About Technicians at Sheffield

Find out how we support and develop our technical staff and find contact details for our ambassadors.

Off

Technicians at Sheffield

At the University of Sheffield, we value our broad range of staff with technical expertise who contribute to the outstanding learning, teaching and research that takes place here. We’re proud to be a founding signatory of the Technician Commitment, a nationwide scheme aiming to address the challenges facing technical staff at higher education institutions (HEIs) and research institutions.


About the Technician Commitment 

As a signatory of the Technician Commitment, our University pledges to ensure visibility, recognition, career development, and sustainability for technical staff working in higher education and research.

In January 2019, we established a working group with representation from all areas of the University where technical staff are employed. The group meets every two months to ensure that the University is meeting its obligations in relation to the commitment.

You can find more information about the commitment on the Technician Commitment website.

The five actions of the Technician Commitment

Read our action plan

Contact our working group


About TechNet

Our University's Technicians Network, Technet, was formed in 2013 by Natalie Kennerley and Melanie Hannah to enable technicians from all areas of the University to increase their visibility, network with one another, find out about other areas of the University, learn about new technologies and share good practice.

Technet runs quarterly networking events and one social event every year. There is at least one speaker at each networking event and we encourage technical staff to showcase their work and celebrate their success.

Technet is run by a steering group of volunteers from the technical community. This steering group reports into the Technician Commitment working group. Updates from the Technician Commitment are given at Technet events.

Find out how to get involved with TechNet

Upcoming TechNet events

Contact the TechNet steering group

Contact details

Position Name Job title Department Phone Email
Co-Chair Abbie Martin Faculty IT & Business Relationship Manager (Science & Arts & Humanities) IT Services 21177 abbie.martin@sheffield.ac.uk
Co-Chair Mark Ariaans Leade Resource Technician Department of Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease 59561 m.ariaans@sheffield.ac.uk
Steering group member Adelina Acosta-Martin Biological Mass Spectrometry Facility Manager Biomedical Sciences 24676

a.acosta-martin@sheffield.ac.uk

  Helen Wright Research Technician Department of Materials Science   helen.wright@sheffield.ac.uk
  Emily Glendenning Research Technician Biomedical Sciences 22477 e.glendenning@sheffield.ac.uk
  Ben Palmer Electrical Controls Technician Animal & Plant Sciences 24726 b.palmer@sheffield.ac.uk
  Vanessa Singleton Laboratory Manager Department of Materials Science and Engineering 57095 v.singleton@sheffield.ac.uk
  Laura Mason Workshop Manager School of Architecture 20337 laura.mason@sheffield.ac.uk
  Luke Wild Audio Visual Technician IT Services   luke.wild@sheffield.ac.uk

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.