Academic staff

Contact details for the academic staff in the Department of Computer Science.


Academic staff

A  B  C  D  G  H  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  V  W


A

Name Post Contact
Aletras, Dr Nikos Lecturer in Natural Language Processing T: +44 (0) 114 222 1911
E: n.aletras@sheffield.ac.uk
Álvarez, Dr Mauricio Lecturer in Machine Learning T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1902
E: mauricio.alvarez@sheffield.ac.uk

B

Name Post Contact

Barker, Professor Jon

Personal Chair T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1824  
E: j.p.barker@sheffield.ac.uk

Barrault, Dr Loïc

Senior Lecturer T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1863
E: l.barrault@sheffield.ac.uk

Bogdanov, Dr Kirill

Lecturer T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1847
E: k.e.bogdanov@sheffield.ac.uk

Bontcheva, Professor Kalina

Professor of Text Analysis

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1930
E: k.bontcheva@sheffield.ac.uk

Brown, Professor Guy

Head of Department
Professor of Computer Science

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1825
E: g.j.brown@sheffield.ac.uk

C

Name

Post

Contact

Christensen, Dr Heidi

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1950
E: heidi.christensen@sheffield.ac.uk

Ciravegna, Professor Fabio

Professor of Language and Knowledge Technology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1940
E:  f.ciravegna@sheffield.ac.uk

Clark, Professor John

Professor of Cybersecurity

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1802
E: john.clark@sheffield.ac.uk

Clayton, Professor Richard

Deputy Head of Department
Professor of Computational Physiology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1845
E: r.h.clayton@sheffield.ac.uk

Cunningham, Professor Hamish

Professor of Internet Computing

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1891
E: h.cunningham@sheffield.ac.uk

D

Name Post Contact

Derrick, Professor John

Professor of Computer Science and Deputy PVC for Research and Innovation

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1849
E: j.derrick@sheffield.ac.uk

G

Name Post Contact

Gaizauskas, Professor Rob

Personal Chair

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1827
E: r.gaizauskas@sheffield.ac.uk

Gope, Dr Prosanta

Lecturer in Cybersecurity  T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1897
E: p.gope@sheffield.ac.uk

Gotoh, Dr Yoshi

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1908
E: y.gotoh@sheffield.ac.uk

Green, Professor Philip

Professor of Computer Science

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1828
E: p.green@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Name Post Contact

Hain, Professor Thomas

Professor of Speech and Audio Technology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1836
E: t.hain@sheffield.ac.uk

Hierons, Professor Robert

Chair in Testing

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1804
E: r.hierons@sheffield.ac.uk

Hepple, Dr Mark

Reader

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1829
E: m.hepple@sheffield.ac.uk

K

Name

Post

Contact

Kaaniche, Dr Nesrine

Lecturer in Cybersecurity

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1837
E: N.Kaaniche@sheffield.ac.uk

Kavun, Dr Elif

Lecturer in Cybersecurity

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1915
E: e.kavun@sheffield.ac.uk

L

Name Post Contact

Lanfranchi, Dr Vitaveska

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1865
E: v.lanfranchi@sheffield.ac.uk

Law, Dr James Senior Experimental Officer at Sheffield Robotics E: j.law@sheffield.ac.uk 

Lawrence, Professor Neil

Chair in Neuro and Computer Science

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1904
E: n.lawrence@sheffield.ac.uk

Leidner, Professor Jochen

Visiting Professor of Data Analytics

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: jochen.leidner@sheffield.ac.uk

Lin, Dr Chenghua

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1859
E: c.lin@sheffield.ac.uk

Lu, Dr Haiping

Lecturer in Machine Learning T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1853
E: h.lu@sheffield.ac.uk

M

Name Post Contact

Maddock, Dr Steve

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1830
E: s.maddock@sheffield.ac.uk

Mangan, Dr Michael

Lecturer in Machine Learning & Robotics

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1905
E: m.mangan@sheffield.ac.uk

Marshall, Professor James

Professor of Theoretical and Computational Biology

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1832
E: james.marshall@sheffield.ac.uk

McMinn, Professor Phil

Professor of Software Engineering

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1826
E: p.mcminn@sheffield.ac.uk

McNamara, Mr John

Visiting Fellow

-

Moore, Professor Roger

Professor of Spoken Language Processing

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1807
E: r.k.moore@sheffield.ac.uk

N

Name

Post

Contact

Norling, Dr Emma

Senior University Teacher

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1811
E: e.j.norling@sheffield.ac.uk

North, Dr Siobhán

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1835
E: s.north@sheffield.ac.uk

O

Name

Post

Contact

Olayinka, Mr Olakunle

University Teacher

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1858
E: o.olayinka@sheffield.ac.uk

Oliveto, Dr Pietro

Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1812
E: p.oliveto@sheffield.ac.uk

Ordyniak, Dr Sebastian

Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1907
E: s.ordyniak@sheffield.ac.uk

P

Name Post Contact

Peng, Dr Pan

Lecturer in Algorithms

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1906
E: p.peng@sheffield.ac.uk

Prescott, Prof. Tony

Professor of Cognitive Robotics

T: +44 (0) 114 222 6657
E: t.j.prescott@sheffield.ac.uk

R

Name

Post

Contact

Ragni, Dr Anton

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1925
E: a.ragni@sheffield.ac.uk

Richmond, Dr Paul

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1936
E: p.richmond@sheffield.ac.uk

S

Name Post Contact
Scarton, Dr Carolina Academic Fellow T: +44 (0) 114 222 1892
E: c.scarton@sheffield.ac.uk

Sherwani, Mr Areeb

Teaching & Research Assistant T: +44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: a.sherwani@sheffield.ac.uk

Simons, Dr Anthony

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1838
E: a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk

Smith, Dr Michael Academic Fellow T: +44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: m.t.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

Specia, Professor Lucia

Professor of Language Engineering

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1831
E: l.specia@sheffield.ac.uk

Stannett, Dr Mike

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1841
E: m.stannett@sheffield.ac.uk

Stevenson, Dr Mark

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1921
E: mark.stevenson@sheffield.ac.uk

Stratton, Mr Andrew

Senior University Teacher

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1894
E: a.stratton@sheffield.ac.uk

Struth, Professor Georg

Professor of Theoretical Computer Science

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1846
E: g.struth@sheffield.ac.uk

Sudholt, Dr Dirk

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1848
E: d.sudholt@sheffield.ac.uk
Sun, Dr Li Lecturer in Computer Vision T: +44 (0) 114 222 1935
E: Li.Sun@sheffield.ac.uk

T

Name Post Contact

Taylor, Dr Ramsay

University Teacher

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1843
E: r.g.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

V

Name Post Contact

Vasilaki, Professor Eleni

Professor of Computational Neuroscience & Neural Engineering

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1822
E: e.vasilaki@sheffield.ac.uk

Villa-Uriol, Dr Maria-Cruz

Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1870
E: m.villa-uriol@sheffield.ac.uk

Villavicencio, Professor Aline

Chair in Natural Language Processing T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1860
E: a.villavicencio@sheffield.ac.uk

W

Name Post Contact

Walker, Dr Dawn

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1914
E: d.c.walker@sheffield.ac.uk

Walkinshaw, Dr Neil

Senior Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1968
E: n.walkinshaw@sheffield.ac.uk

Wang, Dr Dennis

Lecturer

T: +44 (0) 114 222 1808
E: dennis.wang@sheffield.ac.uk

Watton, Dr Paul

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 6076
E: p.watton@sheffield.ac.uk

Winkler, Dr Joab

Reader

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1834
E: j.r.winkler@sheffield.ac.uk

Y

Name Post Contact

Yang, Dr Po          

Senior Lecturer

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1861
E: po.yang@sheffield.ac.uk   


Emeritus and Honorary Academics

Name

Post

Contact

Holcombe, Emeritus Professor Mike

Emeritus Professor

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: m.holcombe@sheffield.ac.uk

Murray, Mr Chris

Honorary Academic

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: chris.murray@sheffield.ac.uk

Sharkey, Emeritus Professor Noel

Professor Emeritus

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1803
E: n.sharkey@sheffield.ac.uk

Smallwood, Emeritus Professor Rodney

Honorary Academic

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: r.smallwood@sheffield.ac.uk

Wilks, Emeritus Professor Yorick

Professor Emeritus

T: + 44 (0) 114 222 1800
E: y.wilks@sheffield.ac.uk

Academic Visitors

A  B  C  D  E  F  H  K  L  N  S  V  W


A

Name Post Contact
Ms Taymaa Aleheah Visiting Researcher E: ac4ta@sheffield.ac.uk

B

Name Post Contact
Dr Malcolm Beattie Visiting Academic E: m.beattie@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Amy Beeston Visiting Academic -
Professor Graham Birtwistle Visiting Academic E: graham.birtwistle@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Achim Brucker Visiting Academic -

C

Name Post Contact
Dr Ajay Chakravarthy Visiting Academic -
Mr Gareth Coleman - E: gareth.coleman@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Elisabeth Colnard Visiting Researcher E: ac4ecx@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Michael Croucher Visiting Academic -
Dr Luisa Cutillo Visiting Academic E: l.cutillo@sheffield.ac.uk

D

Name Post Contact
Mr Riccardo Dini Visiting Researcher E: r.dini@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Mortaza Doulaty Visiting Researcher -

E

Name Post Contact
Mr Rahhal Errattahi Visiting Researcher E: ac4re@sheffield.ac.uk

F

Name Post Contact
Mr Lindon Falconer Visiting Researcher E: ac4lfx@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Jonathan Foster Visiting Academic E: j.foster@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Gordon Fraser Visiting Academic -

H

Name Post Contact
Dr Mathew Hall Visiting Academic -
Mrs Lucy Holford Visiting Academic -
Mr Tassadaq Hussain Visiting Academic -

K

Name Post Contact
Dr Yara Khaluf Visiting Academic E: ac4yk@sheffield.ac.uk

L

Name Post Contact
Professor Richard Lanyon-Hogg Visiting Professor E: r.lanyon-hogg@amrc.co.uk
Professor Jochen Leidner Visiting Academic E: jochen.leidner@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Xiao Li Visiting Research Fellow -

 

 

Name Post Contact
Dr Wai Man Ng Visiting Academic -

S

Name Post Contact
Dr Sina Shamshiri Visiting Academic -
Dr Amanda Sharkey Visiting Academic -

V

Name Post Contact
Dr Andreas Vlachos Visiting Academic -

W

Name Post Contact
Mr Joe Walsh Visiting Academic -
Dr Josiah Wang Visiting Academic E: jw@josiahwang.com

Study with us

We offer undergraduate and MSc courses as well as opportunities for PhD study.

Undergraduate study

Postgraduate study