Academic Staff

Emeritus and Honorary Academics

Department of Computer Science

University of Sheffield
Regent Court
211 Portobello
Sheffield
S1 4DP

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1800
F: +44 (0) 114 222 1810
E: dcs@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof Guy Brown

Professor Guy Brown

Head of Department

Professor of Computer Science


PA: Joanna Heery
T: +44 (0) 114 2221825
E: j.l.heery@sheffield.ac.uk

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1825
E: g.j.brown@sheffield.ac.uk

Mauricio AlvarezDr Mauricio Álvarez

Lecturer in Machine Learning

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1902
E: mauricio.alvarez@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Jon Barker

Dr Jon Barker

Reader in Computer Science

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1824 
E: j.p.barker@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kirill BogdanovDr Kirill Bogdanov

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1847
E: k.e.bogdanov@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Kalina BontchevaProfessor Kalina Bontcheva

Professor of Text Analysis

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1930
E: k.bontcheva@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Achim BruckerDr Achim Brucker

Senior Lecturer in Computer Science

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1806
E: a.brucker@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Heidi ChristensenDr Heidi Christensen

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1950
E: heidi.christensen@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Fabio CiravegnaProfessor Fabio Ciravegna

Professor of Language and Knowledge Technology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1940
E:  f.ciravegna@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. John ClarkProfessor John Clark

Professor of Cybersecurity

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1802
E: john.clark@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Richard ClaytonProfessor Richard Clayton

Deputy Head of Department
Professor of Computational Physiology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1845
E: r.h.clayton@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Hamish CunninghamProfessor Hamish Cunningham

Professor of Internet Computing

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1891
E: h.cunningham@sheffield.ac.uk

Image to be used on John Derricks webpagesProfessor John Derrick

Professor of Computer Science and Deputy PVC for Research and Innovation

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1849
E: j.derrick@sheffield.ac.uk


PA: Alice Tucker
T: +44 (0) 114 222 1815
E: alice.tucker@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Rob GaizauskasProfessor Rob Gaizauskas

Personal Chair

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1827
E: r.gaizauskas@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Yoshi GotohDr Yoshi Gotoh

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1908
E: y.gotoh@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Thomas HainProfessor Thomas Hain

Professor of Speech and Audio Technology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1836
E: t.hain@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Mark HeppleDr Mark Hepple

Reader

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1829
E: m.hepple@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Winston HideProfessor Winston Hide

Professor of Computational Biology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 2233
E: winhide@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Vitaveska Lanfranchi

Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1945
E: v.lanfranchi@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Neil LawrenceProfessor Neil Lawrence

Chair in Neuro and Computer Science

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1904
E: n.lawrence@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Jochen Leidner profile photoProfessor Jochen Leidner

Visiting Professor of Data Analytics

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: jochen.leidner@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Haiping LuDr Haiping Lu

Lecturer in Machine Learning

T: 0114 2221853
E: h.lu@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Steve MaddockDr Steve Maddock

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1830
E: s.maddock@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. James MarhsallProfessor James Marshall

Professor of Theoretical and Computational Biology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1832
E: james.marshall@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Phil McMinnDr Phil McMinn

Reader

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1826
E: p.mcminn@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Roger MooreProfessor Roger Moore

Professor of Spoken Language Processing

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1807
E: r.k.moore@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Siobhan NorthDr Siobhan North

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1835
E: s.north@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Achim BruckerDr Pietro Oliveto

Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1812
E: p.oliveto@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Tony Prescott profile photoProf. Tony Prescott

Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience

T: +44 (0) 114 222 6547
E: T.J.Prescott@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Paul RichmondDr Paul Richmond

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 222 1936
E: p.richmond@sheffield.ac.uk

Amanda SharkeyDr Amanda Sharkey

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1837
E: a.sharkey@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Tony SimonsDr Anthony Simons

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1838
E: a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Lucia SpeciaProfessor Lucia Specia

Professor of Language Engineering

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1831
E: l.specia@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Mike StannettDr Mike Stannett

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1841
E: m.stannett@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Mark StevensonDr Mark Stevenson

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1921
E: mark.stevenson@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Georg StruthProfessor Georg Struth

Professor of Theoretical Computer Science

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1846
E: g.struth@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Dirk SudholtDr Dirk Sudholt

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1848
E: d.sudholt@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Ramsay TaylorDr Ramsay Taylor

University Teacher

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1843
E: r.g.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Eleni VasilakiProfessor Eleni Vasilaki

Professor of Computational Neuroscience & Neural Engineering

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1822
E: e.vasilaki@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Maria-Cruz Villa-UriolDr Maria-Cruz Villa-Uriol

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1870
E: m.villa-uriol@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Andreas VlachosDr Andreas Vlachos

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1960
E: a.vlachos@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Dawn WalkerDr Dawn Walker

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1914
E: d.c.walker@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Paul WattonDr Paul Watton

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 6076
E: p.watton@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Joab WinklerDr Joab Winkler

Reader

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1834
E: j.r.winkler@sheffield.ac.uk

Emeritus and Honorary Academics

Tony CowlingDr Tony Cowling

Honorary Academic

T: 0114 222 1823
E: a.j.cowling@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof. Phil GreenEmeritus Professor Philip Green

Professor Emeritus

T: 0114 222 1828
E: p.green@sheffield.ac.uk

Mike HolcombeEmeritus Professor Mike Holcombe

Emeritus Professor

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: m.holcombe@sheffield.ac.uk

Mr Chris MurrayMr Chris Murray

Honorary Academic

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: chris.murray@sheffield.ac.uk

Noel SharkeyEmeritus Professor Noel Sharkey

Professor Emeritus

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1803
E: n.sharkey@sheffield.ac.uk

Rod SmallwoodEmeritus Professor Rodney Smallwood

Honorary Academic

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800

Yorick WilksEmeritus Professor Yorick Wilks

Professor Emeritus

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: y.wilks@sheffield.ac.uk