Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group members

We have aimed at Sheffield to build a group with expertise that bridges the best in experimental accelerator particle physics with the best activity in the emerging new field of astroparticle physics. This page contains information about the members of our group.

Academic staff

Contact details for academic staff

Research staff
  • Dr Matt Anthony (ATLAS)
  • Dr Dominic Barker (Muon Tomography, Neutron detectors)
  • Dr Oana Boeriu (ATLAS)
  • Dr Anthony Ezeribe (DUNE/SBND)
  • Dr Sam Fargher (WATCHMAN)
  • Dr Mark Hodgkinson (ATLAS)
  • Dr Per Johansson (ATLAS)
  • Dr Elena Korolkova (LUX-ZEPLIN)
  • Dr Vadim Kostyukhin (ATLAS)
  • Dr Hannes Mildner (ATLAS)
  • Dr Viktor Pec (DUNE)
  • Dr Celeste Pidcott (T2K, Hyper-K)
  • Dr Nathan Readioff (ATLAS)
  • Dr Andrew Scarff (DUNE/SBND/WATCHMAN)
  • Dr Philip Sommer (ATLAS)
  • Dr Matthew Thiesse (Hyper-K, Super-K)
  • Theo Zorbas (ATLAS)

Contact details for research staff

PhD students
  • Michalis Benakis (4th year, ATLAS/ESIM)
  • Liam O'Sullivan (4th year, T2K)
  • Alice Cryer (4th year, ATLAS/ESIM)
  • Callum Eldridge (4th year, CYGNUS/Nuclear Security)
  • Alix Fell (4th year, ATLAS)
  • Sam Jenkins (4th year, T2K/Super-K/Hyper-K)
  • Liz Kneale (4th year, WATCHMAN)
  • Timesh Mistry (4th year, LIGO)
  • Andrew Naylor (4th year, LUX-ZEPLIN)
  • Josh Thompson (4th year, ProtoDUNE)
  • Will Yeadon (4th year, ATLAS/ESIM)
  • Ahmad Alrheli (3rd year, Muon Tomography)
  • Rob Gregorio (3rd year, CYGNUS/Industry)
  • Jack Hall (3rd year, ATLAS)
  • Jack MacDonald (3rd year, ATLAS)
  • Jordan McElwee (3rd year, T2K/Super-K/Hyper-K)
  • Kamal Saoucha (3rd year, ATLAS)
  • Ed Tyley (3rd year, DUNE/SBND)
  • Michael Weekes (3rd year, Muon Tomography)
  • Rob Foster (2nd year, WATCHMAN)
  • Ian Hollows (2nd year, LIGO)
  • Praveen Kumar (2nd year, DUNE)
  • Robbie Neal (2nd year, COSINE-100)
  • Mitch Norfolk (2nd year, ATLAS)
  • Mitch Perry (2nd year, ADMX)
  • Owen Stone (2nd year, WATCHMAN/Super-K)
  • Chris Toth (2nd year, WATCHMAN)
  • Ala Zglam (2nd year, SBND)
  • James Greer (1st year, Detector development)
  • Henry Israel (1st year, T2K/Hyper-K)
  • Helen Maguire (1st year, ATLAS/Flex-Ray)
  • Ali McLean (1st year, AWE/Gas detectors)
  • Lan Nguyen  (1st year, SBND/LAr)
  • Joshua Puddefoot (1st year, ATLAS)
  • Tom Rushton (1st year, LUX-ZEPLIN)
  • Harry Scott (1st year, SBND/LAr)

Contact details for PhD students

Technical and computing staff

Contact details for technical staff and research staff

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.