Endometrial Scratch Trial

A Multicentre Randomised Controlled Trial of Induced Endometrial Scratch in Women Undergoing First Time IN Vitro Fertilisation (IVF)

On

The Endometrial Scratch trial is a randomised controlled trial aiming to assess the effectiveness of local endometrial trauma (also known as “endometrial scratch”) on In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF). The trial is no longer looking for new participants - we completed data analysis in mid-2020, with the results of the trial released at the ESHRE conference in July 2020 (see https://www.eshre.eu/ESHRE2020/Media/2020-Press-releases/Metwally). We are currently writing up the trial for publication.

Over 1000 women have been recruited across the UK to be randomised to either receive the endometrial scratch intervention followed by “usual” IVF, or to just receive “usual” IVF. The pregnancy rates in each group will be analysed to assess if the endometrial scratch has a positive effect.

For more information, please contact Robin Chatters on 01142222969 or r.chatters@sheffield.ac.uk

Project Team, Participating Sites and Useful Documents

Project Team
Name Role Site Contact

Mostafa Metwally

Chief Investigator Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

mmetwally@nhs.net

01142 268092

Robin Chatters

Trial Manager The University of Sheffield

R.chatters@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 2222969

Clare Pye RN

Lead Research Nurse Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

Clare.Pye@sth.nhs.uk

0114 2268194

Susan Laird

Sub Study Investigator Sheffield Hallam University

s.m.laird@shu.ac.uk

Tim ChaterKirsty Pemberton & Chris Turtle

Data Management Team The University of Sheffield endo-scratch-dm-group@sheffield.ac.uk

Stephen Walters

Senior Statistician The University of Sheffield

s.j.walters@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0730

Munyaradzi Dimairo

Statistician The University of Sheffield

m.dimairo@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 5204

Tracey Young

Health Economics The University of Sheffield

t.a.young@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0837

David White

CTRU Advice The University of Sheffield

d.a.white@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0870

Kerry Wilson

Trial Support Officer The University of Sheffield

kerry.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0867

Kate Brian

PPI Lead    

Lamiya Mohiyiddeen

Clinical Advice Manchester University Hospitals

lamiya.mohiyiddeen@cmft.nhs.uk

Ying Cheong

Clinical Advice University of Southampton y.cheong@soton.ac.uk
Participating Sites
Site Principal Investigator

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

Vidya Tamhankar

University Hospital of Leicester

Tarek Gelbaya

Manchester University Hospitals

Lamiya Mohiyiddeen

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals

Dr Meenakshi Choudhary

The University hospital Southampton

Dr. Ying Cheong

The Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Mugdha Kulkarni

South Tees Hospital NHS Trust

Dr Mohar Goswami

Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Isaac Evbuomwan

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Phillip Harris

The Hewitt Fertility Centre

Mr Andrew Drakeley

Nurture Fertility

Mr Nick Raine Fenning

Oxford Fertility

Tim Childs

Birmingham Women’s Fertility Centre

Dr Madhurima Rajkhowa

NHS Tayside

Dr Sarah Martins Da Silva

Homerton University Hospital

Dr. Priya Bhide

Guys and St Thomas

Jan Grace
Useful documents

Research Protocol

Statistical Analysis Plan