Click here for all of ScHARR's Short CoursesScHARR is an International Centre of Excellence for Health Technology Assessment (HTA)Health Economics and Decision ModellingHealth Services Research and Public Health. We have over 20 years’ experience of providing worldwide knowledge transfer activities in the health and social care sector.

We recognise the pressures of studying and working at the same time. Short courses offer a flexible and alternative approach that can be completed to suit your work schedule. We offer variety in our portfolio of learning that will help you develop new analytical skills, in-depth disciplinary knowledge and the capacity to deploy critical thinking, all of which are essential to work effectively in health related organisations in a globalised world.

Innovation and Knowledge Transfer (IKT) allows us to utilise the impact of ScHARR’s research by applying our expert knowledge and skills in the real world of health and social care. Our support covers private industry, public and third sectors as well as other policy, decision-making and academic collaborations in health.

Our current program of short courses is below, but if you are interested in something not listed below please contact ScHARR Short Course Unit to discuss a bespoke course. 

All courses offer an early bird rate (EBR), a discount price (of at least £100!) for booking before the given date. You can also get group booking discounts of 20% for bookings of 4 or more people (on to the same course, at the same time), please contact ScHARR Short Course Unit  to discuss further.

We can also deliver our courses directly to you!  If you have several staff interested in one of our courses (10+), then we may be able to deliver the course at a venue, date and time more convenient for you.  Please contact ScHARR Short Course Unit to discuss further.

For further information, making bookings or requesting a bespoke course please contact us via email at scharr-scu@sheffield.ac.uk or call +44 (0)114 222 2968.

ScHARR Short Courses 2019-2020:

ScHARR How to Quickly Synthesise Research

Tuesday, 11th February 2020

An Introduction to using Social Media to Communicate Research

Thursday, 27th February 2020

Introduction to Stata (NEW for 2020)

Tuesday, 24th March 2020

Developing Complex Interventions to Improve Health (NEW for 2020)

Wednesday, 18th March 2020

Designing Qualitative Research for Randomised Controlled Trials (NEW for 2020)

Monday, 20th April 2020

Real World Evaluations: Ten Key Principles for Evaluating Complex Health and Social Interventions

Wednesday, 22nd - Thursday, 23rd April 2020

ScHARR Systematic Reviews and Meta-analysis

Tuesday, 28th - Thursday, 30th April 2020

Introduction to 'R'

Tuesday, 5th May 2020

The Identification and Review of Evidence to Inform Cost Effectiveness Models

Wednesday, 6th May 2020

The Application of Psychometrics for Measuring Health Outcomes and Quality of Life - Part 1

Monday, 1st - Tuesday, 2nd June 2020

The Application of Psychometrics for Assessing Health Outcomes and Quality of Life - Part 2

Wednesday, 3rd - Friday, 5th June 2020

Utility Data for Health Technology Assessment

Monday, 8th - Tuesday, 9th June 2020

Cluster Randomised Trials Design and Analysis (NEW for 2020)

Wednesday, 17th June 2020

Rapid Review Methods

Thursday, 18th June 2020

Introduction to Applied Statistics (NEW for 2020)

Wednesday, 24th - Friday, 26th June 2020

Mixed-methods Approaches To Evidence Research in Europe (MASTERIE) (NEW for 2020)

Tuesday, 30th June - Wednesday, 1st July 2020

Systematic Approaches to Searching for Evidence (NEW for 2020)

Wednesday, 1st July 2020

Scoping Reviews, Mapping Reviews and Evidence Gap Maps (NEW for 2020)

Thursday, 9th July 2020

Introduction to Meta-analysis (NEW for 2020)

Tuesday, 14th - Wednesday, 15th July 2020

Evidence Synthesis of Qualitative Research in Europe (ESQUIRE) 2020

Tuesday, 8th - Thursday, 10th September 2020

How to Critically Appraise Research

Tuesday, 22nd September 2020

An Introduction to the Diversity of Qualitative Research Methods PART 1 (Previously ERA) - Details TBC

Tuesday, 6th October 2020

Qualitative Research Methods:  Advanced Theory and Practice PART 2 (Previously ERA) - Details TBC

Wednesday, 7th October 2020

Advanced Simulation Methods

Tuesday, 13th - Thursday, 15th October 2020

Adaptive Designs (NEW for 2020) - Details TBC

Monday, 9th - Tuesday, 10th November 2020