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Aris Quintana Nedelcos Functional Materials a.quintana-nedelcos@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor W Mark Rainforth Materials Science and Engineering m.rainforth@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Ian M Reaney Ceramics i.m.reaney@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Nik Reeves-McLaren Energy Materials n.reeves@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Gwen Reilly Tissue Engineering g.reilly@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Cornelia Rodenburg Materials Science and Engineering c.rodenburg@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Ipsita Roy Biomaterials i.roy@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Derek C Sinclair Materials Chemistry d.c.sinclair@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Martin C Stennett Nuclear Materials Chemistry m.c.stennett@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Richard P Thackray Steelmaking r.thackray@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Meurig Thomas Metallurgy meurig.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Iain Todd Metallurgy iain.todd@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Karl P Travis Computational Materials Science k.travis@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Michael Trikic Biomaterials M.Trikic@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Tony West Electroceramics and Solid State Chemistry a.r.west@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Xiangbing Zeng Polymers x.zeng@sheffield.ac.uk

Associate academic staff

Name Title
Professor Neil Chapman Emeritus Professor
Professor Fergus G E Gibb Emeritus Professor
Professor Geoff W Greenwood Emeritus Professor
Professor Frank R Jones Emeritus Professor
Professor Sheila MacNeil Emeritus Professor
Professor John M Parker Emeritus Professor
Professor John H Sharp Emeritus Professor
Professor Panos Tsakiropoulos Emeritus Professor
Professor Goran Ungar Emeritus Professor

Visiting staff

Name Institution Title Research area
Dr Antonio Feteira Sheffield Hallam University Visiting Fellow  
Prof. Steven Franklin Philips Electronics, Netherlands Visiting Professor Visiting Professor to Leonardo Centre
Dr Fernando Fraternali      
Dr Mohammed Ghadyani      
Dr Stephen Hull ISIS Facility, Science and Technology Facilities Council Visiting Professor ISIS neutron scattering facility
Prof. Keith Jackson Medilink Visiting Professor  
Dr Hongfen Ji Xi'an Technological University, China Visiting Scholar Functional ceramics. Ceramic synthesis sand characterisation.
Dr Roderick Mackenzie Self-employed Archaeometallurgist Visiting Scholar Carry out research on archaeological metals and associated production residues
Prof. John McCloy Washington State University Visiting Professor Glass-Ceramic Wasteforms for High Level Wastes from Advanced nuclear Fuel Reprocessing
Prof. Susan Molyneux-Hodgson University of Exeter Visiting Professor  
Dr Michael Ojovan International Atomic Energy Agency Visiting Researcher  
Prof. Kaixin Song Hangzhou Dianzi University Academic Visitor Microwave dielectric materials
Dr Yongshan Tan Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics University Visiting Academic Magnesium phosphate cements for radioactive waste immobilisation and disposal.