Department of Neuroscience staff and students

The staff and students from the Department of Neuroscience are listed here, along with their contact details.

Get in touch

Department of Neuroscience
University of Sheffield
Sheffield Institute for Translational Neuroscience (SITraN)
385a Glossop Road
Sheffield
South Yorkshire
S10 2HQ

+44 114 2222230

neuroscience@sheffield.ac.uk


Quick links: A B C D E F G H J K L M N P R S T V W Y Z


A

Name Job title Email Telephone
James Alix Senior Clinical Lecturer j.alix@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159100
Scott Allen Senior Non-Clinical Fellow s.p.allen@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159103
Professor Mimoun Azzouz Chair of Translational Neuroscience m.azzouz@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222238

B

Name Position Email Telephone
Professor Oliver Bandmann Professor of Clinical Neurology o.bandmann@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222237
Katy Barnes Research Technician md4kb@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222273
Lynne Baxter Research Technician l.baxter@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272
Simon Bell 4Ward North Clinical Fellow s.m.bell@sheffield.ac.uk + 44 114 22267
Dr Dan Blackburn Senior Clinical Lecturer d.blackburn@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159100
Sarah Boddy Post Doctoral Research Associate s.l.boddy@shef.ac.uk + 44 114 22267
Rebecca Brown Administrator rebecca.brown@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222261

C

Name Position Email Telephone
Bev Carter Administrator bev.carter@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222295
Heather Cartledge  Administrator h.l.cartledge@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222278
Lydia Castelli Post Doctoral Research Associate l.m.castelli@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272
Ian Coldicott Research Technician i.coldicott@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222273
Dr Jonathan Cooper-Knock NIHR Clinical Lecturer j.cooper-knock@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222273
Kevin Corke Department Manager k.p.corke@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22232

D

Name Position Email Telephone
Dr Kurt De Vos Senior Lecturer in Translational Neuroscience k.de_vos@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222241
Dr Matteo De Marco Non-Clinical Lecturer in Neuroscience of Dementia m.demarco@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 271 1597
Dr Mark Dunning Bioinformatics Core Director m.j.dunning@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 2271

E

Name Position Email Telephone
Laura Evans Research Associate to SITraN Director laura.evans@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222268

F

Name Position Email Telephone
Dr Tom Farrow Senior Lecturer in Neuroimaging t.f.farrow@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2713128
Laura Ferraiuolo Lecturer in Translational Neurobiology L.Ferraiuolo@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222257
Dan Fillingham Research Technician d.j.fillingham@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272

G

Name Position Email Telephone
Claire Garwood Post Doctoral Research Associate C.Garwood@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272
Catherine Gelsthorpe Research Technician c.gelsthorpe@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272
Ms Karin Glockle Research Institute Administrator k.glockle@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222250
Anne Gregory Lead Technician a.gregory@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22270
Dr Andy Grierson Senior Lecturer a.j.grierson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22277

H

Name Position Email Telephone
Dr Guillaume Hautbergue Senior Lecturer in Translational RNA Biology g.hautbergue@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222252
Dr Paul Heath Senior Scientific Officer p.heath@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22254
Helen Hickson Teaching Administrator H.Hickson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222296
Dr Adrian Higginbottom Senior Scientific Officer a.higginbottom@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22253
Dr Robin Highley Senior Clinical Lecturer robin.highley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22244
Dr Esther Hobson NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow in Neurology esther.hobson@gmail.com +44 114 22 22260

J

Name Position Email Telephone
Saurabh Jain Post Doctoral Research Associate s.a.jain@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222240
Dr Tom Jenkins Senior Clinical Lecturer t.m.jenkins@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 215 9101

K

Name Position Email Telephone
Mbombe Kazoka MND Clinical Research Nurse m.kazoka@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22258
Amy Keerie Research Technician A.Keerie@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22272
Dr Janine Kirby Reader in Neurogenetics j.kirby@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22247

L

Name Position Email Telephone
Sarah Langridge Research Development Manager sarah.langridge@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22265

M

Name Position Email Telephone
Professor Arshad Majid Professor of Cerebrovascular Neurology arshad.majid@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22249
Prof Chris McDermott

Head of Department/Professor of Translational Neurology

c.j.mcdermott@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22295
Alex McGown Post Doctoral Research Associate a.mcgown@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22240
Dr Alisdair McNeill INSIGNEO Senior Clinical Research Fellow a.mcneill@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22267
Dr Richard Mead Senior Lecturer in Translational Neuroscience r.j.mead@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22256
Dr Heather Mortiboys Senior Research Fellow h.mortiboys@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22259
Monika Myszczynska Research Technician m.myszczynska@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22273

N

Name Position Email Telephone
Dr Ke Ning Non-clinical Lecturer in Translational Neuroscience k.ning@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22245
Sophie Nyberg Post Doctoral Research Associate sophie.nyberg@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222240

P

Name Position Email Telephone
Matthew Parker Bioinformatics Core Analyst matthew.parker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22271
Trong Khoa Pham Post Doctoral Research Associate khoa.pham@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22240
Alison Proctor Clincal Research Support Staff alison.proctor@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22269

R

Name Position Email Telephone
Dr Tennore Ramesh Non clinical Lecturer t.ramesh@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22246
Prof Jaydip Ray Professor of Otology Neurotology j.ray@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 27 12239
Professor Markus Reuber Professor of Clinical Neurology markus.reuber@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 271 3430

S

Name Position Email Telephone
Professor Basil Sharrack Consultant Neurologist and Honorary Professor of Clinical Neurology b.sharrack@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2713909
Margarita Segovia Roldan Post Doctoral Research Associate m.segovia-roldan@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272
Allan Shaw Research Assistant a.c.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222240
Professor Dame Pamela Shaw Professor of Neurology pamela.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22231
Dr Julie Simpson Lecturer in Translational Neuropathology julie.simpson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222242
Haris Stavroulakis Non-Clinical Lecturer t.stavroulakis@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222294

T

Name Position Email Telephone
Annette Taylor Clinical Admin Co-ordinator annette.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222289
Lee Tuddenham Research Nurse l.tuddenham@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222263
Alison Twelvetrees VC Fellow a.twelvetrees@sheffield.ac.uk + 44 114 2159105

V

Name Position Email Telephone
Irina Vazquez Post Doctoral Research Associate i.vazquez@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272
Professor Annalena Venneri Professor of Clinical Neuropsychology a.venneri@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2713430

W

Name Position Email Telephone
Rachel Waller Post Doctoral Research Associate R.Waller@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222240
Bethany Walker Administration Officer B.Walker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222262
Dr Dennis Wang Lecturer in Genomic Medicine and Bioinformatics dennis.wang@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159102
Theresa Walsh Research Nurse theresa.walsh@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222266
Professor Stephen Wharton Professor of Neuropathology s.wharton@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222235
Helen Woolfe Research Nurse h.thacker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222264
Dr Jon Wood Non-clinical Lecturer in Neurology j.d.wood1@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 22 22243
Matthew Wyles Technician m.wyles@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222272

Y

Name Position Email Telephone
Stacy Young Research Project Manager stacy.young@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222248

Z

Name Position Email Telephone
Nicolo Zarotti Research Associate n.zarotti@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2222273

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.