TechNet steering group

The Technician's Network (TechNet) steering group was formed in 2013 to facilitate the primary objectives of TechNet: to provide a forum for technicians to meet and interact, and to promote the professional status and recognition of technical staff.


Contact details

Get involved

Member profiles

Terms of reference

Contact details

Position Name Job title Department Phone Email
Co-Chair Abbie Martin Faculty IT & Business Relationship Manager (Science & Arts & Humanities) IT Services 21177
Co-Chair Mark Ariaans Leade Resource Technician Department of Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease 59561
Steering group member Ben Palmer Electrical Controls Technician School of Biosciences 24726
Steering group member Luke Wild Audio Visual Technician IT Services


Get involved

Are you a technician, specialist or technical manager/leader interested in representing your faculty? Please get in touch with Abbie ( or Mark (

About our members

Abbie Martin (Co-Chair)

Abbie is a Faculty IT and Business Relationship Manager in IT Services. She is responsible for managing the IT Support Staff in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities and acting as liaison between IT Services and the business in all IT related matters.

Abbie started her career in the central administration of The University of Sheffield and left in 1998 to move to London. In London, she managed a small IT training consultancy before getting back into HE as the Desktop Support Team leader at London School of Economics. When she moved back to Sheffield in 2001 she worked in two secondary schools as the Network and Technical Team Manager before taking a career break to spend time with her two young children. Abbie had been back at the University of Sheffield since 2012 and has been in her current post since February 2017.

Markus Ariaans (Co-Chair)

Mark is Lead Resource Technician in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health in the Department of Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease.

Mark joined the University in 2006 as a research technician in the Cardiovascular Research Unit (Northern General Hospital). Having survived several Faculty and Department restructures, he is currently one of the technical team leaders and looks after the technical resources in the Department of IICD. He is also the Departmental Safety and Biosafety Officer and is involved in various research projects with a focus on laboratory animal models.

Committee members

Ben Palmer (Steering group member)

Ben is a Controlled Environment Technician in the Faculty of Science, Department of Animal & Plant Sciences. He has held several positions in both the Faculties of Science and Engineering since starting work at the University in 2004.

After studying Ecology at the Unversity, Ben worked as a Research Technician on several different research projects in the spheres of plant physiology and ecology, before moving to the Department of Materials Science & Engineering. Here he worked as a Stores Technician followed by moving on to run the Materials Characterisation Small Research Facility. More recently, Ben has moved back to the Department of Animal & Plant Sciences to help run their world leading plant growth facility. Along with the Facilities Manager, Ben recently helped secure a significant £829k of funding to modernise parts of the facility. Ben has been keenly involved with both the Institute of Science & Technology and the Science Council for many years in promoting their Professional Registration schemes, as well as assessing RSci & RSciTech applications.

Luke Wild (Steering group member)

Luke is an Audio Visual Technician based in IT Services. He has held various technical roles within IT Services over the 8 years he has worked at the University.

With a background in sound engineering, lighting design and events management that spans everything from small scale conferences to large scale festivals. Luke has a range of responsibilities in his role, which include; providing technical support for events, supporting and maintaining Learning and Teaching spaces, providing AV equipment across campus, video conferencing and much more...

TechNet steering group terms of reference

Read the terms of reference here.

Former steering group members

Position Name Job title Department
Steering group member Adelina E Acosta-Martin Biological Mass Spectrometry Facility Manager School of Biosciences
Steering group member Helen Wright Research Technician Department of Materials Science
Steering group member Emily Glendenning Research Technician School of Biosciences
Steering group member Vanessa Singleton Laboratory Manager Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Steering group member Laura Mason Workshop Manager School of Architecture
Steering group member Lisa Hollands Technical Team Leader

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.