Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group members

We have aimed at Sheffield to build a group with expertise that bridges the best in experimental accelerator particle physics with the best activity in the emerging new field of astroparticle physics. This page contains information about the members of our group.

Academic staff

Contact details for academic staff

Research staff
  • Dr Oana Boeriu (ATLAS)
  • Dr Anthony Ezeribe (DUNE)
  • Dr Jack Hall (Flex-Ray)
  • Dr Mark Hodgkinson (ATLAS)
  • Dr Per Johansson (ATLAS)
  • Dr Rhiannon Jones (DUNE/SBND)
  • Dr Liz Kneale (Super-K, WATCHMAN)
  • Dr Elena Korolkova (LUX-ZEPLIN)
  • Dr Celeste Pidcott (T2K, Hyper-K)
  • Dr Nathan Readioff (ATLAS)
  • Dr Kamal Saoucha (Flex-Ray)
  • Dr Andrew Scarff (WATCHMAN)
  • Paul Smith (QSHS)
  • Dr Matthew Thiesse (Hyper-K, Super-K)
  • Dr Dengfeng Zhang (ATLAS)
  • Dr Theo Zorbas (ATLAS)

Contact details for research staff

PhD students
  • Ahmad Alrheli (5th year, Muon Tomography)
  • Rob Foster (4th year, WATCHMAN)
  • Ian Hollows (4th year, LIGO)
  • Praveen Kumar (4th year, DUNE)
  • Robbie Neal (4th year, COSINE-100)

  • Mitch Norfolk (4th year, ATLAS)
  • Mitch Perry (4th year, ADMX)[part time]
  • Chris Toth (4th year, WATCHMAN) [part time]
  • Ala Zglam (4th year, SBND/LAr)
  • Steve Wilson (3rd year, WATCHMAN)
  • James Greer (3rd year, Detector development)
  • Henry Israel (3rd year, T2K/Hyper-K)
  • Helen Maguire (3rd year, ATLAS/Flex-Ray)
  • Ali McLean (3rd year, AWE/Gas detectors)
  • Lan Nguyen  (3rd year, SBND/LAr)
  • Joshua Puddefoot (3rd year, ATLAS)
  • Tom Rushton (3rd year, LUX-ZEPLIN)
  • Harry Scott (2nd year, SBND/LAr)
  • Jonathan Orpwood (2nd year, LUX-ZEPLIN)   
  • Jemima Tranter (2nd year, G3 DM)       
  • Micheal Postill (2nd year, ATLAS)    
  • Jack Fannon  (2nd year, Super-K / Hyper-K)
  • Lucy Lewitt (1st year, ATLAS)
  • Clem Mostyn (1st year, QSHS)
  • Qioadan Li (1st year, Super-K / Hyper-K)

Contact details for PhD students

Technical and computing staff
  • Sam Edwards (ATLAS)
  • Trevor Gamble (DUNE, WATCHMAN, QSHS)
  • Paul Kemp-Russell (ATLAS)
  • Mitch Perry (sysadmin)
  • Matthew Wright (DUNE)
  • Shaun Smith (DUNE)
  • Lewis Gannon (DUNE, Daresbury Laboratory)
  • David Banner (DUNE, Daresbury Laboratory)

Contact details for technical staff and research staff

A global reputation

Sheffield is a research university with a global reputation for excellence. We're a member of the Russell Group: one of the 24 leading UK universities for research and teaching.